We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value”
Review of Swiss Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Village Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“poor value”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

now that i've stayed in golden for 5 days i've found the 'strip' hotels along hwy 1 are high priced and the value hotels are down in the city center. about a 3 minute drive. my room at the swiss village had these shortcomings: remote control didn't work, telephone didn't work, the one table lamp in the room didn't work. i starteded writing this review twice the morning i was to check out but got disconnected from the weak signal. the room was bare bones but for a refridge. shower tub was dirty with black hairs. incredibly there was no coffee maker and no coffee in the lobby. furthermore i think the place was built with balsa wood and duct tape as the person above me was one of those hyperactive overweight types making the floor thud and creak for hours on end. i paid $100 ($89 plus tax) for this? i move to Mary's Motel downtown and have twice the room at $15 a night less and peace and quiet. coffee too! need i say more?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    33
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
35
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria,Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The owners were very helpful and nice. My husband and I debated whether a reno would solve the problems or if they should tear down the place and start again. The room had that ancient, beer and smoke, hotel smell and there was nothing extra in the room.
The internet connection was poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
627 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were passing though Golden and found that Swiss village met our 3 basic criteria.
1. Great value ( only $69)
2. cleanliness --- the room was very clean and had new carpets that were spotless
3. quiet --- only a block or so off the transcanada highway ( so very convenient) and we heard no traffic noise whatsoever

The room had a sofa and small fridge. After a long day's driving, it sure was nice to be able to watch a bit of TV stretched out on the sofa rather than the usuall of sitting on a plastic chair or propping yourself up on the bed. free wifi was nice since that often doesn't happen in a budget motel

Room Tip: only the first floor rooms have fridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonelobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at this motel recently and we thought the price was reasonable but after staying for a few nights we changed our minds. The motel smells like gas and stale chinese food. There are no coffeemakers or radios in the room. If you want coffee, you have to go down to the first floor and there is a hot water canister there with small foam cups and an old jar of Nescafe with a spoon in it. There is a box of sugar packets on the side and gross tasting coffee whitener. We thought we'd move to a room with a microwave but did not like the looks of the room as the TV was on top of the fridge and the owner refused to move it. She also did not want us using the hot plate in the room or doing any frying. Then why keep a hot plate in the room to begin with? Maid service was scanty. We figure the owners were trying to save money.Also, it was hard to get hot water during the day and overnight. The owner told us a story that th installers of her hot water tank programmed it like that and there was nothing she could do about it. We find that hard to believe since she owns the tank. The carpets in the motel are run down and some parts of it held together with tape. We asked the owner is maybe she had a kettle she could give us so we could boil water for coffee and tea in the room instead of running up and down the stairs to get hot water, coffee. (There was no tea in the lobby). She offered us a black kettle that was soiled with white water marks that she said was from the hard water in the town of Golden, BC. She said she should have gotten white kettles so nobody could see the marks. There is also supposed to be a sauna but it was never opened. The only time we saw it open was when we saw the owner's mother-in-law sitting in the room knitting. And there were no lights or sauna on either. She sat there in the dark.

We will bypass this motel in the future. Not worth the hassle even if it was free.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario,
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We recently stayed twice at the Swiss Village during a road trip from Toronto to Vancouver. The motel accepts pets.

Motel room was clean, quiet and large and came with a microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker and a small table and chairs.

Owners were friendly and helpful.

Located just off the Transcanada on the west side of Golden, the motel is a good option for those looking for a reasonable room at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

i stayed here for 6 nights while on a hiking trip to yoho and glacier national parks- if you like hiking and scenery, be sure to go on long hikes at those 2 parks!!!
i called and negotiated a lower rate than any other i could find in golden. there are many small motels in town but they all charge ridiculous summer rates for their short tourist season.
i was initially disappointed when i saw the rooms- poor lighting and cheap, very old furniture, faded bedspread, very dingy looking. but i chose a room upstairs facing the mountains and there was good natural lighting. the room was clean and bathroom was spotless. there is bad truck traffic noise on the mountain-facing side though, so if you want a quieter room ask for one on the back side (with no view).
the owner/manager natalie was very helpful- she let me choose a room after seeing 3 options. she also let me move a microwave into the room and gave me a 100 watt bulb and a lamp for better lighting.
it's a no frills room but clean and fine for sleeping. only soap is provided- no shampoo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

An ideal place to stop if you are travelling on the trans Canada highway. We arrived late following a days driving from Vancouver but were still able to check in. No frills motel but for 113 dollars for a large room it was good value

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ponderosa Motor Inn
#12 of 19 in Golden
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Village Inn

Property: Swiss Village Inn
Address: 1107 14th St N | West End of Golden, Box 765, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Swiss Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing