We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, recently updated room reasonably priced .”
Review of Days Inn Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Golden
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight enroute to Kamloops with our 5 yr and 9 month old sons.

For $125/night it was a great deal: the rooms were clean , had plenty of space for two rompising munchkins, and came with all amenities (fridge, microwave).

The pool and waterslide was a big hit with our bigger dude. It is an indoor pool that is in a separate building not connected to the hotel but steps away - so bring a hoodie as the night did get cool.

We also enjoyed the continental breakfast included with our stay - the selection had everything you'd expect . The dining room never seemed crowded despite having many ppl coming in and food was promptly restocked as it ran out . (At other locations we have found either no room to sit or no food at morning breakfasts so this was a pleasant surprise).

They are also dog friendly and although our pooch did not come with us on this trip, we will definitely be back on our next pass through Golden.

Probably the best value for a motel in Golden that we have found over the last year :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchkinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is way below the normal standard of other Days Inn I have stayed at. To start of the website shows checkin is at 2, we are told no it's not until 3. I ask if any rooms are ready early and was told yes but I can not check in anyone until 3. Not a big deal until when we did go back at 3 and mentioned it to another staff member we were told we could have checked you in but there was an emergency and the other front desk person had to go to the hospital, seemed like a lie to cover their butts. When we did check in he room was horrible, very dirty and run down. The smoke detector was hanging off the wall and I pressed the test button nothing happened, a little bit scary. The room was supposed to include a microwave and fridge but we didn't see one so I called he front desk and was told there is a kitchenette but I need to come get a key. Not sure why that wasn't given to me when I checked in. When I unlocked the door, I knew why, the fridge and stove both looked like they were from the 60's. Part of the inside door fell off when I opened it and the pegs the shelves would sit on were all broken. The worst part of this hotel was the pool, the water was dirty and you will never guess how you have to use the waterslide, they have a garden hose to put water down it. At this point I had seen enough and went to try to get a refund so we could go elsewhere. The front desk lady who checked me in was very rude when I shared my complaints and said since we already used the room she would have to charge me 50%. I said we checked in less than an hour ago and asked to talk to the manager. After sharing my concerns about the hotel and how it was below normal Days Inn standards he finally agreed to give me a full refund. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, it is very run down and definately not worth $160 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a decent option for the price. It's not the newest in town, but the rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good with several options including cereals, waffles, toast and juices. The eggs were not great, but overall it was a nice stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Frequent Travel... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

DON'T stay here !!!! We booked with the hotel and we were assured we'd be in the new part,( which we found out later meant the reno'd area)due to granddaughters allergies to smoke. We arrived local time 9:45 pm to check in. Got the key headed to the room,noticed the concrete balcony didn't look in great shape but couldn't see how truly bad it was because it was getting dark. We opened the room door and were met with a blast of heat and a really funky smell. went in opened the door to the kitchen which was locked and was greeted by a worse blast of heat. Noticed there was air in the room but not turned on. Left the room went to the front desk to complain about the smell and heat of the room. We were told yes they know it's because they were having a heat wave ??? I said ok but the air wasn't even on, she replied yes we're having a heat wave so we don't run the air during the day ??? I felt like asking if they turn off the heat during a cold snap,but let it go. The hotel was full and so were the other hotels in the area so we had to stay. The women at the front desk was getting confrontational so I just took the key and left. Went in to the restaurant to get something to eat,ordered our food and before we even got it we started to get bitten by mosquitoes lots of them!!! Told the waitress and she assured us it was normal at night because the doors are open and there are lots of mosquitoes there. So we got the food to go back up to eat our not so great food in our hot room !! That's when we saw the dirty floor in the kitchen and the not so clean bathroom GROSS ! When we left in the am we got to see the concrete balcony leading to the street level. Wow the re bar is showing through the concrete and there is a hole going thorough, it's also badly chipping away from the railing area. I posted photo's. The lady on the front desk did give us 40.00 dollars off the price,but nothing could make up for this night at hotel hell. Can't believe Day's Inn would put there name on something like this.

Room Tip: choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stopped at Days inn while I was taking a trip through the Rockies and I did appreciate my stay there. I found the room spacious and clean. In addition, the facilities offered by the inn were well liked by me and my friends: we made use of the heated pool and the restaurant indoors was great as well. I fully recommend others to stop by! Friendly staff and nice rooms for a proper price.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mfzmoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a wedding to go to and booked the Days Inn for a couple of days.
Front desk staff were friendly at all times
Room was adequate, but nothing too special. Air conditioner was not the best and noisy.
Ice machine on our side of the building was not working so had to go to the other side - not convenient.
Room keys did not work multiple times so had to get the front desk to reset them.
Note to anyone with mobility issues - there are elevators at the property.
They had what looked like underage kids helping to clean the rooms which I found odd. One of the female cleaning staff was barefoot (her feet were very dirty) - havign kids help and the barefoot thing is not professional or proper.

Overall it was an ok stay, but would probably go further into town and upgrade a little.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YEG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel has been getting a refresh, and I can imagine that the owners can only spend so much per year, so a 4/5 is for the effort and work they are putting in. Normally in this condition, I'd give a 3/5, but the service was great, the view stunning, and you could tell that the people cared. The pool was a blast for the kids. In all, value was high for the price.

Room Tip: Ask to view the valley. Sunset and sunrise are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank speciba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 17 in Golden
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
4.3 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#5 of 17 in Golden
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 17 in Golden
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Golden

Address: 1416 Golden View Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £69 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unforgettable, spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains from your spacious hotel room. Days Inn Golden is the ideal destination for travelers, families and outdoor adventure enthusiasts. Experience the best patio in town as you sit for dinner at our on-site Restaurant, 'The Golden Grill & Pizza'. Transform your stay into an ultimate Rocky Mountain experience, we offer magnificent packages on golf, skiing, rafting, and sledding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing