We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Place”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Regina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK Place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The price is the main advantage to staying here, The staff person at the front desk was not friendly.
The room was OK, with the exception of the toilet. The toilet seat and toilet rim were very dirty. They do serve a continental breakfast, but it is in a small room with no seating available. There was a lot of noise on the parking lot during the night.
Econo Lodge did send a request to us for a review of the hotel, and I filled it out, but i Have received no acknowledgement from them.
Would not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    19
    17
    32
See reviews for
25
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the AMA rate. Good room. Clean. No frills. Decent linens and towels. Noisy A/C but at least it had one. Easy walking access to downtown and the lovely pathways. Close to the grocery store and there is a Greek restaurant right next door open for dinner. We'd stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank xyz693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly front desk staff, tidy room, but unfortunately this hotel has not had a lot of money spent in upkeep. The beds are horrible, so saggy in the middle that you can't help but roll into the person next to you. Stained and dirty box springs that are visible - overall a grimy feel to the room - did not pass the white dock test.
Not a place for a family to stay, would recommend for a very short sleeping room only.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank edmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Front desk was nice and helpful. They called to check on us since we arrived late. Rooms were small but clean and beds comfortable. The bathroom was very small but it was new and clean! The only complaint was the air conditioner was noisy and not very powerful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmargit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Everything was great during our one night stay. Room was clean and well maintained and the check in staff was very friendly and professional. Would definitely stay here again. AND the price was right!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiderFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sachse, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The rooms are clean. However, the Internet connection didn't work. The ice machine was out of service. We got the rooms with microwave machines so we could warm food. The hotel is not close to the main road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangkokSachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It is an Econolodge so as long as you don't expect the Ritz, you'll be happy. Room is average size, very clean, great location, service is friendly. Most of the hotels in Golden are on Highway 1 way up the hill from downtown. This Econolodge is within walking distance of the downtown restuarants.There is a Greek restaurant next door. Breakfast comes with the room and is served in a small room to the left of the office. Pretty basic but since the room was $30 less than our hotel the night before, it was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
450 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.6 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 915 10th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Golden Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Golden Hotel Golden
Golden Travel Lodge
Golden Travelodge
Travel Lodge Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing