We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW! Get off the Trans_Canda Highway and stay at this hidden Gem!”
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Lodge
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WOW! Get off the Trans_Canda Highway and stay at this hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had guests from Mexico visiting us and decided to take them to the Rockies for a few days. After staying in Jasper, we took the Parkway down to Lake Louise and then headed to Golden where we stayed for a couple of nights at the Vagabond Lodge at Kicking Horse Ski Resort.

What a super spot to relax or to enjoy the many activities in the area!

The Lodge itself is very large, although it has only 10 bedrooms. The main foyer and lounging areas are decadent with large comfortable sofas, a fireplace, an eating area, and a large L-shaped bar made out of a giant tree that was split in half lacquered and placed atop large stumps to form a stand-up bar. Included in the price was a huge breakfast prepared by Lori and Ken (the owners) that consisted of pancakes, eggs, freshly made scones, home-made breads, home-made yogurt, fruits, tea, coffee, and all the trimmings. And the beds!! OMG! Luxurious down-filled feather ticks (is that how you spell that?) that made you never want to leave. The rooms are very large, immaculate and have large ensuites that even have heated floors (just in case you actually get out of bed)!

We spent our day and a half at the Vagabond doing a little hiking, taking the gondola to the top of the mountain for lunch at a great restaurant on the summit, and visiting the Grizzly Bear Refuge where we were fortunate enough to get within 15 feet of ‘Boo.’ In the evenings we relaxed in the outdoor hot tub, and enjoyed a nightcap(or two) in front of the fireplace.

So what else can you do while you stay at the ‘Vag?’? Try extreme mountain biking from the top of the mountain (you take your bike (or a rental) to the top of the mountaine on the Gondola and ride down)…..Or try some of the best White Water Rafting in the Rockies…. Or how about ATV’ing…………or Zip-lining………..or horse-back riding…………or some golfing at one of the nicest public courses in Western Canada…….or just plain old relaxing on the huge wrap-around deck at the Vagabond and enjoying the incredible view!

We were totally blown away by the variety of activities here; and surprised by how few people even know about this place. It truly is as hidden gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav_Uno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed two nights at the Vagabond Lodge and wished we could have stayed longer. It's not because Golden really has more to offer than other resort towns (in fact, the town of Golden itself doesn't offer much at all) but the lodge is one of the best B & B's you could hope to find.

Ken and Lori are incredibly friendly and helpful hosts, and they made us feel instantly at home. We had a nice room--nothing fancy--but very comfortable. There's a large sitting area on the main (second) floor and it would be a perfect place to gather in front of the fireplace after a day's skiing. We were there in July and didn't need the fire, but the furniture is comfortable and the paintings on the wall (most are for sale) are splendid. The lodge does not have a liquor license, which didn't bother us, but they will keep your booze at the bar for you if you like.

The breakfasts are amazing. Lori makes incredibly tasty scones from a family recipe. You'll want to ask for it. You can pay through the nose at a big resort hotel for a breakfast that isn't half as good.

We came to Golden to play the golf course, which is nice and has its own challenges (and mosquitoes), but it is not the equal of Banff Springs or Greywolf or any of the better-known courses in the area. If you're adventurous, you might want to try tandem paragliding from the top of a nearby mountain. We're in our late 50s and survived it quite nicely with a video to prove it. The instructor will go with you (that's the "tandem" part), so it's not as if you're jumping out of a plane on your own. And it is expensive, but for a once-in-a-lifetime thrill (lasting 15 minutes or so), it's worth doing. Otherwise, Golden, or to be more precise, the Kicking Horse Resort (where Vagabond is located) is basically for skiiers and mountain bikers. If you could magically transport the Vagabond Lodge to Banff and put it down next to the Banff Springs Hotel, you would take this place every time. It's just much better value with nicer people running it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, WV
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-July. Lori and Ken certainly have a lovely lodge and know what they are doing. I just have to agree with all the other top rated reviews.
Beautiful area, views, great brekkie, lovely rooms, and common area, close to other restaurants if you are tired from a day's site seeing and don't want to go back into town. Be sure and ask about the bridge you cross to get here, interesting story.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illinilass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Sent my family here for a weekend stay. What a beautiful lodge! Amazing common area and very cool rooms. Ken and Lori were also very very helpful when needed. They told us all about the area and helped plan our stay.

Would definitely recommend this lodge for anyone staying in the Kicking Horse area and wanting to do Outdoor stuff. A true "Canadian" experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badpanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The Vagabond Lodge is a warm, inviting lodge. Ken and Lori are more than willing to pass on any tips about visiting the area, from trails to restaurants to swimming holes. The breakfasts are filled with homemade goodness; the baked goods are made from scratch.

You are just steps from the Kicking Horse Resort's Golden Eagle lift, whisking you up thousands of feet of skiing and/or mountain biking and/or sightseeing. There are so many lakes, waterfalls, mountain vistas and wildlife to enjoy in the area for the nature lover.

Our son was made to feel welcome, and talks about the Lodge as if it's his second home. It's truly a relaxing spot for the adventure traveler or people just looking to get away from the hustle and bustle for a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank istvan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Nice rooms, super breakfast and lunch with cheerful sentiment . Quiet rooms with excellent beds and clean bathrooms. A hot tub, a self service bar and the very, very pretty service from the owners Lori and Ken makes the perfect stay unforgettable. The ski area is very recommendable too. I am sure that we'll come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank in-style-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Had a great three night stay at Vagabond Lodge in early March. The lodge is luxurious and you are being truly welcomed into Ken and Lori's home. The room was spacious, with a lovely big sleigh bed and window seat to admire the beautiful scenery.

Its easy to relax after a days skiing and both Ken and Lori are passionate about their mountain and helping guests enjoy it to the full. The bountiful breakfast is a great way to start the day, and there are enough dining options for the evenings - one night the entire lodge occupants joined Ken and Lori for a meal out - its that sort of place

Look forward to a return visit

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz402011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Property: Vagabond Lodge
Address: 1581 Cache Close | Box 177, Golden, British Columbia VOA 1HO, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vagabond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagabond Lodge is a 10 Room Boutique Lodge Located across the road from Gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort Golden BC. All rooms are located on the upper level of this 3 story building. There is no elevator just so you are aware. The beautifully decorated rooms all have great views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. All bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower/tub enclosures and all bathrooms have heated floors. Vagabond Lodge does not have air conditioning but for the few days in the mountains where it may be considered hot by some standards, the windows all open to the fresh mountain air. Vagabond Lodge does not have televisions in the rooms but if you need a fix, there is a tv area on the lower level along with a pool table, and board games. A hearty and healthy breakfast is complimentary(nothing fried) and during ski season lunch is also included in the cost of staying at this very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing