We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a beautiful place to hang out.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Golden, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sarah S
1 review
“What a beautiful place to hang out.”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Smiley Wolf is a great cabin to stay at if you want tranquility not far from town. It had everything you could want in your home away from home and the kids loved looking for the toy animals hidden around the grounds. We had a great stay and would recommend this place to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4881
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip to Banff, Yoho,Jasper, Kootenay National Parks”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Awesome place, we loved the deck and hot tub which we used every afternoon after our daily adventures. The house is very comfortable, kitchen well stocked with all you need to cook a meal. Nice and close to Golden which made getting grocerys very handy. Very private and peaceful location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VladTeter...
1 review
“Above all expectations, great location, awesome place to get away from everything.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Everything was clean and tidy. Very organized and comfortable. The Hot tub was a great feature. Recommend to everyone who is traveling with up to 6 people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place for an Inexpensive Group Vacation”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We came to Golden for a wedding and stayed at Smiley Wolf as a group of three couples and one toddler. The cabin made for a great spot to have a small and relaxing vacation with many amenities.

For those who like privacy, Smiley Wolf Cabin is the ideal spot. The property is tucked away from the road and surrounded by forest. The area is very quiet. It's in a neighborhood but there's little noise, no rowdy partying or loud vehicles. Outside, there's a small fire pit (with firewood and an axe), a hot tub, and a lot of fun statues and art pieces hidden around the property, so make sure you go and explore. We used the hot tub every night to unwind. The deck is large and spacious. Inside, there's a full kitchen and everything you'll need to make meals at home. We made a delicious pork roast with garlic mashed potatoes and veggies on the final night of our stay, and the large dining room table sat our party comfortably.

Everything is clean and tidy. There's LOTS of seating on three different couches, so everyone has room to sprawl out and relax. There's even a large desk for creatives to draw or write. My sister (an artist) did some sketches of the property. Being a writer, I used a lot of quiet time to get some much-needed writing done. The cabin is a bit more worn than in the photos, but it's by no means a deterrent; it's a wonderful place with lots of cozy features for everyone. There's even a bookshelf with a really great collection of books to browse through. Lots of classics, area guidebooks and maps, as well as a few hidden gems. There's a poetry anthology called "The Nation's Best Poems" that I particularly enjoyed flipping through.

Being a cabin, the floors and stairs do creak a lot. You can hear conversations through walls, but the upstairs bathroom was well-stocked with earplugs, so you're still going to get a good sleep through the night. Golden also has really soft water and low water pressure, so when you take a shower you're never going to feel like you've scrubbed all the shampoo out. The floors get extra slippery when you climb out of the shower or the bath, so be extra careful. Luckily the cabin has many extra towels, plus a washer and dryer and if need to freshen them up. There's a little playhouse on the property, but when I went to check it out I found that it was really worn down and unfortunately my daughter couldn't play in it. She had enough fun running around the living area and up and down the driveway, so it wasn't all for not.

Nevertheless, we were all very happy with our stay at Smiley Wolf Cabin. I specifically loved how quiet the area was, and how well-stocked the kitchen was with pots and pans and utensils. We stayed in for every meal. Split between the three couples we traveled with, Smiley Wolf was a great value stay for us, and we would all love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and private, has all the amenities, even earplugs!
Liked least: Being a log cabin, the floors creak a lot and you can hear conversations through the walls.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug M
1 review
“Sets the Gold(en) standard. ”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Exceeded all expectations! Great location, all amenities provided, stellar view from porch. Don't think twice, book it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia D
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing beautiful winter wonderland!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We absolutely loved this cabin, it would be amazing for anyone looking for a winter or summer escape, out in nature but not too far out of town. So well maintained and the help from Mount 7 Lodges was so great. We will definitely return with our family! Thankyou smiley wolf cabin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub, fireplace and nature surrounding property! Sorry I can't pick just one thing!
Liked least: Nothing. Everything was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
word s
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were a group of 6 adults and we stayed in this cabin for 4 nights. The kitchen was well equipped that we had breakfast and dinner there - it saved us from eating out all the time. Wifi worked well and the jacuzzi was a great bonus. We are definitely recommending this place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing