We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss Home Lodge in Golden”
Review of Home Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Lewis
2 reviews
“Don't miss Home Lodge in Golden”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Home Lodge is a lovely, spacious, well-designed house with a fabulous outlook onto farmland and the mountains beyond, a little way outside the town of Golden. The facilties are excellent - the laundry and drying area was extremely useful for us as we had been drenched on a wet walk in Marble Canyon, Kootenay NP, on the way. The bubbly and vivaceous hostess Lynn was extremely welcoming and helpful and gave us some great advice for the rest of our trip. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and tasty. We were only here for 1 night and really wished we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broad_Bay_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
107
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We really enjoyed this great great place. Lynn is a perfect hostess and made us feel at home. The lodge and the rooms are beautifully decorated and we enjoyed a delicious dinner with the other guests. It's also a great way to get to know other people. Guests can use the dining and living room as well as the library. Breakfast was wonderful and thanks to Sigi we had some Swiss cheese as well. A perfect start! We highly recommend to stay there as long as you can!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin-7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
münchen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed four nights at this marvellous, luxurious lodge. From the first moment we felt like being at home, Lynn and Sigi are both very lovely and excellent hosts and we really loved Lynn's Scottish accent. The rooms are very tidy, we had the Kingsize bed room with a luxurious bathroom and a walk-in shower, Lynn's breakfast is superb (never had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon before, delicious!) and thanks to Sigi's Swiss nationality we could even enjoy Gruyère cheese. You meet the other guests for breakfast and can exchange experiences or tips where to go. The lodge, the rooms, the location, the Scottish Highland cattle, the great living room with the fantastic fireplace, the proper furnished kitchen which you can use to prepare your own dinner (we used the BBQ outside and decided to eat inside because of the mosquitos ;-), everything is just perfect for a nice and relaxing stay. And if you are really lucky and will stay more than just one day (which we highly recommend) than hope for one day of bad weather: stay in the lodge, put on the fireplace, listen to good music, have some tea and enjoy the silence, the beauty of the house, the fantastic views and a nice chat with Lynn and Sigi.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruderherzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is such a fabulous home. (I won't call it a B&B, because we were made to feel truly at home). Lynn our hostess was lovely the rooms were large and comfortable, and the views are out of this world. Just sitting in the lounge looking out at the fantastic vista gives you a feeling of deep contentment. The breakfasts kept us going through the day and as other reviewers have said, it is great to have the opportunity to meet with other guests and chat around the huge table. It's had to think of a more spectacular setting, but Lynn, Sigi and next door's dog Anna's hospitality makes this place simply unmissable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is a really a great place. One that you won't quickly forget. It's not only the location or the nice rooms! It's also the hospitality, the smell of breakfast being prepared, meeting the other guests at the large breakfast table exchanging experiences and where to go, chatting with Lynn and her nice scottish accent. Don't bother a rainy day if you would have one. Just sit in the open and spacious living, take one of the good books or listen to a good CD and enjoy the rest. On a nice sunny day, sit in the garden or on the veranda and watch the grazing scottish highlanders. And let the time just pass. One of the places (and hosts) of which you immediately think of wanting to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely designed and well-equipped. Of course the nicest is the largest one at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Lynn is the perfect hostess, in the perfect location and super value. She (and Sigi) couldn't have been nicer. You will leave feeling that you are leaving behind a new friend. Every other accommodation on our trip through the Rockies were compared to our visit to "Lynn's Place" and she came out on top every time. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had three rooms, all different and all terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The reader can believe all the positive reviews of this Lodge. Every aspect of our stay was simply the best. Only 5 minutes from Golden but a secluded retreat in the mountains with the perfect hostess and a superb breakfast.

Room Tip: No room is inferior to any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgansCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
2.3 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.4 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canyon Ridge Lodge
Canyon Ridge Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast
18.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Lodge

Property: Home Lodge
Address: 869 Barber Rd | Columbia Shushwap RR1, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lodge in 40 acres of countryside yet only minutes from town. 5 en-suite bedrooms with heated floors and fluffy robes. Great room with real fire and mountain views. Book, CD and DVD libraries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Home Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing