We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Perfect for What We Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Was Perfect for What We Needed”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel was centrally located but not right on the main road and was within walking distance for a number of restaurants. The hotel was fine for what we were looking for (2 nights accommodation for day trips into Banff and surrounding area). The staff were great. The breakfast (that was included in the price) was good as breakfasts go although the hours for breakfast could've been extended as the breakfast room was packed with people trying to get in before the 9am cutoff). Our daughter totally loved the indoor water slides (well, as soon as I was able to find the On button for the water to come down the slide - it works better that way :-)

Room Tip: North side rooms may be a litle quieter as they are farther away from the train yard below the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    62
    62
    32
    17
See reviews for
93
50
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We're not extremely picky travelers, but given that this place gets the same amount of stars as a Comfort Inn or a Holiday Inn Express, I had certain expectations. First, it is not a hotel at all, but a roadside motel. The rooms are only accessible from the parking lot, the hotel lobby is detached from everything else, you have to go outside for the breakfast room, outside elsewhere for the guest laundry, and outside again elsewhere for the pool. The room is cramped - there isn't a place where you can work at a desk and only one chair in a double room - impossible to sit and enjoy a coffee. The carpet is really dirty, the beds just ok, though we were told they were less than a month old. I can't recommend to avoid it as the choice in Golden is really limited and in the summer they are chock-a-block full. On the positive side, there is a small fridge & microwave oven. In short, this place is a dump.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

1. Great location. Just off the highway. And there is awesome place to walk the dog, go for a stroll or have a fire/bbq.
2. Rooms are very clean and have new tvs and matresses!!!
3. Staff is super helpful and will accommodate anything you need.
4. Very quiet. Although near the highway i didnt hear anything, and I am a light sleeper.
5. Sledding is one of our winter passions and travellodge caters to sledders as well as skiers!!
6. The breakfast room was a wonderful atmosphere and the food was awesome. I love waffles!!!
Def going back again when we drive through.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lammingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were part of a car club of 22 cars on this trip. The competitor we first checked into was a pit with surly management.

I called this property and was served by Dawn. What professional! She took full ownership of the situation even though she doesn't work there. She offered a great rate for the room she had available for a three night stay. The room was nicely appointed and the a/c was even on upon entry, so we didn't have to cool it down first.

Although Dawn is all you need (she does need a day off), ownership is on site. I've stayed at many hotels professionally including much pricier ones in major cities. This hotel ranks with the best of them.

Room Tip: Room was quiet. See Dawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmanLodge_11, General Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your GREAT review. Your review reitterated what many of our guests tell us. Our staff are very friendly and accomodating. They take pride in their work and are very proud to give guests great value. We were very glad to host you for multiple nights, and even more so to give even better rates to our guests who stay multiple nights. Thank you for your time and we sincerely appreciate having you stay with us and welcome you and your group anytime in the future.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruderheim, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family, friends, and I stayed here on our way to the coast, we stayed in a room with a kitchen that joined two suites. Upon arrival the kitchen floor was soaked (they came to clean it up quickly and said it was the defrost on the freezer). Then they leave only for me to call them right back to empty the garbage that was full. I told the lady that came whoever cleaned this room did not touch the kitchen, she then replied that was me and I did not do the Kitchen because it was locked! when someone pays close to $200 for a room it should be cleaned properly before they get there. There was also broken lamp bases in the rooms. When we checked out the front desk could not have cared a bit about our horrible stay!!!!!!!!! Krystyn from alberta

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmanLodge_11, General Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. Sounds like you stayed in one of our family suites. They are one of our most popular suites as they are bar none the best value in Golden for large families or groups. We have a fix it now policy, if something is wrong we do our outmost to make it right, right away! Unfortunetely there isn't much our desk staff can do to make your stay more enjoyable at checkout. If a guest ever has an issue our staff will do everything they can to make our guests stay a great experience. We take great pride in our facility and product. We sincerely believe it is best value around. I sincerely hope to see you again in the future.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 1 night on our way to the Coast. It was clean and quiet, we were on the main floor and didn't hear people beside us or above us. The staff was nice to us and it was a good place to stay for a night. My only complaint is the price but I have come to the conclusion that all motel/hotels in British Columbia are over priced. I can't comment on the breakfast because we left early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossy_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmanLodge_11, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thanks for you GREAT review! We take great pride in providing a great product at competitive prices. We are always priced 20-60$ cheaper than similar properties and are 1 of only 2 properties that provide a real continental breakfast. Can't wait to have you back again and hopefully a chance to enjoy our great breakfast that compromises of toast, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, WAFFLES, juice, tea and coffee. We are always adding items to our breakfast and making it more efficient and enjoyable. Thanks again for your great review.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just as my review title says, clean, quiet, and comfortable. Pleasant staff, very accommodating of our pet, and conveniently located. I was pleasantly surprised given the reviews on the site. This place deserves a good review.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SportsmanLodge_11, General Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thanks so much for your AWESOME review. We really believe your review sums up our property. We really believe our front of house staff are exceptionally friendly, accommodating, professional and our back of house staff take great pride in their work in providing clean and comfortable rooms. We sincerely look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.
Thanks again,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 19 in Golden
346 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge

Property: Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Address: 1200 12th St N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Sportsman Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Golden boasts pool with waterslide, hot tub and sauna. One of only 2 accommodations in Golden with a great FREE continental breakfast. One of Golden's most popular accommodations centrally located within walking distance from a dozen restaurants, service stations and a 15 minute drive to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. Great package deals all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing