We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice to stay in Golden, off-highway”
Review of Copper Horse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copper Horse Lodge
Ranked #21 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Usually when I chose to stay overnight in Golden/BC, I stayed in one of the close-to-highway motels or downtown. This time, I took the Copper Horse Lodge, and I figured out it's highly recommendable! They may be booked ans sold out in the winter Ski season, but for the summer season it's a little secret. You pay about the same as you would in one of the highway hotels, but get far more comfort, a bigger room, very freindly service and an outstanding freshly cooked breakfast. Don't mind if their restaurant is closed - just next door there's a saloon with great food and beer for a resonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skystone-vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a great weekend here with my wife. Reasonable rates, clean room and very pleasant accommodating staff. The hot tub was clean and the breakfast is surprisingly very good. Eggs Benedict? Thanks Chef!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryBWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

very good hotel ! rooms are very comfortables and quiet...
the couple and their baby Blacks are very gentle
the resort is nice very much different from italia's resort!
here all is based on fresh snow and freeride..very good snow...
the restaurant , the corks, is very good

grazie di tutti siete stati troppo gentili...complimenti !

claudia e alberto

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatina4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a 3 night stay at the Copper Horse lodge. I'm surprised that anyone would have a less than perfect experience here as staying here is like staying at a friends place. With only 10 rooms it is a quiet place to relax after an excellent day on the hill. Location is excellent as the saloon is next door and corks is right down stairs. The managers are super friendly and accommodating, and you just can't beat a hot, made to order breakfast each morning. We had the hot tub to ourselves, and the beds were soooo comfy. Thanks for a great stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We've been to most places in and around Golden in the never ending quest for powder.
Booked a last minute stay with Copper Horse and was blown away with the staff, lodging, location and the food - all unbeatable. Price was great as it was low season and the owners now have us hooked.
Both of us have a gluten allergy and Chad and Brooke went out of there way to buy and cook gluten free breakfasts for us. Very helpful and appreciated!
Hot tub is big and clean, bar is about 15 seconds away (took about 45 secs to stumble back), and the lodge is modern, very clean and spacious. Definitely recommended for couples wanting to stay on the hill.

Thanks again to Chad and Brooke - excellent managers!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BigReddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had stayed at the Copper Horse for 2 nights on Easter weekend, what a great place!! We got our room upgraded upon arrival, which was a nice surprise. This lodge has everything, there are minimal rooms so not too many people around. There is an outdoor hot tub, boot room to dry out all your gear for the next day, movies and books in the hallway which you can just take back to your room to enjoy & plastic cups to take out to the hot tub. The breakfast (which was included) each morning was amazing. There was coffee, cereal, fruit, pastries, bread, etc. and you can choose from 2 hot dishes (waffles, french toast, pancakes, eggs benny etc.) Wow! It was delicious! Once your done your day of boarding, there was always some fresh cookies or pastries in the lobby, what a great treat! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MD306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had a great stay at the Copper Horse Lodge at the end of January 2013. We arrived and were greeted promptly and given a nice tour of the lodge. They had a lovely hot tub, the boot and ski room was GREAT (it was fantastic to have dry boots every morning), and the room was lovely! We opted for a king suite which was HUGE. And the bed was one of the most comfortable I had ever slept in. I usually don't sleep well away from home as I usually find it gets too hot or too noisy. Not the case here. We rarely heard any noise and the room was just great. Breakfast was way more than I had been expecting. We came down and were seated and given two choices for breakfast and informed on a buffet that was included as well with fruit, yogurt, homemade banana bread, pastries, juice, and cereal. In the evening they always had a wood fire burning in the big stone fireplace.

Best Stay in a lodge in a long long time! we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmiddz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
3 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#5 of 17 in Golden
116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.1 mi away
Vagabond Lodge
Vagabond Lodge
#8 of 43 in Golden
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.7 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 17 in Golden
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Horse Lodge

Address: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range: £104 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Horse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copper Horse Lodge, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort's only boutique hotel, offers an exceptional lodge experience including modern, spaciously appointed rooms and a delectable home-made breakfast for all guests. Located just steps away from the resort's gondola, the lodge is the ideal location for both winter and summer sports enthusiasts. Each of the 10 suites feature spa-like bathrooms, deluxe European-style featherbeds, plush down duvets and room essentials such as robes and hairdryers to make you feel at home. The lodge's deluxe suite is a perfect romantic retreat with a private Jacuzzi tub and over-sized living space. The main level of the lodge includes a guest lounge with wood burning fireplace, secure ski/boot room with boot warmers, access to private hot tub and ski memorabilia collected by lodge owner/operator, Olympic athlete and World Cup champion Felix Belczyk. Copper Horse Lodge also features an unparalleled mountain dining experience at the newly revamped Corks Restaurant. The carefully chosen, classically inspired menu is as refreshing and memorable as our stunning mountain backdrop. Copper Horse Lodge and Corks Restaurant is the perfect combination for intimate events including weddings, family gatherings and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing