We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!”
Review of The Wolf's Den

The Wolf's Den
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Wolf's Den is a full service restaurant specializing in homemade food that is prepared fresh and from scratch every day! •Delicious... specializing in Prime Steaks and a wide array of gourmet homemade burgers the Wolf's Den is sure to have something delicious for everyone to sink their teeth into. •Satisfying... with our steaks cut to individually ordered size, our massive 8 oz. patties and large portion sizes there is no doubt that you will leave happy and satisfied with your dinner. •Beautiful... our large and historic log building is situated near the banks of the Kicking Horse River and offers stunning 180 degree mountain vistas that will leave you breathless and awe inspired while you sit back and enjoy your experience. A large selection of cold beer on ice, a magnificent and varied wine selection, crisp and clean beer on tap and a large selection of specialized cocktails, martinis and blended beverages will be sure to get the good times started and keep them rolling! Featuring Golden's largest HD big screen playing all sports... all the time on our super clear 60" HD TV!
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Menu has selection of regular beef and chicken and for those who want try something different I.e. elk, buffalo etc they have it. They also have a great selection of beer on tap. Live entertainment was playing outside. Don't forget to check inside as this is an old unique building.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laure S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    143
    27
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a burger joint.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had the special of the day which was marinated chicken breast with fresh veggies. Nice portion. The service was friendly. The place itself was rather dark and they had fans going with the doors open. This made the room a bit cold. After mentioning it, they closed one door which made things a little better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slow service and overlooked meat”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I guess when the bartender is also your waiter, I should have known how the meal was going to turn out. Took us 25 minutes to order, 25 minutes for food, only to discover my wife's steak was over cooked. We are not complainers, so she ate it without sending it back. Just a warning not to go on a Sunday early evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Robdswab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curt T, Owner at The Wolf's Den, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I truly apologize for your experience. It is certainly not overlooked as we really care about our guests! Sometimes you can get caught unprepared for unusually extremely busy nights and I do believe that is what happened in this case. The wolfs den is so popular that once in a while we can get so busy all at once that our normal attention to detail and great service suffers as we try to take care of everyone at once as best we can. This is not an excuse however, just an explanation of the challenges our industry faces at times. I encourage you to voice your concerns in person at any time in my establishments and any future restaurants as well as I can assure you that any conscientious owner would be more than happy to respond as soon as possible rather than suffer from poor reviews such as these that certainly do not reflect the general experience of our valued guests. Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that you give us an opportunity again to show what we have become known for from a service and food quality standpoint.

With kind regards,
Curt Thorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Great beer and Very good service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Wolf's Den was our favourite place to eat in Golden.

Big carpark to the side of the pub, so plenty of parking.

Great atmosphere in the pub, although we sat outside as it was such a lovely evening.
The outside area is very nice, with comfy chairs and plenty of space.

The pub is famed for it's burgers and I have to say the burgers are certainly up there with the best I have ever had!
Plenty of choices of beers and delivered from helpful and friendly staff.

I would highly recommended anyone staying in Golden to go to The Wolf's Den and if we go back to Golden we'll be there for sure.

Great Place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott-KTM950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Whether it's one of the local brews, or one of the very generously sized burgers, the Wolf's Den is worth the visit. Originally called The Mad Trapper, the rustic themed restaurant has a diverse enough menu to keep most every one happy.

Helpful?
Thank macraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wolf's Den also viewed

 

Been to The Wolf's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing