We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Goldenwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goldenwood Lodge
Ranked #12 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 night in a teepee with our 3 children. The teepees had beds and coverings, sleeping bags were supplied. Mosquito nets were fixed I place over the beds and added to the feel of an outdoors experience. The site was clean, well laid out and the facilities (bathrooms, showers and kitchen) were tastefully accommodating. The fires outside the teepee were great and the free firewood was a nice touch. To experience the stars from such a dark, remote location whilst sleeping in a teepee, made this the most memorable time on our holiday.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We've been traveling through Canada for 3 weeks. We booked a tipi for 2 nights. It was the best thing we did these weeks. It was quiet, about 6 km from the road, only sounds of the campfires and animals in the wood and around the pond.
The owners were very friendly and showed us around. The campground has clean showers, fully equiped kitchen, lockers for your food in the kitchen. Basicly everything you need. We had the last tipi in the row. Because it was very warm we had the tipi open at night, to wake up with deers in front of your tent. We didn't regret going here

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyWisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights in one of the Teepee's. Great way to camp but with real beds to make it a bit more comfortable. Kitchen and bathroom facilities were clean and fully kitted out.

Lovely location with lots of wildlife.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Have stayed at the Goldenwood three times in the last five years. Have always had a wonderful experience. The scenery is quite spectacular. The setting is quite and the accommodations, regardless of which building I've stayed in have always been very clean, comfortable, first rate affairs. If you are looking for a European Alpine experience, this is the place. Barbara, Andy and Casey (their fluffy, sweet dog) are wonderful hosts. Don't miss Barbara's delicious, home made jams!

Room Tip: Kicking Moose and Howling Wolf are great for mid to large groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsm331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

MY boyfriend and I stayed at the Goldenwood Lodge in 2011. The owners were friendly and engaging, and even provided us with some delicious homemade tomatoe soup well after the dinner hour!

We stayed in the cabin where the two beds become one (very European), and really enjoyed the simple comfort of the cabin, with it's clean and homey feel. In the morning we were able to see the sun rise out of the mist in the valley, while still enjoying a beautiful mountain view.

The trails on the back of the property make for a delightful stroll, especially in August when the thimbleberries are ripe!

Looking for an opportunity to return and spend more days at this lovely location!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manamitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

From Aug. 20 to 24, 2012 we have stayed 5 nights at the Goldenwood lodge.
This lodge is a top location: it is situated in the green and quiet Blaeberry valley about 16 km north of Golden. From here 4 national parks are well in reach and we visited 3 of them.
From the breakfast table you can watch deer and buffalos some further away.
We were very pleased with the accomodation, we stayed 3 nights in one of the 2 rooms of the main lodge and 2 nights in a cottage for two persons. Both were very tidy and organised comfortably.
Barbara and Andy, original Swiss, were very helpfull to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We really felt home.

Room Tip: The cottages are very quiet and their location on the hill slope allow a unique view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy_V_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed overnight in July and really enjoyed it. Andy is super helpful. Saw deer in the morning. Breakfast was very yummy but Way overpriced $55 for two adults and two kids. Bathrooms very clean and the beds were comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
9.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
4.3 mi away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 43 in Golden
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rocky Mountain Cabins
Rocky Mountain Cabins
#17 of 43 in Golden
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 43 in Golden
70 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenwood Lodge

Address: 2493 Holmes-Deakin Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range: £30 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldenwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet retreat in the Canadian Rockies right on the edge of wilderness. Comfortable 1 and 3 bedroom cottages, rooms, and teepees in beautiful setting. Natural pond; river access; abundant wildlife, great bird watching, spectacular views. Excellent breakfasts (also vegetarian) on request. Mountain bike rental. Wi-Fi. Lots of activities nearby. Close to 6 National Mountain Parks. We are a Green Lodge - committed to help save our planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Goldenwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing