We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillside Is Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Lodge and Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hillside Is Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

Don't be dissuaded by ugly logging town of Golden nearby--this property is a great value and a very peaceful place to use as a base for Glacier National Park in Canada. All units ('chalets') have kitchen so you can cook here. Good thing, because there is nothing nearby. Glacier Park has amazing hiking and few tourists. Highly recommend this property!

  • Liked — Peaceful location. Nice owners. Private.
  • Disliked — We paid $28 for breakfast--definitely not worth it (cereal + eggs + toast).
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Professors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed one night at the deluxe summer suite- we had the luxury of an outdoor jet tub facing a mountainview, a private sauna and private steam room. It was extremely comfortable and relaxing. Great place to unwind. The suite was immaculately clean and hospitality very polite and kind. Would definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Clean and good value for money
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2007

We just returned home from a 12-day golf holiday and stayed at several B&Bs and Inns. This was by far the most outstanding. There are several golf courses within an hour of the location. We stayed in the lodge and had a lovely room with a balcony and magnificent view of the river and mountains. We were entertained by the birds and also saw deer by the river. We so enjoyed our meal cooked by Hubert (a professional chef), that we cancelled plans to go into Golden the next night. Hubert again provided a delicious authentic German meal. Breakfasts were great. Both Hubert and Sonja made us feel 'at home'.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2006

Secluded 1 kilometer from the highway, amongst beautiful woods, you will find these cute lodge and chalets. The cabin we got was very ample and extremely cozy, with its fireplace, kitchenette and a dining table and bed that reminded us of the 3 little bears. Central heating worked just fine. The only weird thing was the shower water... it smelled like sulfur. It was a charming night at a GREAT price.

  • Liked — Its overall charm
  • Disliked — Shower water smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Arive early while there's still light
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatototo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2006

Beautifull place to stay, in the middle of the woods, very peacefull. The cabins are very comfortable, Sonia & Hubert are great hosts.
I will will want to come back to this place anytime !

  • Liked — the comfort of the cabins,
  • Disliked — nothing ....we even had fun with the dog !
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jls38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

Be aware that this is not a good choice if you hope to visit any parks east of Golden, such as Yoho or Banff. You certainly can not reach Jasper from here, although the website says it's "easy to reach by day trips". There is a massive construction project underway on the Trans-Canada Highway (between Field and Golden) - the only road east to Yoho or Banff and it will not be completed for several years. Expect up to 60 minute delays each way, as well as extreamly slow, bumper to bumper traffic once you are allowed to move. Makes for a pretty unpleasant vacation experience. Don't expect your hosts to be empathetic. We were told to "just visit other places". The cabins are comfortable and if you plan to just stay in Golden or are passing through to points west this could work for you. We also had wet sneakers, left out to dry after rafting, taken off the front porch by Pepper so watch those shoes!

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — difficulty getting to national parks, too many mosquitos to enjoy being outside at cabin
  • Tips/Secrets — ok for an overnight stay but not a "destination" or a good base for day trips
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corpus christi, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2006

We stayed for two weeks last year and had a great time. The cabins were nice and well appointed. As for the owners dog, it dived into the river to retrieve my daughter's sand bucket she had dropped into the swift running water. Pepper would have done the same if she had fallen in herself. She can eat my shoe anyday.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
9.0 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
13.1 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moberly Lodge
Moberly Lodge
#7 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
22.4 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
2.9 mi away
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
#20 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Lodge and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge and Chalets

Property: Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Address: 1740 Seward Frontage Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 20 beautiful acres of riverfront property, we offer 9 cabins and 2 guest rooms. We have an amazing wedding venue - a rustic barn with just enough modern touches and beautiful exposed wood to make any event stunning! It's a must see property with lots to see and do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing