We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Home!”

The Range Sports Grill
Ranked #26 of 59 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Calgary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Down Home!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Service: excellent, food: excellent. It was dead when we went there so we pretty well had our food served with ten minutes of us ordering it. Rustic decor and a friendly staff, unlike the hotel we stayed at. Prices are reasonable as well and I definitely recommend the hot wings!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surprise!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I saw an ad stating that the Range was voted Golden's best burger, so we gave it a try for dinner. We were very pleasantly surprised! The menu is varied, and there are a couple of different price ranges. I had a burger which came with bacon and cheese at no extra charge. I paid extra for yam fries as a side, but overall it was a great price. My date had the bison burger with regular fries. Both were delicious, and arrived quickly and hot. Both burgers were big and came with a large serving of fries. Dipping sauce for the yam fries would have been a nice addition. The service was great: attentive but not annoying. The restaurant was very quiet for a Saturday night, I would have liked to see more customers but I guess they are still getting their name out there. Overall a great dinner, we will be back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Went for lunch”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a nice place. The food is a little pricey and the cooking time is slow but the staff was great and the food was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karatemikew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best big breakfast in Golden.”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Well this one is for the boys. If like me, you like a big breakfast before you go sledding for the day then you have to try The Range. The pancakes are as big as a bike wheel and breakfasts can fill anyone, even me and that's saying something. The service is awesome and the staff are so helpful and friendly.
So before you set off for Gorman or Quartz go via The Range first.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
702 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great Stopover In Golden”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

On a trip to Kelowna and wanted somewhere for a late "breakfast". Pulled in here as it looked fairly new and neat from the outside and wasn't the usual fast food chain place. Very glad we did. It is a very nice place. Obviously not too old and decorated in a really nice style. It has a large panoramic window at the very front so you can watch the traffic go by if you wish. We choose a booth in the main room. When we asked if breakfast was still available on being handed the lunch menu's, we were told normally it was finished but the waitress said she would speak to the kitchen. She came back promptly and said no problem and handed us the breakfast menu's. We both had the classic breakfast. Excellent choice. It was very good. The waitress was also very good. If you are passing through, heartily recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Range Sports Grill also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Range Sports Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing