We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 16 June 2011

we stayed at the pondarosa for two nights and had no complaints.the price was reasonable the rooms were clean and well kept.The front desk and staff were very helpful with local info and made every effort to make us comfortable.We would stay there again....Thanks Ponderosa.....

Room Tip: we looked at a few rooms and chose 426
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim27165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

This place was great. The washrooms were very new and it seemed like the bed were also new. They were also very comfy. The place was very clean although they should probably replace the carpets.

Downside is that the walls are very thin, so if you have a loud neighbour...

Staff were friendly and recommeded some places to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My wife and I were looking for a stopover for a night or 2 and came across this wonderful place. The lady on reception (I think the owner) could not have been any more helpful. She gave us details of a wonderful pub for food. The room was very clean and lots of space. In the morning they provide coffee and muffins in reception which you take back to your room. I would certainly stay again if I'm lucky enough to be in the area again. We stayed in other motels on our trip and this certainly was one of the nicest and not the most expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I read the reviews of this place on my iPad moments before I checked in and decided to give this place a try. I was impressed with the friendly service I received from the manager. She made it known to me that the beds were newly upgraded. Upon entry into the room, I was impressed with the cleanliness and the newly renovated bathroom (which she didn't mention to me -- so it was a nice surprise). The quality of sleep was excellent. Would recommend staying here if you are passing through town. Well worth the price paid.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sir1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We arrived at the ponderosa to find we had paid way to much for the room! After a long day of skiing we were so looking forward to a nice long soak in the hot tub! We walked outside to the lobby where the hot tub was located and the front desk clerk told us we weren't allowed in because they needed to test the water but "he" was gone for supper and "he" wouldn't be back for a while and then "he" had more stuff to do so she wasn't sure when it would open. We had some friends who were heading home that night but wanted a quick hot tub before they got on the road who tried to come in the hot tub with us but the front desk lady told us that she couldn't let them come in and continued to give about 10 reasons. The whole time she was talking to us she was acting very annoyed that we could even want to use the supposed hot tub. Very bad experience. The room also smells of cheap perfume and there was hair on my pillow.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibunnyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We wanted to be able to cook our own meals and so the room with a kitchenette was a good value option. The room was basic and didn't have much in the way of cooking and cleaning gear, but the management were very helpful and provided us with everything we needed. The manager also spent quite a bit of time recommending places to see and drives to take. Nice views of the mountains but conveniently located on the highway. Noise from traffic wasn't a big problem though. We originally booked in for one night, but then booked in for a second night, using this as a base to explore Yoho national park .

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed the night at this wonderful motel, the staff were very friendly and very knowledgeable, The Manager went out of his way to make sure our stay was nice and that we had everything we needed, plus explained in great detail about the history of Golden and pointed out where we needed to go in town,.
The best part was about the towns bear named Boo.
The room was very clean and the bed was an 11+, best bed I have slept in, in a very long time.
We had checked out late so we had missed the continental breakfast but the Managers wife went out of her way and made my wife and I a fruit plate.
I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 17 in Golden
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 17 in Golden
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 17 in Golden
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing