We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho-Hum”
Review of Swiss Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Village Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel has seen better days. There were goog old fashioned keys instead of the security card for the room entrance, and the doors beat up from years of luggage banged against it. That said, the room was okay, reasonably clean, and the furnishings better than the exterior would suggest. No dining, so you can play 'dodge the bullet' trying to walk across the Trans Canada, or drive to eat. It was reasonable for the price, but for the same price, maybe there is a place where food is within walking distance

Room Tip: Check your dining needs before you commit to a booking
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Swiss Village Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night as we overnighted in Golden. Just needed. Bed and shower that were clean and this fit the bill. Nothing glamorous but friendly staff and clean. We parked our car and were able to bike everywhere in town. Close to quick food and highway.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

theperson at the front desk was very friendly and helpful when it came to finding things in town. the room nothing fancy but it was spacious, very clean and reasonably priced. Will definately stop there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estrner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

we were just stopping over in Golden and this inn was a reasonable place for a reasonable price. we found it clean, quiet, comfortable, nothing fancy. the woman at the desk was friendly and willing to wait up for us, though in the end we arrived in good time.

the main thing i would have wished for it was location - it is not an easy walk to the town centre where we had a late bite to eat and a beer - just one beer as we had to drive to and from.

Room Tip: upstairs was slightly cheaper, and easy to access.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

On the outside the building is certainly not the newest but my room was clean, nicely appointed, and quite spacious. The bathroom had definitely been upgraded, and was bright and new. The staff was very friendly and helpful; a very good place to stay on a Golden stop over.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

now that i've stayed in golden for 5 days i've found the 'strip' hotels along hwy 1 are high priced and the value hotels are down in the city center. about a 3 minute drive. my room at the swiss village had these shortcomings: remote control didn't work, telephone didn't work, the one table lamp in the room didn't work. i starteded writing this review twice the morning i was to check out but got disconnected from the weak signal. the room was bare bones but for a refridge. shower tub was dirty with black hairs. incredibly there was no coffee maker and no coffee in the lobby. furthermore i think the place was built with balsa wood and duct tape as the person above me was one of those hyperactive overweight types making the floor thud and creak for hours on end. i paid $100 ($89 plus tax) for this? i move to Mary's Motel downtown and have twice the room at $15 a night less and peace and quiet. coffee too! need i say more?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The owners were very helpful and nice. My husband and I debated whether a reno would solve the problems or if they should tear down the place and start again. The room had that ancient, beer and smoke, hotel smell and there was nothing extra in the room.
The internet connection was poor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#6 of 18 in Golden
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 18 in Golden
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Village Inn

Address: 1107 14th St N | West End of Golden, Box 765, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Swiss Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing