We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to be in Golden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Lodge
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place to be in Golden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I had no idea about the quality and location of the lodge, i just took a chance. I called to check availability before the weekend and I got lucky. It turned out that I have used all my luck for a while. When i found the lodge, I couldn't believe my eyes when I got there in the evening. I was met by the host and I got a very friendly welcome, almost like coming home. The impression of a fantastic lodge continued inside. I really liked the atmosphere in the house and felt comfortable at once.
Many details were well thought through and the practicalities regarding drying equipment were great. The bar/restaurant Winston close by had very good food and a joyful c&w blues band.
In the morning I was met by the hosts and they made some hot dishes and they also had everything you need for a great breakfast. The sun came in through the windows during breakfast and made the morning even better.
The host had very good knowledge about the area and had interesting stories about several subjects. I am travelling alone to ski resorts in the rockies, and it's nice to stay at a lodge where you feel at home and you feel that the hosts have an interest in people who stay in their house.
The distance to the ski resort made it very comfortable to get to and from the lodge.
When I return to Kicking horse, I am definitely going to stay at Vagabond! Looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is one of the best places to stay for ski enthusiast or hikers in Kicking Horse. Only 100 m from the ski lifts. 10 big comfortable rooms, very nice western style lounge and eating area, plenty of storage for skis and boots. Owners bake excellent bread and serve tasty and healthy breakfast, lunch and snacks for happy hour. They really do best in providing all guests with comfort, good advice for the area and endless humor and comradely. Sauna and hot tab are there to soften after the adventures. Guests can bring their own alcohol drinks (can save you a lot). Mixing with other skiers at the lunch and the end of the day was fun experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We loved this place.

The beds were so soft and comfortable.

The owner was very friendly and went out of his way to make our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was perfect and the lunch so much better than the over-priced ski field cafe food. It was a short stroll to the lifts and only 100 meteres from a good resturant and 200 metres from a lively bar.

It was a nice change to stay in a smallish B and B lodge after soulless hotels.

It would be a good place to completely book out for a weekend (think only 10 rooms) for a special get togther with friends.

It really felt like a home away from home on the doorstep of one of the best skifields in North America.

If I get back to Kicking Horse I would definately stay there again!
.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

How do you improve upon perfection? You open the Vagabond Lodge in Golden, BC, and be yourselves, of course.

We have thought long and hard about how to write this review of our September 2012 visit, having stayed in many places in North America, Europe and Asia, including many B&B’s, at many price levels. We have met many fine people along the way. So how could we describe for you the Vagabond accurately?

Imagine the home you always wanted to build – about 6,000 square feet, wood and glass, 20-foot ceilings, clad in light, clean mountain wood construction, wood and tile flooring, a great room large enough for touch football looking over some of the best mountains in the world, handmade wood tables for 30, large, plush bedrooms, and a professional kitchen that produces amazing chewy, crusty breads and grandma’s secret, unreproducible scones. Every surface is spotless. Every richly-stuffed couch, chair and bed so comfortable you don’t want to move.

Imagine yourself as a superb host and inkeeper, full of creative, excellent ideas for your guests’ explorations, meals and entertainments, a genuine interest in hospitality, and a wealth of stories of Canada (and her sports, from the former TV expert) and Europe (a climbing lodge called “Vagabond”, of course, and a deft touch for interaction with guests.

Unfortunately for four of us, we only got to visit for four days. Ken and Lori have, by our count, the perfect destination, at the foot of Golden’s advanced (and a bit of intermediate), high altitude ski development. We were there in summer, so the walk-to-it gondola and mountaintop restaurant were closed to the public (apparently open to weddings), and the next-door pub was serving only liquids., or drive down the hill, past the local moose, and into town for an excellent meal at the Island restaurant.

The Vagabond is not merely a wonderful place to stay, with wonderful hosts. It is a destination. So, if you are reading this from Europe or Eastern North America, and you are planning a trip to the Canadian Rockies, aim for the Vagabond Lodge in Golden, BC. Allocate more days than you would have otherwise, and THEN plan on hiking some of the other extraordinary venues of BC and western Alberta.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was our first stay at the Vagabond Lodge and can not say enough about this wonderful experiance. The Lodge has an "at home" feel about it, Ken and Lori are gratious hosts who truly want their guests to to have a great experiance. From the breakfasts, sharing of local knowledge, amazingly comfortable beds, and welcoming common areas, it all ranks up there with the best we have experianced. As Arni Says " We'll be back"

Room Tip: The Ladge has 10 guest rooms. Each seems to have it's own unique quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussandJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
715 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

we stay here when we visit family during the summer. lori and ken make our stay so personable. we enjoy sitting in the evenings in the large sitting room downstairs. ken will often light the fire for us. the breakfast is delicious, always home made muffins, pancakes, jam. our room is big and comfortable and i like to sit on the window seat and read in the sun. we look forward to our stay here every year. sometimes we can catch a couple of the restaurants that are open on the off season on the mountain. being out of town and up on the hill may make it out of the way for some people, however it surely beats anything in town! i am very happy with this b&b lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed with Lori and Ken for a week and very much enjoyed their first rate hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble and they were consistently friendly and helpful throughout our visit. Through Ken and Lori we felt we actually really got to know the area in a way not normally possible with just a week's stay. The accommodation was also terrific: bedroom spacious with a lovely view and good sized bathroom. Breakfast (pancakes, fresh fruit, scones, oatmeal, home-made bread and eggs) was substantial and Lori also prepared lunch for us each day (hearty soups and salads, pasta etc). It was great to be able to come in for lunch, take our boots off and relax a bit before heading back out on the mountain. After skiing they would often also provide a snack. Ken took the time to show me around the mountain, which I appreciated very much. The skiing is great with many ungroomed runs, no waits on the lifts, absolutely no crowds (we were there mid-December 2011) and the quality of the snow was superb. Your skiing really comes along. There are a limited number of places to have dinner in the resort itself, but the food is good and service is first rate. It was not a problem for a week. We did not go to Golden to eat, but apparently there are plenty of restaurants there. We had a fabulous week and I would (and will) go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Property: Vagabond Lodge
Address: 1581 Cache Close | Box 177, Golden, British Columbia VOA 1HO, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vagabond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagabond Lodge is a 10 Room Boutique Lodge Located across the road from Gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort Golden BC. All rooms are located on the upper level of this 3 story building. There is no elevator just so you are aware. The beautifully decorated rooms all have great views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. All bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower/tub enclosures and all bathrooms have heated floors. Vagabond Lodge does not have air conditioning but for the few days in the mountains where it may be considered hot by some standards, the windows all open to the fresh mountain air. Vagabond Lodge does not have televisions in the rooms but if you need a fix, there is a tv area on the lower level along with a pool table, and board games. A hearty and healthy breakfast is complimentary(nothing fried) and during ski season lunch is also included in the cost of staying at this very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing