We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay - like being at home”
Review of Home Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home Lodge
Ranked #2 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were four people making a round trip through the Western part of Canada in July 2013. We spent two nights in the Home Lodge in Golden, BC.

Location / Accessibility
The Home Lodge is situated at a height of 1050m approximately in the mountains north of Golden, BC. Located at the end of a paved access road the atmosphere is absolutely quiet, no ambient noise is disturbing your sleep.

Welcome / First Impression
Our host Lynn provided a heartwarming reception, showed us our rooms and gave us all necessary information concerning our stay. She also recommended restaurants and destinations for day trips.
After entering the house you are requested to change your footwear against slippers in order to prevent the white carpeted floor from getting dirty. The ground floor houses the flagship of the Home Lodge, the big living zone which can be found very easily on their homepage. Kitchen that can be used by all guests, dining room and a small library inviting you to read a book are located on the same level.
Around the southwest corner of the house you will find a big porch for enjoying the evening sunlight. Only the mosquitos may disturb this pleasure ;-)

Rooms
We got a large room with a big bed, the mattresses allowed a good sleep. A big wardrobe offers a lot of space for your holiday wardrobe. Instead of having a refrigerator in the room we could share the big refrigerator in the kitchen. The bathroom is spacious and equipped with a shower. Both living room and bathroom are equipped with modern furniture. You may not miss any small bathroom equipment such as towels, hair dryer, and other small bathroom items. Finally, a bureau with chair is available for any paper work or notebook activities.

Breakfast
Breakfast table is opulently equipped, there is a wide variety of food and beverages. You can get bacon and eggs, but also various kinds of tasty Swiss cheese (as Golden is a ski resort in which a lot of Swiss people are living), self-made bread and toast, „Bonne Maman“ French jam (European guests may love it) and yogurt. Finally, a big plate with fresh fruit (during our stay we got strawberries, plums and oranges) can be found on the breakfast table each morning. Offered drinks are various kind of juice, coffee or tea.

Internet
An internet access is available free of cost. We used it for only short Skype phone calls during our stay.

Hospitality
Our host Lynn made us feel staying with friends. Her likeable manner and her hospitality made our stay in the Home Lodge unforgettable, the two days flew by quickly. We were very grateful for the nice conversation and helpful hints around our stay. We would have been stayed longer but our tight time schedule did not allow it.

Conclusion
In a nutshell, we are looking back to an unique stay in the Home Lodge in Golden. Our next holiday in Canada, as far as we will visit the region of Golden again, will, without doubt, lead to the Home Lodge again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Home Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We loved this place from the very first moment! Lynn is a lovely host, sharing lots of helpful information, like good places to dine or the farmers market, where you can buy german bread from a german baker who is baking fresh right at the market. The house is a architectural gem, especially the terrific view from the living room which you share with the other guests. To begin a day with a smile you need and get a wonderful breakfas. It is not typical Canadian, but offers even more than fresh fruit and yoghurts, like fresh real bread, cheese, marmelade, self baked muffins and everything you ask for.
We were happy that we have decided to stay four nights- we left knowing that it would be hard to find a similar heavenly place during our 3 week trip through West-Canada. Thank you Lynn!

Room Tip: they are all quiet and lovely decorated
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

-Lynn Moffat was a great host and very helpful.
-very scenic location surrounded by mountains
-beautiful two storey home with a floor to ceiling lounge
-an exceptional breakfast
-large breakfast table, we met people from Switzerland, Scotland, California and England
-bedroom and bathroom was great
-very good value

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Sometimes life treats you to a real joy. I have just experienced one such event. There is always an element of doubt when yo think you have discovered the ideal accommodation. But Home Lodge delivered everything I had hoped for, and the a dollop more. I do not believe Lynn Moffat could do anything more to improve the quality of experience at Home Lodge. It starts soon after booking with emails asking what she could do to make our visit a success. The a lodge is a true home from home, with the guests encouraged to mix and chat. It is amazing how tips on places to see or to eat at get passed on. The Lodge is impressive, set out of town in its own land. Sitting on the veranda offers utter peace of mind. It is serene. We were only there two nights, but they will be nights we shall remember it for many a long day.

Room Tip: Any room will be more than good enough. Just make sure you go!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrinerGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homelodge, Owner at Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello, thanks so much for posting such a speedy review! I really appreciate you taking the time to do this - probably the last thing you want to spend time doing whilst on holiday!! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was great to get to know you on the couple of days you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Seeing this place for he first time as you approach up the drive is the first eye-opener. It is lovely!! Hostess, Lynn, is fantastic. So welcoming and accommodating. The house itself is just stunning, with guests genuinely encouraged to use all of the generous living space. Views from the sitting room are fabulous.
Rooms are extremely comfortable and Lynn provides a first class breakfast. Wander round the property at your leisure and meet the friendly highland cattle that Lynn and her partner keep.
If you're passing through Golden, then don't miss this 'nugget'! (Sorry).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I were at the tail end of a two week motorcycle trip and on our way home. Golden, B.C. on the trip was the first and last leg of our trip. The trip out the hotel we stayed at was less than satisfactory. We have always wanted to stay at a Bed & Breakfast and found the Home Lodge. Where to begin, wake up in the morning fresh mountain air blowing in the room, a cow calls out letting us know time to get up. Window in the shower looks out over a mountain range with the sun tickling the peaks. The smell of fresh coffee fills the air. We enter the dining area to find Lynn has a fruit salad on the table, different cheeses, cereals and breads. We have stayed and fancy resorts that don’t put out this kind of breakfast. Her cheery disposition and knowledge of the area and beyond is impressive, need a good place for supper she knows the local establishments like the back or her hand. Felt like we were at home rather than staying at someone’s home. What a great ending to a 3000 mile road trip, defiantly we will be going back. Lynn has set a very high bar in our books for a Bed & Breakfast.

Peter & Patricia Huebner
Red Deer, Alberta Canada

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We want to add our endorsement for Lynn's wonderful bed and breakfast. Having all day access to the whole house and grounds makes it seem as if you are staying at a friend's house and adds an extra dimension to the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
2.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
2.3 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 18 in Golden
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.5 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
0.4 mi away
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Lodge

Address: 869 Barber Rd | Columbia Shushwap RR1, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range: £102 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lodge in 40 acres of countryside yet only minutes from town. 5 en-suite bedrooms with heated floors and fluffy robes. Great room with real fire and mountain views. Book, CD and DVD libraries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Home Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing