We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Nido Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Nido Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Remote luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a nice surprise! We made a last minute booking to stay 3 nights at Il Nido and what a good decision that turned out to be. Susan and Maurizio are the best hosts, offering a very nice and relaxed atmosfeer in addition to a fantastic breakfast as well as dinner. We feel as though we have been treated as special guests. Furthermore, we have made one of the nicest hikes of our holiday thanks to the advice of Maurizio!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pannekeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, AB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed one night at this B and B on our way to Kelowna and couldn't have been more pleased. Prior to arriving, the hosts emailed to offer additional meals if needed and being the location is a few minutes outside of Golden, we thought we would take advantage of a supper meal so that we wouldn't have to travel back into town. We had no idea what we were in for. Susan doesn't claim to be a chef but her passion for cooking is evident in her culinary creations. My husband and I were the only ones staying there that night and we felt like we were treated like a king and queen. If you plan to stay here, do take advantage of more than a breakfast meal. You won't be disappointed. The room was very spacious with a kitchenette and the peacefulness of the country setting can't be beat. Thanks again for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Both the 1 bedroom rooms are on an upper level with several stairs leading up to them. If you have d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 10 days in Canada for a vacation, and this was my favorite place that we stayed. The hosts are so welcoming, the house is beautiful, the food is amazing. Susan is a fabulous cook - the sauce she was making the night we arrived smelled so good we regretted we weren't sharing it with them! But the next morning she made the most amazing breakfast! Maurizio is so friendly and accommodating. The room was super clean and very comfortable, with a nice little kitchen and lots of room. Definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglemom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Il Nido was a wonderful place to stay. Susan and Maurizio have done a great job making their inn a special place. The room was super clean, quiet and very comfortable. The hot tub was outside in a setting that allowed you to appreciate the setting. The best part however was the dinner on request. Susan really takes pride in her menu and it shows in the many wonderful flavors put before you. The breakfast that came with the room was also exceptional. The only costructive thing I would say is that the presentation of the "rules" could have been a little less. A great place to stay.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Last weekend my husband and I decided to stay overnight in Golden on route to Kelowna, BC.
We could not have been more thrilled with everything Il Nido had to offer us. The land and building are absolutely beautiful, the hospitality friendly and informative while still providing us all the privacy we could want. Susan and Mauritzio served us up a beautiful breakfast which kept us pleasantly full right through till dinner. Our only regret was that we had to leave! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We simply LOVED everything about Il Nido Country Inn. Susan and Maurizio are very welcoming and made us feel at home. The house is beautiful and bright, in a nice and quiet location. Beds are soooo comfortable, every room is nicely decorated! And the food is AMAZING, made by the owners with fresh products from their garden. We had breakfast there and even dinner one night. What a great time we had...We wish we could have stayed longer. Would also be a beautiful place to stay at for a skiing vacation...And they have a nice Jacuzzi outside!

Room Tip: We had the Jay Suite which has two bedrooms and a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Perfect for a quiet getaway. We had a great time meeting Susan and Maurizio, who have clearly put a great deal of thought into creating a great atmosphere for guests. Susan is an exceptional cook. The building is absolutely beautiful. Sounds travels easily between the walls and floors, but Susan and Maurizio institute a 10:30pm quiet time. Stay for Dinner :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
12.4 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
12.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
13.2 mi away
Canyon Ridge Lodge
Canyon Ridge Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
11.6 mi away
Home Lodge
Home Lodge
#2 of 18 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nido Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nido Country Inn

Property: Il Nido Country Inn
Address: 3010 Golden Donald Upper Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested between the Rockies and the Purcell Mountains "il nido country inn" ("The Nest") offers the solitude that brings peace and comfort back to your life. This is a place where you can forget...and just relax!! Stay in a truly marvelous log home in the wilderness of Canada and enjoy nature at its best. Make it your home for all the adventures the surrounding mountains have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing