We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing hostel ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dreamcatcher Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Most amazing hostel ever!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

If it's not already, this place should be on one of those top 100 lists of places to stay. The place is immaculately clean and tidy, the owners (who live in the hostel) and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It has a huge common area and kitchen with comfy couches and chairs to lay back in after a hard days skiing, a free juke box, a large range of books to read and the kitchen is well equipped. Free wifi which worked well everywhere in the hostel. One of the best things was a special drying room for ski equipment, it was great putting my feet into dry ski boots every morning. Best hostel I've stayed in ever!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
50
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Dreamcatcher is a very "homey" hostel that feels more like you're staying at a friend's or family member's home than a hostel. The staff and owners are extremely friendly and show a genuine interest in their guests and their stories. The hostel was very clean, the beds comfortable, and well-located to a variety of restaurants, bars, and shopping in Golden.

The only reason I did not give this hostel a "5-star rating" is because: (1) it has limited bathroom/shower facilities (the hostel could benefit form one or two more showers upstairs); (2) I'd like to see more secure lockers in the room (the ones provided were home-made wooden boxes that were not bolted to the floor and could be easily broken into if a thief really wanted access to your valuables); & (3) individual dorm rooms were not locked so anyone staying in the hostel could go into your and riffle through your things if desired. However, since this hostel seems to attract awesome people, theft may be a non-issue anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yale_Alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I rarely post reviews, but this was hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed in! I've traveled the world staying in hostels and have never come across one that this was this clean and friendly. The owners actually live there which makes a huge difference. They're created a very comfortable and connected atmosphere in the common area. The two amazing dogs also help :) Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukaitsharma23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I brought two of my friends here for one night as we were road tripping through the mountains. The hostel is very secure, quiet, restful, easy going and organized. Our room was perfect for the 3 of us with 2 sets of bunk beds. We had a private bathroom and never heard any of the other guests. I would recommend this for any group looking for a peaceful place to bunk up. The kitchen facilities downstairs are also very convenient.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for the best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This may be one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in. Places to stay in the area are few and far between - especially on a budget. Dreamcatcher was the answer to all of our problems. Great price and a great, comfortable place to rest our heads. The hosts were incredible and so welcoming. We stayed in a 6 person dorm - it was a little cramped but still extremely comfortable. The hostel itself was like a home away from home and I'd definitely recommend relaxing in the common areas and having a chat with fellow travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vxk831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was the hostle I didn't know existed.. I have been around the world, tried a lot of hostels, but here i found peace for the first time. Traveling alone and close to 30, it might have something to do with it :-0 So wasn't to ready for a big party, just wanted some good skiing.
Here the dry your clothes and shoes. They have good security. They have huge room for people to do what they want in the common area. And there WIFI worked pretty good! Close to the hill, but you still need a ride up there.. Awesome for the prize.
The hospitality is so nice and personal. They have outdone themselves on this one! Thanks for a great stay:-) Ill be back..
And hey, Golden threw down some awesome partying and an amazing concert in town, and the whole hostel (or at least the 10 people under 30) went out and had a rave! Awesome!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlemFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a group of 37 stay in the hostel, and it was fantastic. Gerald and Abi were a pleasure to be around, and gave great advice for activities around town. The kitchen was well stocked, which made for some excellent hashbrowns! There is no doubt that I will be back to visit. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hashbrowns2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.8 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
187 reviews
3.4 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamcatcher Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatcher Hostel

Property: Dreamcatcher Hostel
Address: 528 9th Avenue North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamcatcher Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dreamcatcher Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing