We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with the Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestige Inn Golden
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

I was very turned off of this property by my experience with their manager, Melinda. I called to book a room for one night and was quoted a confirmed rate with tax along with a confirmation number. When I went to pay for the room, the rate had increased quite a bit. I questioned this change and was told that the original booking agent (whose name I had recorded, just in case) must have made a mistake and no, they would not honor that price. When I asked if I could speak to a manager, Melinda said 'no, I am the only manager'. It was a slow period for them and they had better rates advertised on their website, which was frustrating.

I was disappointed by this poor and unethical service and although I was happy with the hotel, I will avoid it in the future. I sent a message to their info email address and have received no response. Apparently, customer serice is not their strong suit.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Zmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    69
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
49
68
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

Arrived for one night while driving across Canada, place is right on the Trans Canada Highway & seemed an ideal stop on our way to Revelstoke. Lunched in the restaurant, perfectly good food, room was clean & pleasant. Staff were welcoming enough, but had no advice on the landslide which closed the highway while we were there. Two good things about Golden - A fabulous and educational wolf sanctuary, and one of the best steaks I ever ate at the Golden Grizzly just opposite the hotel. Hotel was fine, but I'm in no great hurry to visit Golden again, we saw it all in one day & with time to spare.

  • Liked — Clean & convenient
  • Disliked — It's in Golden
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireJethro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

In Golden on business. Room available. Checked inn, very friendly staff. Nice clean room, with comfortable bed.

Views of the highway a little annoying, but that's ok.

Internet worked fine in the room (can't say the same about the prestige inn in nelson).

All in all good nice clean place to stay.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank dogmantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2007

The most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. I'm still dreaming of it five months later. Girl at front desk very helpful and pleasant. Would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — How comfortable the bed was.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the name of the mattress you will want to buy one for yourself!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMB2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

The worst customer service I've ever seen. We had booked non smoking rooms through our travel agency about 4 months in advance and they assigned us to a smoking room. We complained (a family member traveling with us has asthma) and were told that it was our agency's fault because they had cancelled our rooms the day before (!!). We, of course, checked that and discovered it was a total lie...Sarah, the receptionist is a very daring woman and is able to tell you the worst lies with a huge fake smile. We tried to meet with the manager but of course he was "out of town and unreachable" at the moment...we were told he would be there the following morning and that he could see us...the morning after he was again "out of town and unreachable". Most careless staff I've ever seen. We complained to Sarah (who seems to be the only person at the helm of the hotel) and asked for a compensation. She responded, with her icy fake smile: "you're free to leave."

Swimming pool is disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulienS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

My family travels through Golden, B.C., Canada alot and we are happy with this inn. This hotel has a very small pool, but nice hot tub. The rooms are comfortable but very small and the rooms can be costly when compared to the other inns and hotels in this town. The beds are ok. You will not receive alot of help with baggage. The hotel has wireless internet access. If you have no laptop computer or no wireless, you will have a pay to use a small computer to access the internet from the lobby and can be expensive. No business room to use as far as I could see. No free continental breakfast. Do not eat at the attached restaurant, we were very very disappointed with the food. There are no mountain views at this hotel (at least as far as I could see) despite the fact the hotel is nestled in the mountains. Great for a one night stop over while crossing B.C.

  • Liked — Clean and neat
  • Disliked — lack of service
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat food in town
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank albertalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2004

We stayed for one night in mid October and were "put off" on arrival as there were about twenty flies in the window of the room. Reception said there was nothing they could do as they get in even though the window and fly screens are closed!!! We had to ask to be moved to a north facing room - away from the sun.
Apart from this initial setback, we found the room comfortable and spacious. The pool and (very) hot tub, and the restaurant food and service were good. The location next to the Trans Canada Highway was also convenient for an overnight stop.
Golden itself was a "dead end town", but the surrounding scenery in the fall was nice. Kicking Horse ski resort was about 12km away - there is a massive development program going on there at the moment. Should be nice when it's finished!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank formula_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Inn Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Inn Golden

Property: Prestige Inn Golden
Address: 1049 Trans Canada Hwy N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Prestige Inn Golden)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestige Inn Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Rocky Mountains, the Prestige Inn Golden is an elegant full service property on the Trans-Canada Highway. Ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler, relax in one of our Deluxe Guestrooms, Studio Guestrooms, or Designer Suites. Our facilities include indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, restaurant, lounge, and liquor store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prestige Inn Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Inn Golden Hotel Golden
Prestige Mountainside Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing