We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable but not flash; helpful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponderosa Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“comfortable but not flash; helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We wanted to be able to cook our own meals and so the room with a kitchenette was a good value option. The room was basic and didn't have much in the way of cooking and cleaning gear, but the management were very helpful and provided us with everything we needed. The manager also spent quite a bit of time recommending places to see and drives to take. Nice views of the mountains but conveniently located on the highway. Noise from traffic wasn't a big problem though. We originally booked in for one night, but then booked in for a second night, using this as a base to explore Yoho national park .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    33
    37
    14
    18
See reviews for
33
45
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed the night at this wonderful motel, the staff were very friendly and very knowledgeable, The Manager went out of his way to make sure our stay was nice and that we had everything we needed, plus explained in great detail about the history of Golden and pointed out where we needed to go in town,.
The best part was about the towns bear named Boo.
The room was very clean and the bed was an 11+, best bed I have slept in, in a very long time.
We had checked out late so we had missed the continental breakfast but the Managers wife went out of her way and made my wife and I a fruit plate.
I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

I came to Golden to work for the month of March 2010, I stayed in the Ponderosa in a deluxe room for 33 days,the managers and staff where helpfull and friendly,and within 1 hour of me leaving for work each morning my room was cleaned and bed made up,they even removed lampshades and cleaned them,a great place to stay close to many restraunts and Golden town centre only a few minutes drive away.I had a great comfortable stay and will be staying again here the next time I come to Golden

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telustech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootneys
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

This place is a gem in the heart of the Rockies!

The front desk was pleasant and accomodating, we were able to look at rooms before deciding upon staying. The rooms were very clean and inviting.

Even though it was very busy, they still made us feel important and took the time to help us with our queries!

We had a very pleasant stay and will recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeelingAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

I booked this motel before reading the TripAdvisor review about bedbugs. Although we were concerned before arrival, we had a very good stay. The room was clean and comfortable and even had a kitchenette. There was free internet and an indoor jacuzzi. It was also very quiet considering it is located just off the Trans Canada Hwy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Stayed one night and was eaten up by bed bugs. Front desk suggested that they came in with us. Manager suggested that we pay for the cleaning service. I would not wish our experience on anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YouAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Twenty two bites on one arm - please do not stay at this motel. Stayed in room 221. Would not want anyone to go through what we have had to endure. Please do not take your children to this motel. Bed bugs blister and leave very ugly looking sores. Very uncomfortable and manger suggested they came from somewhere else. I can't not warn everybody about this - ruined our trip!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
3.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Property: Ponderosa Motor Inn
Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing