We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lodging in the Rockies!”
Review of Copper Horse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copper Horse Lodge
Ranked #22 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We recently visited Kicking Horse Mountain Resort and could not be happier about our decision to stay at the Copper Horse Lodge. The staff go above and beyond to attend to every detail and make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have never felt so at home or welcomed and were so impressed with the outstanding accommodations and service. The on-site restaurant is wonderful and caters to special dietary requests. We had an amazing weekend and will most certainly go back! Thanks again!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

I've been coming to Golden and Kicking Horse since 2004 and I can tell you after staying at multiple other properties, the Copper Horse is the best/ only place to stay. It's the perfect place to get your day started with a fantastic breakfast and after a long day of skiing, the best place to relax and eat great food (corks). The rooms, the hot tub, the staff, are all amazing and will go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be.

I'll see you there,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The rooms could use an update a bit in terms of updated amenities such as new trash cans, televisions, etc. The rooms are beautiful but the outdated amenities make the rooms seem dated.

We love this place, though! The folks who manage the lodge and the restaurant are amazing, friendly and engaged. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Copper Horse and couldn't have found a better place to stay. Cozy and intimate spot steps from the mountain. The staff are very friendly and helpful, from check in to service in their fantastic restaurant (Corks), it feels as if you are amongst friends visiting in their beautiful chalet. The rooms are great and comfortable, the lobby offers comfort by a fire, and the restaurant downstairs offers great local beers, good wines and great food (loved my steak dinner). There is hot tub area out back which is a great place to kick back after a day on the mountain with your friends or visit with a few of the other guests. I would highly recommend Kicking Horse for a great ski destination and stay at the Copper Horse Lodge, you'll be happy you chose this place.
Tom G.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Copper Horse Lodge. The accomodations and food were excellent. The proprietors, Troy and Corrina, went out of their way to make us feel at home. I would have no hesitation recommending Copper Horse to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Copper Horse lodge is the perfect little getaway. The staff are the most gracious of hosts. Corks is an amzing restaraunt which bosts a deep cellar and perfect pairings on the menu. I loved my stay, loved the food, and loved the people. A+++

Great job

Room Tip: You cant go wrong at the copper horse lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at Copper Horse Lodge from jan 27 until feb 3 - in the large deluxe jacuzzi suite and had a really nice week. The room was clean, huge, the bed comfy and we had all the space we needed to relax after a long day out skiing. Looks much better and bigger live than in the pictures on the website. The jacuzzi was great and the bathroom was equipped with spa products and lots of clean towels. The room was also equipped with a refrigerator, kettle and a coffee press pot and bags of good strong coffee. (really nice when we woke up at 5 in the morning from jet-lag) The lodge also have a ski- and drying room for boots and an outdoor jacucci.
Downstairs is the restaurant Cork's - with really nice food. Not a michelin star restaurant - but you dont need a M.star to make great food. We ate at most of the places in KHR but preferred Cork's.
The staff was really nice, friendly, serviceminded and made our stay worth the long journey all the way from Norway. Thank you Corrina, Troy, Brooke & Chad:-) ..have to warn you - we'll be back - hopefully next year:-) R&AK

Room Tip: Room 9 the large deluxe jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.0 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 17 in Golden
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
2.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Vagabond Lodge
Vagabond Lodge
#8 of 43 in Golden
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.0 mi away
Rondo Motel
Rondo Motel
#11 of 17 in Golden
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Horse Lodge

Address: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range: £106 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Horse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copper Horse Lodge, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort's only boutique hotel, offers an exceptional lodge experience including modern, spaciously appointed rooms and a delectable home-made breakfast for all guests. Located just steps away from the resort's gondola, the lodge is the ideal location for both winter and summer sports enthusiasts. Each of the 10 suites feature spa-like bathrooms, deluxe European-style featherbeds, plush down duvets and room essentials such as robes and hairdryers to make you feel at home. The lodge's deluxe suite is a perfect romantic retreat with a private Jacuzzi tub and over-sized living space. The main level of the lodge includes a guest lounge with wood burning fireplace, secure ski/boot room with boot warmers, access to private hot tub and ski memorabilia collected by lodge owner/operator, Olympic athlete and World Cup champion Felix Belczyk. Copper Horse Lodge also features an unparalleled mountain dining experience at the newly revamped Corks Restaurant. The carefully chosen, classically inspired menu is as refreshing and memorable as our stunning mountain backdrop. Copper Horse Lodge and Corks Restaurant is the perfect combination for intimate events including weddings, family gatherings and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing