We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bob and Heather: we will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bob and Heather: we will return!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Dear Bob and Heather,

When we arrived at your beautiful B&B, located in the nice and quiet part of Golden, we instantly knew that we were at the right place. The reception couldn't be better, and we felt immediately at home. We got a room on the low level of the house which was comfortable and convenient. And yes, it contained an old tv, but we didn't care because it worked and we're not in Golden to watch tv all day.

Normally we stay at hotels, but staying at your B&B convinced us to also consider B&B's when choosing places to stay in future. The personal touch at Le Beausoleil is something a hotel hardly can match.

Breakfast was great, home made stuff we didn't find anywhere else on our trip. DIY but getting your own food from a table, putting a home made waffle in the toaster and storing your cup and plate in a dishwasher after you finish is an esay thing to do, and adds to the personal atmosphere.

Bob gave us great, personalized tips, where to go fishing a.o. And another thing we really liked is that you could rely on Bob and Heather being there for you, without being over present.

We hope we will see you again in the future, we have enjoyed ourselves very much with you and several of your guests we met at the breakfast or during the day.

Tip for people visiting Golden: be smart and book Le Beausoleil for a couple of days, instead of one night. From this base you can explore all National Parks conveniently, and return to a welcoming place at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmenemNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host8183, Owner at Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

Heather and I were very pleased to ready you comments and appreciate the kind words and glowing testimony.

Like you we believe Le Beausoleil is the place to stay when touring the Canadian Rockies. We are close to all of the major attractions but away from the commercial hustle and bustle of Banff and Lake Louise. Thank you for stressing this fact in your review.

We look forward to seeing you again at Le Beausoleil. All the best............Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautiul location - don't be alarmed by Golden's main road through - the B&B is in a beautful location just a short drive up the mountain and the old town of Golden (a short drive away) was lovely and had some of the best restaurants we encountered on our trip. Bob and Heather are so lovely and have great vouchers for local restaurants. Really interesting to learn about Bob's work with mountain rescue also and of course Amos the dog is an absoloute star! Communal breakfasts were fun and really tasty - wholesome and home made food and unique in that all the food was available in the mornings and you just helped yourself - Bob and Heather popped in now and again but very laidback and flexible arrangements made for a relaxing stay. Our room was really spacious, clean and had a baclony with great views. We were made to feel really welcome and loved our stay here - great for exploring the outdoors.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VeggiePatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host8183, Owner at Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello to our English guests and friends.

Heather and I hope you had a great finish to your vacation and a safe trip home.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated and we enjoyed reading them.

Hopefully if you're ever back in our part of the world we'll see you again.

All the best...............Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

In Bob´s and Heathers´s Le Beau Soleil we had the most charming place possible to stay in Golden B.C.- wonderful large room with separate bathroom perfectly suitable for a family of four, the most relaxing beds you can imagine and a breakfast buffet with everything you can possibly think of including Heather´s homemade waffles and a superb grenola. Bob is great in giving advice on what to do around Golden (+ made calls for us to have it arranged; Wild Water Rafting on Kicking Horse River - awesome experience !) as well as where to go for Dinner (Eleven22 on 1122–10th Avenue South - great food) and on everything else we had questions on. The Hot Tub overlooking the valley right across to KHMR made our day, just as much as the garden where we sat out in the sun. As we accidentally forgot an item in our room Bob took care of having it sent to our Vancouver Hotel for us. If ever in the Golden B.C. make sure you take the opportunity to experience a wonderful B&B in an impressing house with great people. Thanks Bob and Heather!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke66-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host8183, Owner at Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Luke. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Heather and I really enjoyed reading your comments and having you and your family as our guests.

We also appreciate you mentioning Eleven Twenty Two which is a great restaurant and also the rafting experience on the Kicking Horse.

Hopefully you'll come back one day to ski Kicking Horse!! All the best...........Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family and I stayed at Bob and Heather's B&B. It is by far the best B&B I've experienced in my travels throughout western Canada. We had homemade muffins and bagels with an awesome breakfast abundant with fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, granola, oatmeal; everything you need to begin your day in the great outdoors of the Canadian Rockies. The property itself and the panoramic views from our bedroom balcony were spectacular. There's a hot tub on the deck as well. Add Le Beausoleil B&B to your itinerary and experience the connection of beauty and tranquility.

Room Tip: Just call the owner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host8183, Owner at Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello or Bonjour!!

Thank you for writing such a positive review. We enjoyed reading your comments were pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Le Beausoleil.

Hopefully you'll visit us again if you're ever back in this part of western Canada.

Thank you again and enjoy the rest of the summer..............Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband, brother and sister in law recently visited Golden and stayed at this B & B. We had the two rooms on the lower level. The house itself is lovely with nice gardens and beautiful views. The lower level rooms though are a little odd. We took the smaller of the two as the bathroom was truly ensuite (more on this below) but the room itself was quite small and somewhat cramped. The other bedroom was large, airy and very spacious but the bathroom was outside the bedroom, that is, it was definitely not ensuite - it could so easily have been blocked off from the rest of the lower level with a door - this was rather crucial as the rest of the lower level included the breakfast room and the lounge accessible by other guests staying upstairs.
Bedding was comfortable and good quality as were the towels - always a plus. However, breakfast was a kind of "make it yourself" affair. Perhaps our expectations are unreasonable in this regard but having stayed in b & b's literally all over the world, we have come to expect cooked or hot breakfasts as part of the b & b experience so this was quite disappointing.
Ample street parking and good strong WIFI available. Large very good tv in the lounge (though the bedrooms featured really old style tv's - not that we were going to be watching a lot of TV but with the cost of a tv these days, replacing the ones in the bedrooms would be a good idea).

Room Tip: Not sure about the rooms upstairs but when booking here, make sure you ask specifically for a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host8183, Owner at Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Its too bad you didn't enjoy your stay.

Next time you should read the reviews and do your due diligence as we provide what we advertise, nothing more and nothing less.

Most of our guest have thoroughly enjoyed their stays at Le Beausoleil, the rooms, the ambeience and our healthy and hearty breakfasts. This is evident by the great reviews we get from most of our guests. Its too bad you didn't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this B&B on our drive from Vancouver to Calgary. We got in a little late and Bob and Heather were up waiting for us. They gave us a tour, made sure we felt at home and knew where to find all the comforts we may need, and left us to explore on our own, which I appreciated. The house is huge and gorgeous - it is so well designed. The B&B was at full capacity during our visit, yet we never heard any of the other guests, and had a large (and lovely) room and private balcony, and our own bathroom. We spent the evening drinking wine in the hot tub on a hill overlooking the mountains and valley. Just stunning. Breakfast was huge and varied - truly something for everyone. Every little detail seemed to be considered and addressed. I can't say enough about this spot - we're already trying to figure out how to incorporate it into our next holiday west. Thanks Bob and Heather!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host8183, Owner at Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Jamie. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Heather and I enjoyed reading your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We try and make our guest feel comfortable and at home and it looks like we suceeded.

Hopefully we'll see you again one day.............cheers..........Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We just spent a night at Le Beausoleil B&B while attending a wedding at a lodge near Golden. This B&B is a 'find' even amongst the excellent B&B's in many Alberta/BC mountain communities. Overlooks the town and the mountains across the valley - excellent views. Quiet attractive neighbourhood where the sound of the trains for which Golden is famous are charming and faint from the balcony and non-existent from indoors - i.e. perfect. We stayed in one of the two upper level rooms (Dogtooth & Columbia) with private balconies. Mid level is the hosts living area (Heather & Bob - active outdoors-people and wonderful hosts). Lower level has two more attractive rooms which open up into a large common area and the backyard. Lower level would be great for families. Large varied self serve breakfast so you can be on your own schedule for breakfast. Lots of help with local activities - and there are lots of them. House is purpose-built as a B&B and done in 'mountain-style' with big exposed wooden beams and columns and vaulted ceilings and big mountain views. Really an exceptional B&B.

Room Tip: The Dogtooth room (where we stayed) and the Columbia room have awesome private balconies - To repeat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Host8183, Owner at Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Dave and thank you for writing such a favourable review.

Heather and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate the positive feedback.

We try to make our guests feel at home and we do take pride in our B&B. We also think its a special place.

Don't be a stranger as we hope to see you again................cheers............Bob'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.6 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
468 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.2 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast

Property: Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1403 Deer Ridge Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast is a modern craftsmen styled residence located in Golden, British Columbia. Le Beausoleil has four spacious and comfortable guest rooms; ONLY THREE ARE RENTED PER NIGHT unless prior arrangments are made, a guest lounge and library with a large screen TV, a guest dining area with refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher and a large hot tub to relax in. The Selkirk Room has a king bed, sitting area with a sofa, cable TV and a private ensuite washroom. The Purcell Room has two queen beds, sitting area with sofa, a gas fireplace, cable tv and a private washroom. The Columbia and Dogtooth rooms have queen beds, sitting areas, flat screen cable TVs, private balconies and private washrooms. Enjoy Le Beausoleil's complimentary healthy and hearty buffet breakfast each morning during your stay. Le Beausoleil is close to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, the Golden Golf Club and all the other local activities and attractions. It is literally in the heart of Canada's mountain national parks. Banff, Glacier, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho parks are just a short drive away.If you're planning to stay in any of these parks consider booking into Le Beausoleil. You'll enjoy a coming back to comfortable and luxurious surroundings at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing