We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Railway close by! CR.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Railway close by! CR.”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed two nights and I had the best nights sleep of my holiday.I was there the day after the mud slide closed the Highway 1. The area was full of trucks, all overnighting. Also the Ponderosa is quite a way from the dreaded railway! Asking for a quiet room, Kathy, ( The Hostess with the Mostest) gave me a room around the back.Spot On!! Never heard a thing. I would make a beeline for the Ponderosa if in the area. Many thanks Kathy.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    39
    17
    20
See reviews for
34
49
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Had to stop while driving on the trans-canada. Service was great and got a nice deal from the clerk.
Rooms are what you would expect for a $ 70 a night - nice bedding.
Breakfast is very limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times when travelling between Alberta and BC. It is a great place to stay. The manager and her son could not be nicer people!!!! They always remember our names and go out of their way to ensure our stay is perfect. It is a great value, and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have stayed at the Ponderosa in Golden a couple of times. It is right off the highway but far enough to be quiet. It is well maintained and clean - and pet friendly! While coffee is available in the offfice after 7 am, there is none in the room. This for us is a big disadvantage as we like to get up early and head out, well before 7 am. However, the place is cheap and reliable. Has seniors rates.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmnarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Checkin was friendly and helpful. OK the lightbulb in the lamp next to the bed was burned out, but the room was basically clean. The walls certainly are thin as we heard our neighbours chatting together in the room next to us until about midnight. And we skipped coffee and breakfast and went to Tim Horton's instead.

Value was good. Room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverenoughtravel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

stayed in room 311, no Internet access, ceiling looked like it already came down due to water damage, old stinky carpet and the best was that the toilet did not flush.....
at about 5 o clock in the morning it sounded like someone open up a Bowling alley above me. You are better of to sleep in your car or the woods. What a waste of money

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The hotel room is just fine - clean, comfortable, and quiet. While a kettle is provided, there are no cups or coffee. There is a light breakfast but we recommend going elsewhere because it consists of white bread, white muffins, peach drink rather than real juice, and powdered coffee whitener rather than milk or cream for your tea or coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 19 in Golden
346 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Property: Ponderosa Motor Inn
Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing