We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4am Check in! Bang for your buck!”
Review of Selkirk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Selkirk Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
“4am Check in! Bang for your buck!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We arrived at the motel and rang the night bell and the onsite manager Andrew greeted us with a smile and crazy looking bed hair (as i can imagine i'd have at 4am) but he checked us in and we went to our room.
We were given room 18 which has been mentioned in a previous Review and found No Problem with it at all. Yes its dated and you can see wear on the hideabed, The curtins had been hung and I wouldnt have survived without the A/c. But for a motel of it age its clean and well worth your money! Plus the service who can ask for more?
I'm definately going to stay again who could say no when right next door they want 299+ taxes and we get a Bargin for 89+ taxes

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden-Park-Inn, General Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make everyones stay enjoyable, clean and inviting. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Golden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
21
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived into Golden at midnight and were greeted warmly by the manager. The room was great for the price and clean. We had The motel was very busy and there isn't much of a large play area for the kids but we extended our stay for the second night after a great day of hiking and riding the gondola. We love Golden and really enjoyed the motel. Thanks to the manager (sorry, forgot his name) for taking great care of us. We recommend this motel if you're looking for a motel in Golden. We will be back again.
Emily, Blake and family

Room Tip: There is a large room with a connecting room for larger families. We didn't know that - I guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden-Park-Inn, General Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always wonderful to hear from our guests that they had an enjoyable stay. I trust the rest of your trip went well and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next adventure here in Golden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We booked this motel based on the look of the website and price as my wife and I were only intending to stop over on a road trip. When we arrived we were given the key to room 18 which you had to drive down a little alleyway beside the BBQ restaurant and past the garbage bins etc (no big deal).

The building itself didn't look too inviting as it was in an outbuilding with just a row of doors (see the picture posted by someone else) but we hoped that the inside would be a little better. When we opened the door we were greeted by 3 or 4 flies buzzing around inside. The curtain rod had fallen out of the wall and bowed in the centre making it almost impossible to pull the curtains shut. The couch cushions had significant stains and rips on them and looked like they belonged in a ghetto student house rather than a motel.

Our highlights included the duct tape holding the smoke detector together, duct tape around the plumbing in the bathroom, the towels that were all ratty and shredded around the edges, and the shoddy grout job on the tiling in the bathroom which had been smeared over the paint. We suspect that the thermostat was from the early 60's although luckily we didn't need heat as it was the middle of summer. The room did have a sweet 'window rattler' AC unit although judging from the insects already present in the room we opted to forgo turning it on as we didn't wish to have any more join us. The bed itself was somewhat firm and the sheets had a nice yellow stain on them to top it all off. To their credit it does look like they've done some renovations in the bathroom although, as mentioned above, the work is a little substandard. On the plus side, should you wish to look in the ceiling cavity you can, as a nice piece of plywood covers the access point from the bathroom (didn't check out other rooms so you might not get this feature if you're not in room 18!). The website states 50+ newly renovated rooms, but clearly they have not quite got to #18 yet.

Oddly enough, the reception has a sign that says "if you enjoyed your stay please review on trip advisor" so here we are.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I have lived in this little gem of a budget hotel for about eight months while working in Golden. Andrew and staff have always made me feel at home and are always ready to help out anyway they can.Even though they are located on the Trans Canada Highway, the building is perpendicular so no rooms face the highway. The hotel is quite,clean, and has a huge hot-tub,and a washer and dryer for laundry. The west facing suites have a beautiful year round view of Kicking Hoarse Mountain ski resort as well as the entire range. There are many restaurants and services within easy walking distance. The hotel has a convenient drop box so you can leave your room key and drive away. The GreyHound Bus station is just across the street.lots of flower pots too.This really is a charming place to stay and the price is right too.

Joe

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden-Park-Inn, General Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Joe I am Extremely pleased you enjoyed all the amenities we offer during your stay with us. Thank you for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Golden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We arrived into golden around 2am as our car had broken down and got dropped off at the the park inn. We usually stay at a smaller motel as we like the outdoor acess so we can park right outside our room. We rang the door bell for after hours and out come the desk person he said itd been a busy night. He was very helpful in the morning when it come to helping us find out where our car had been taken to and too a local mechanic. We ended up needing to stay a 2nd night. Our stay was made very enjoyable we ended up going for a walk dt and enjoying the little town. The room was basic but it had everything we needed. It's spring so everything was a lil dusty in town but it looked like the manager and housekeepers were right into the season very comfotable and clean room. I'd reccomend it too anyone!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view Either on the back side or 2nd floor well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Extremely H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden-Park-Inn, General Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
I am so glad we were able to make your unexpected layover a pleasant one. It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments to our team. I hope on your next trip, you will be able to include us in your itinerary from the start.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamloops
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was looking for a pet friendly room, it was late and got a room in. It was so dirty that i went back to my car and grabbed the sleeping bag the dog was laying on and laid on top of the bed. The whole room was filthy. When leaving the clerk at the front asked how it was, i told him it was the filthiest room i have ever stayed in. All he had to say is "oh really?" no apology, nothing! DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Do not stay here thats my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrispie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden-Park-Inn, General Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Please accept my apologies that your room did not meet your expectations. The Park Inn has only recently been taken over by NEW MANAGEMENT and has under gone extreme deep cleaning of all of our rooms and it is unfortunate that you had a bad experience with your previous stay here with us. We are committed to our guest’s comfort and are pleased to offer clean and affordable accomadations in golden.
I hope at some point in the furture you may come back and see what changes have happened here at the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed at this motel 2 years ago when it was run by a couple named Pam and Tom.They went out of the way to make our stay great.They were always available to answer any questions we had and we needed our sled fixed and they called someone who was able to fix it right away.
We went back to this motel this past week and were very disappointed.Pam and Tom wer no longer there.The manager that is there now wasn't at the desk when we wanted to check in.We had to wait around for him wondering where he was.Then we got to our room and it was dirty.The towels did not look clean.The tub didn't look like anyone had cleaned it after the last people left.We called the front desk to complain but the manager didn't answer so we went to the front desk and he was among the missing again.He finally showed up again and we told him we wanted to check out.We will never stay at this motel again.They made a bad decision getting rid of Pam and Tom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasmineMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
189 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selkirk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selkirk Inn

Property: Selkirk Inn
Address: 1105 North TransCanada Highway | Frontage Road, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada (Formerly Park Inn - Golden)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Selkirk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Selkirk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing