We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic room but good pool breakfast”
Review of Days Inn Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Golden
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked this hotel for $170 as a place to sleep and have breakfast on our way to Alberta. The pool was my main reason for choosing this place, as we had 3 kids in tow. The room with 2 queen beds and a cot was very basic, but clean. We didn't have enough towels (luckily had our beach towels with us) or enough coffee, (but free coffee in the dining room) there was one tiny wastebasket, the pillows were ridiculously puffy and pretty much unusable, and the cable tv had no channels remotely suitable for little kids, which would have ben nice last thing at night after several hours driving. It was quiet, cool, dark and made for an okay sleep. We requested a room with no fragrances due to allergies, and even called the day before to confirm this, but still had to air out the room significantly. The little ones both cried in the night from sore throats it was definitely not a chemical/fragrance free room. The blankets were synthetic like sleeping bag material but the mattresses were soft.The pool was fun but cold, and the views were great. parking was easy and breakfast was much more than expected, with many hot options and a gorgeous dining room. I feel we paid too much for this room, but have no real complaints it was clean and the service was pretty good. Easy to find and great highway location. Staff was always great when booking on the phone and when checking in/out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

My family of four was traveling through from the West Coast and planned on staying in Golden for the night so we could ride our mountain bikes at Kicking Horse the next day. We booked the rooms through Hotels.com and requested a room with 2 queen beds. We arrived late that night and were treated extremely well but the desk clerk and the manager who helped us quickly get a lower ground level room with an outside entrance so we could put our expensive bikes in the room. The room is a simple, large no bells or whistles Days Inn but we knew that staying here and was clean and updated as one would expect. The room wasn't overly priced and is a great bargain considering you get a very nice complimentary breakfast in a nice dining room with a great view of the mountains in the morning sun which is a deal for a family of 4. The hotel is just past Golden on the east side of the main town site so is not really in walking distance for a lot of things.You can stay here if you want a good sleep in a clean and predictable hotel chain at a decent price.

Room Tip: Pick a lower floor room with the outside ground access if you want a secure place to store your bike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review about your stay with us. We appreciate you choosing us to accommodate you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Ant in bed , spider in bathroom, holes in ceiling, big cracks in bathroom tile, tub does not drain.
No door on closet. Bad smell. Dirty and old for $140.00
This room is worth about $60.00
The only positive is that the sheets were clean

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to personally apologize for the inconvenience you experienced . We are sincerely apologetic that you did not receive the high quality of cleanliness that we are known to provide to our guests. We are doing major renovation starting fall this year in various areas.
Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently stayed for one night in a Suite. Our room had 2 double beds with 1 bedroom with a king (Rm 512). The king size room needs a A/C but has a ceiling fan. The other suites our friends stayed in had 2 bedrooms with a pull out couch in a sitting area so be specific in what you prefer. I believe the price was about the same as well as other rooms but book ahead! Recommend you BRING YOUR OWN PILLOW!!! The pillows are huge and hindered every person of our parties(15) sleep, not suitable at all for kids. It needs a bit of work around the grounds at the pool area but the pool and slide the kids loved!!! The lady at the front desk was very accommodating in letting us use the pool and change rooms while waiting for our rooms to be cleaned because we were early. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sabo5Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We found the hotel to be a very nice place to stay. We have a large family and had two rooms. Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff were very nice. The Breakfast was also very good. The views were beautiful. We would happy stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Parker_clan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent review!
I will be sure to share your comments with our staff members and breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I decided to celebrate Canada Day in Golden and we stayed at the Days Inn Golden. We absolutely enjoyed our 2 day stay here. We had booked the honeymoon suite with the jacuzzi tub and kitchenette included. Everything was very clean and the staff were extra friendly and welcoming. The room had lots of extra pillows and towels. The hotel also has a pool, hot tub, sauna room and waterslide. There were a lot of other couples with us who were in Golden for the weekend. It is conveniently located near the river rafting office and tourism british columbia office and also is very close to the highway. They also have a restuarant/bar attached to the hotel. The food was delicious and there were so many people there at night to watch the fireworks and light show they had organized. Breakfast was included with the stay and there was a wide variety of choices. Overall, we had an awesome stay and would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed there last year during the long weekend. The price was higher than average. The room was dirty, I couldn't even remove my shoes there. The washroom too - didn't look too good. There were some kind of insects behind the curtain - good thing it wasn't by the bed. I also didn't enjoy the fact that smokers could smoke right by you on a balcony. More of a motel type-style.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy S, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Golden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.
We apologize that your stay was not up to the standards. We have improved our cleanliness very much from last year and have plans to further upgrade various areas of the hotel. We truly hope you will give us another chance in the future. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 18 in Golden
366 reviews
4.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.2 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 18 in Golden
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Golden

Address: 1416 Golden View Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £70 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unforgettable, spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains from your spacious hotel room. Days Inn Golden is the ideal destination for travelers, families and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Experience the best patio in town as you sit for dinner at our on-site Restaurant, 'The Golden Grill & Pizza'. Transform your stay into an ultimate Rocky Mountain experience, we offer magnificent packages on golf, skiing, rafting, and sledding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing