We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
106
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main gondola window seat breakfasts and lunches indoor sauna a couple of minutes walk wonderful hosts read books wonderful home away from home homemade bread other guests boot drying room hot tub log fire mountain biking second home amenities including common areas are
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Stayed for three nights and it wasn't long enough! Thank you Ken and Lori for sharing your beautiful home, your help and advice and making us feel so welcome. Comfortable beds, great breakfast, loved everything.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneS4874QU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenite07, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Anne. Thanks for your nice comments. It was great to have you stay with us. Hopefully one day you will come back. Ken and Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Vagabond Lodge is everything you would want from a trip to Canada - and a bit more besides. The lodge itself is very comfortable and convenient, but what makes it special is that Ken and Lori are such exceptional hosts. The food is excellent, with superb home-made breakfasts, very good lunches (one of them was an amazing Stroganoff) and some great free nibbles at the end of the ski day.

Nothing is too much trouble for Ken and Lori, and they are happy to tell you anything you need to know about the local area. If you want genuinely warm and friendly hosts rather than the plastic, "Have a nice day" variety, this is the place to come.

The Vagabond is three or four minutes walk from the gondola, and almost next to a restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayNagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenite07, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Jay. Thank you for your nice comments. It was a great having you stay with us. We take a lot of pride in our service. And making sure our guests have some great food means a lot to us. We hope to see you back again. Ken and Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Recently spent 3 days at Vagabond. This was our first visit to Kicking Horse and we were really excited to ski / snowboard this mountain. The reviews for Vagabond were exceptional so we decided to stay here. Ken and Lori's attention to detail and hospitality exceeded our expectations. The breakfast and lunch were perfect. It's a big mountain and we appreciated Ken's mountain knowledge and advice which made our trip memorable. Many thanks and we look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Drfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenite07, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

What nice things to say about your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you with us. Ken and Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

The accommodation is great, the food is great but what makes this place extraordinary are the owners Ken and Lori. They are warm, friendly, informative, generous and welcoming.
As a group of 4 we have over 200 weeks experience of ski hotels, lodges and B&Bs between us in different locations round the world. This is our unanimous top choice!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenite07, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Wow. Thank you so much for your nice words. It was so nice have you and your family back with us again. Thanks again. Ken and Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Best and friendliest hosts, most comfortable and relaxed environment, wonderful food, best location (a slow 5 min walk in ski boots from the gondola), most knowledgeable hosts, nicest companion guests. The resort itself needs wild capital and attitudinal improvements but Lori and Ken are the best marketing this resort has for a second visit. KH followed 4 days in Fernie, which was better snow/skiing/conditions but nowhere near as good guest accommodations.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenite07, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Michael. Thanks for your comments. Lori and I love what we do.
And it makes what we do very easy when we have nice people stay with us. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews