We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family hotel with the most kindly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Golden
1 review
“Very nice family hotel with the most kindly staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked for just one night (2 adults, 2 kids) and got a very nice and clean room w/ two double beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffe maker (and enough space for all our luggage!)
Also the hotel has an awesome indoorpool with waterslide and a hot tube, so the kids and the adults had fun. AND - the hotel has the friendliest and most helpful staff at all, we've ever met! Thanks a lot! We enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend the 'Sportsman Travelodge' Golden!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dierk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    60
    61
    28
    17
See reviews for
89
50
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were a family of 5 adults so knew we would need at least two rooms but it was nice that this hotel had family suites - which were really two double queen rooms with a kitchen connecting the two rooms. I imagine they would keep the kitchen locked from both rooms to form two normal rooms when the suite is not needed.

The condition of the hotel from the outside looks nice. But when we found out that our family suite is in the back of the property, it was more rundown. The rooms had walls that were peeling. The rooms looked old as was the kitchen. We ended up only using the fridge.

It was good enough to sleep but that's about it. Wouldn't stay there long-term despite the kitchen being available. Didn't have breakfast so I cannot comment on it though it looked busy.

Lastly, fun thing for the kids, there were lots of groundhogs/prairie dogs on the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The family suite w/full kitchen that we used was really stinky, and pretty run-down, and the air con pretty noisy. We arrived on a Friday evening, and staff claimed no maintenance crew was available until Monday to address these issues, nor would they offer us any kind of discount. Would not rush back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannabeTravelMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The room was big and clean and we liked our sleep quality.

The breakfast short time slot and small room size made for morning pandemonium.

But if you don't book the room for the breakfast then is a decent place to stay while driving through Golden.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
365 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good location, clean and comfortable room, bad breakfast, great pool, hot tub and water slide area! Room cleaning was marginal, staff was only somewhat helpful and got worked up when we needed an extra half hour to check out...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful but the room was dirty with sticky, old gum on the carpet in more than one place.
The pool was supposed to be open at 8 am and at 8:30 we had to get the staff to open the pool area and take off the cover.
The breakfast was poor at best. They said there would be eggs and there wasn't. Just cereal and waffles and fruit.
In their defence they did refund us $16 because they said their was things in the breakfast that weren't. We would not stay again for $170 (with taxes). We were reminded to always look at the room first before deciding.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfamilyonourway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stay here with work a few times a year and my last experience was less than acceptable. The beds, tv's, bathroom, air conditioning/heating are acceptable and the owners seem nice but I found the front desk lady exceptionally rude. She repeated the nights I was staying and when I replied 'sure' she pointedly countered with 'the answer is either yes or no' then asked if I had had a long drive, which I in fact did. I was too stunned to reply. Customers, especially those who repeatedly stay several nights shouldn't have to deal with this nonsense when all I wanted was some pleasantries and to be able to check into my room. I also found an empty granola bar wrapper on my window sill...so that gives you an idea of the level of cleaning. The breakfasts are never really any good and always very busy. The waffle iron was broken on the second night I stayed there (likely from overuse) and several unhappy looking couples and families due to this.

I have worked for many years in the customer service industry so I was disappointed in my experience. Time to switch to one of the newer hotels or cute motels?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallan_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
342 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge

Property: Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Address: 1200 12th St N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Sportsman Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Golden boasts pool with waterslide, hot tub and sauna. One of only 2 accommodations in Golden with a great FREE continental breakfast. One of Golden's most popular accommodations centrally located within walking distance from a dozen restaurants, service stations and a 15 minute drive to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. Great package deals all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing