We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Lodge and Hosts!”
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
“Fabulous Lodge and Hosts!”
Reviewed 4 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Vagabond Lodge for two nights in early July of 2009 and we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Ken and Lori are extremely gracious and friendly hosts, and are very helpful with suggestions for activies and dining in the area. The lodge itself is fantastic - a bright and airy, open concept style log house with wonderful views of the valley and mountains. The decor and furniture are perfectly suited to a relaxing, mountain retreat with plenty of comfortable chairs and couches for reading, having a drink, or getting to know other guests. Our room was comfortable and serene. There are no TVs in the guest rooms, but there is a common TV on the ground floor of the lodge. Breakfast was included with the room rate and included a variety of delicious options including fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, toast, scones, cinnamon buns, and homemade pancakes. Yum! It was slightly pricy for a bed & breakfast style accomodation, however, it is worth the price for such a comfortable and relaxing facility. Overall, we had a fabulous stay at the Vagbond and would highly recommend it to any travellers wishing to stay in the Golden / Kicking Horse area. Thank you to Ken and Lori for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We were very disappointed with this accommodation, having read many positive reviews on TripAdvisor felt let down by the Vagabond. Of all the places we stayed in Canada on this trip, this place represented by far the worst value for money. We stayed for two nights in May, everything in Kicking Horse was closed - gondolas, restaurants, shops, the lot - and the owners had not had the courtesy to warn us.

We arrived after a long day's drive. Then to reach Kicking Horse, you have to go an extra 15km up the mountain from Golden. And was only then that we were informed that to get a meal we would have to drive back to Golden, and that all the shops in Kicking Horse were closed, so we could not buy ourselves anything in the village. As we were not wanting a further 30km round trip up down and back up the mountain, we went hungry. Another couple staying were equally concerned that they were not told that the gondola would not be working out of season.

At over $200 a night we were surprised that our room was not made up after our first night - we were later told that they only do the room "every other day" - seemed odd at the price they were charging, as even b&bs in Canada where we paid one third of the price did the rooms ever day. So no marks there then.

Like the making up the rooms every other day, breakfast too was penny pinching. Everything appeared to be penny pinching, even the lights were not fully on at night, and I felt I could not use the sitting area, as it was in darkness. The place may be OK in the ski season, but my advice is to avoid this place, it is overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2009

vagabond lodge is a beautiful wooden property, a short walk from the kicking horse gondola, with its own parking area
our room was very comfortable, with lovely views from a large window.
breakfast and lunch are included, and both are excellent.
the middle floor is a large, delightful living area, with comfy chairs, an open fireand plenty of space. the basement has a TV, pool table and outside hot tub, together with an excellent ski and boot room
Ken, the owner, is very hospitable, without being too intrusive
He can tell you anything you need to know about the area or the skiing
our party of 6 was made very welcome, and could not think of a better place to stay for a skiing holiday
The lodge cannot provide alcohol, but you can keep your own in a fridge- beer and wine easily available opposite the gondola
we will definitely come again if we can

  • Liked — general ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SwanseaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Superb position for either skiing or simply relaxing. Superb hosts - Ken and Lori are the most helpful people to be found and do their utmost to ensure an enjoyable stay. Quiet, comfortable and within easy reach of pretty much everything. Take a break and spoil yourself.

  • Liked — The friendly and welcoming attitude.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We spent five nights at the Vagabond in order to escape the summer heat of the Southeast US. What an excellent choice.

Ken and Lori are extraordinary hosts. They really want their guests to feel at home -- not only at the Lodge, but also in their Province. They are very knowledgeable about the hiking trails and gave us good suggestions on where to eat, etc.

We met several interesting and engaging people while at the Vagabond. There is a large area on the main floor for socializing, reading, or just relaxing.

Breakfasts were excellent and the rooms were very nice. We would go back in a heartbeat -- not only to hike more of the trails in Yoho and Banff, but also to enjoy the hospitality again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelBobAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

The daily breakfast was delicious and hearty with a variety of different foods. The beds were wonderful and the rooms were extremely clean. The owners were spectacular hosts and shared local information with us every day. They were as excited about our hiking choices as we were.
The lodge isn't near Banff or Jasper, which is what we wanted. But some people might find that inconvienent. We enjoyed the "away from it all aspect" but keep in mind that road closures due to construction and accidents can happen.

  • Liked — Great bed and breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cheapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of days, what a wonderful lodge!! We can confirm that all the comments posted before are right on the money. Ken and Lori are wonderful hosts, the lodge is very well appointed, extremely comfortable, and the food is excellent. We will definitely be back!!

  • Liked — Great hosts, nice accommodations, clean, internet access, its just wonderful!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WVantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.1 mi away
Copper Horse Lodge
Copper Horse Lodge
#20 of 43 in Golden
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Property: Vagabond Lodge
Address: 1581 Cache Close | Box 177, Golden, British Columbia VOA 1HO, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vagabond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagabond Lodge is a 10 Room Boutique Lodge Located across the road from Gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort Golden BC. All rooms are located on the upper level of this 3 story building. There is no elevator just so you are aware. The beautifully decorated rooms all have great views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. All bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower/tub enclosures and all bathrooms have heated floors. Vagabond Lodge does not have air conditioning but for the few days in the mountains where it may be considered hot by some standards, the windows all open to the fresh mountain air. Vagabond Lodge does not have televisions in the rooms but if you need a fix, there is a tv area on the lower level along with a pool table, and board games. A hearty and healthy breakfast is complimentary with nothing fried. There is absolutely no cooking facilities of any sort(not even a microwave) for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing