We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, should be 40.00 a night Not 80.00”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, should be 40.00 a night Not 80.00”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Bathroom door wouldn't close,
Wifi didn't work well, definitely not hi speed!!!
TV was static picture, blurry, when asked to get another room TV in other room worse!
Beds fine, parking fine but, Garbage TV and no Wifi is a joke.
Bathroom door not closing shows a lack of care and cheaping out!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremyquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    19
    17
    32
See reviews for
25
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Clean and Modern rooms, breakfast is grab and go, parking is excellent and you can park outside your room, location was center of golden B.C with stores and liquor stores across the road and was cheap to stay.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are more cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This motel has improved since the last time i stayed, the rooms are more modern and fresh and the bathroom was sparkling. The girl at the desk was extremley friendly and would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is the second time that I stayed at this motel. The only reason why I returned this time was because I was unable to find anything reasonably priced at the high season of August.

This hotel used to be a Travel Lodge and was recently converted to an Econo Lodge. Parts of the rooms were renovated (ie: new carpets, repaint etc). The property is conveniently located in town and is around 5 minutes off the main highway entrance.

The breakfast is no thrills but is quick. There are no seating areas in the breakfast room so be prepared to either eat in the parking lot or return to your room.

Although, I reserved with my credit card information over the website, the motel employee almost gave my room away when I showed up to the hotel at midnight.

Factoring in lower prices during high season, half-renovated rooms, and the mishandle of my reservation (where I almost lost my room), I would not recommend returning to this facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammiBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.6 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
3.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 915 10th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Golden Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Golden Hotel Golden
Golden Travelodge
Golden Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing