We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but don't expect a lot”
Review of Days Inn Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Golden
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok but don't expect a lot”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed there a Friday and Saturday night....(2 adults and 2 kids) .....room was ok but smelled. Pool and hot tub was fine but very noisy with the echo. It is separate from the motel and has a small slide. Had appys and pizza there at the restaurant on a Friday night out on the patio. It has a nice view and has a backyard feel to it. The place ....I believe...is under new management so they should ditch the picnic tables and get more real seating out there. The food was decent enough BUT the drinks were so expensive it was ridiculous. Come on...are you bringing the kegs up on mules? The whole place had a ex-dive feel to it so maybe they are improving the motel. I won't stay there again just because of the feel and the pricing ( the stay is not cheap either).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    164
    107
    37
    38
See reviews for
186
130
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, BC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Nice clean large room, comfy beds; stayed in the part not facing the highway which was surprisingly quite considering the location halfway up the hill out of Golden. It was a little out of the way to go back into Golden for a few groceries, but a good stop overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardF_PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable, and relaxing. It is always nice to hear from our guests. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are please to have the opportunity to do that for you during your holiday. Thank you again for your positive feedback about your stay and we will look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

As we travel with younger children, we often break up our summer drives to BC and Golden is usually where we stay on the way to the Okanagan. Truly, there is not a large selection of places to stay in Golden, and we've stayed at some real dives there. Keeping in mind that I am reviewing this for what it is: a motel and not a fancy resort, I think it's fair to say that as a motel, it is solid and delivers well on expectations of a motel. The rooms were spacious and generally updated to a more modern scheme, but the thing that impressed me the most in the rooms was that everything was very, very clean. That always makes it easier to unwind and not be worried about what you might find in the space.

We ate dinner and breakfast at the on-site restaurant, which offers a beautiful view of the mountains, especially if you eat outside on the patio. Dinner was quite good, breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. We also visited the ppol, which again, for a motel, was nice enough, including a hot tub and waterslide. However, the shower area and washrooms there were dingy and not cleaned to the same level as the rooms. We just avoided that area in general.

This will definitely be our motel of choice when passing through Golden in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello 3Mice
Thank you for your kind words and great feedback.
Guest comfort is out utmost priority and therefore we take care more cleanliness and hospitality.
I am glad you liked the dining and the pool section. However The restaurant is a separate unit and Days Inn Doesn't operate it. Other than that we will work on your suggestion for our pool washrooms and shower area.
We request you to stop by again sometime and feel the changes that we recently introduced.
Take care

Days Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

First the good bits: Check-in staff were friendly and efficient, room was clean and fairly recently re-decorated and the view from the patio was fantastic. BUT- we arrived tired after a long journey and wanted nothing more than an early night. First, the pool, which was adjacent to our room and was supposed to close at 10 p.m., was still open up to 11, occupied by families with very noisy children. Next, the occupants of the room below us (4 male & 3 female) started to party. The noise got steadily worse until, about 1.30 a.m., I complained to the front desk. This stopped the noise from the room, but the party just moved out into the car park right under our window. Finally my wife reminded them that other people were trying to sleep, at which they moved to the other side of the car park and we were able to get some sleep at about 2.15 a.m. Add the noise from the air conditioning in the other rooms (we switched ours off) which made the hotel, or at least the part we were in, sound like a factory.
All in all, one of the worst nights I have ever spent in a hotel. Days Inn ought to realise that just taking over an old, traditional motel and tarting it up is not enough. It's still an old motel, with all that means in terms of poor noise insulation and layout.

Room Tip: Make sure you are well away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hi Hector03
Hope you are doing great. I understand being next to the pool can be noisy and disturbing after a long drive. We recently renovated our rooms and tried to make them more soundproofs , so that guests don't face an issue with it.
Secondly I apologise on behalf of other guest too. Once in blue moon we face this kind of issue, as most of our guest in house are families and sober enough. We, team at Days Inn apologise on there behalf. Golden city is a great place to be for relaxing, so do plan your visit again , and ill assure you wont have any complaints this time.
Take care

Days Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Red Deer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

After arriving at the Days Inn we had to go through 3 rooms before we found one without any critters in it. The walls had huge holes in them, and the grout in the bathroom/sink area was black and had holes through the wall. Very dirty/old room overall. I think we were in the 'old part' of the hotel as my husband had stayed in the 400 wing earlier in the month and didn't have any issues.
I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the '400's'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizsnell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello Lizsnelle5
Hope you are doing great. We apologise for you had to go through, during your stay.
We were under renovation and therefore you faced the issues with wholes and cleanliness. As you said our wing with 400 is a new building.
Now after completion all the rooms are same and at their best. Do visit us again and see the changes.
Take care

Days Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Where to start...
Broke down Harley on a late Saturday afternoon and was forced to stay until Tuesday. The staff here are beyond description! Very biker friendly, accommodating, personable, loyal, trustworthy and the list goes on. Very clean and tidy, great location and awesome scenery. Make sure to say hi to Curt the owner of the on site restaurant/pub. Unbelievably good food and service!!! The staff at this pub are second to none!! If you're stopping in Golden, this is the ONLY place you should stay.

A happy biker.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello Jeremy_HD
Thank you for your kind words and I will definitely pass on your feedback to Curt as well, as he will be more than happy to read it.
We are glad you enjoyed your unplanned stay and had a great time.
Do plan to visit us again.

Days Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Nice sized room, Had 2 queen beds. very clean. Good value for your dollar. I found the sink outside the bathroom a bit odd and inconvenient. I liked the pool/spa but they were a bit dated and could use a fix up. The sauna was really great. Bathrooms in the pool area were really gross, which is a shame because I enjoyed the rest of it. It's about 5-7 mins by car outside of golden so that was nice.

Good over all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hi LB
Thank you for your feedback.
Our pool and hot tub are recently renovated and we are also trying to introduce few more changes to that section.
I apologise dfor the washroom and will take care of it in future. Otherwise as u said we are outside Golden , so its a quite place with spectacular of rockies. I hope you had a comfortable stay in our clean spacious rooms.
Hope to see you soon.

Days Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 19 in Golden
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Golden

Property: Days Inn Golden
Address: 1416 Golden View Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unforgettable, spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains from your spacious hotel room. Days Inn Golden is the ideal destination for travelers, families and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Experience the best patio in town as you sit for dinner at our on-site Restaurant, 'The Golden Grill & Pizza'. Transform your stay into an ultimate Rocky Mountain experience, we offer magnificent packages on golf, skiing, rafting, and sledding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing