We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! Friendly, warm, hospitable, closest to being home when away from home.”
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2009

This was my fifth time to Vagabond Lodge.....and I will return time after time after time. The rooms was spacious and inviting....even with two adults and one teenager we were not on top of each other as you are in a hotel room. The breakfast is unbelievable. Scones warm from the oven, fresh fruit, and other continental foods available. There is a light lunch available as well if you wish to partake. Being the short distance from the Gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain there is hiking, biking and bear watching to enjoy during the summer and unbelievable skiing opportunities during the winter. While they do not have a liquor license, you can bring your own spirits in and have them stored in the community refrigerator. This provides the opportunity to enjoy the company of fellow patrons each evening. There are other amenities as well - a hot tub and a family room for enjoyment of all.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank tfmvgmjtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

Vagabond was great for us. Room was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was roomy and modern. Breakfast was super, many tasty selections prepared and presented nicely. Free internet station and free WiFi setup. No liquor license but bring your own and stash in the fridge. The inn is located adjacent to Kicking Horse Ski Mountain altho closed during our stay. Owners are super nice and very helpful with sight seeing suggestions. Golden village isn't particularly noteworthy but proximity to Yoho National Park is a real plus. Very scenic, many interesting hikes, lakes, rivers, waterfalls, wildlife, etc. Drive thru Yoho to Lake Louise (about one hour plus) is spectacular. Altho Vagabond is 6 miles out of town up the mountain, it's such a pretty and comfortable place that it's worth the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Having gone to Calgary towards the end of trip and deciding we did not like the city ! We went on a mini adventure, back up into the mountains, and stumbled across Vagabond Lodge. Laurie and Ken, are the most welcoming hosts, and having spent 30 years living in Edmonton and being keen skiers, they are fully up to date on all local knowledge and will check out various hikes and the must sees and do's in the area. Breakfast in the hotel is hearty, nothing fried, but the pancakes are to die for !
Rooms are large but dont have tea and coffee making facilities, however this is not a problem as there are facilities in the breakfast area, for you to use whenever. There is only one TV is the whole of the building, which is good, as there is too much to see and do out there. Make sure you book a stay here ( also there is a hot tub ) !!!!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I was looking for a "get away from it all" kind of weekend - and found it at the Vagabond Lodge (four nights from July 2nd to 6th). Great hosts in Ken and Lori, super comfy beds that would have kept me under the covers until 10, except breakfast ended at 9:30 :O)

The breakfasts were very healthy and quite delicious. There was a power outage in the area on the last night and Ken & Lori were nice enough to feed all the guests (as most establishments had shut down their kitchens).

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBigMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Vagabond Lodge for two nights in early July of 2009 and we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Ken and Lori are extremely gracious and friendly hosts, and are very helpful with suggestions for activies and dining in the area. The lodge itself is fantastic - a bright and airy, open concept style log house with wonderful views of the valley and mountains. The decor and furniture are perfectly suited to a relaxing, mountain retreat with plenty of comfortable chairs and couches for reading, having a drink, or getting to know other guests. Our room was comfortable and serene. There are no TVs in the guest rooms, but there is a common TV on the ground floor of the lodge. Breakfast was included with the room rate and included a variety of delicious options including fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, toast, scones, cinnamon buns, and homemade pancakes. Yum! It was slightly pricy for a bed & breakfast style accomodation, however, it is worth the price for such a comfortable and relaxing facility. Overall, we had a fabulous stay at the Vagbond and would highly recommend it to any travellers wishing to stay in the Golden / Kicking Horse area. Thank you to Ken and Lori for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We were very disappointed with this accommodation, having read many positive reviews on TripAdvisor felt let down by the Vagabond. Of all the places we stayed in Canada on this trip, this place represented by far the worst value for money. We stayed for two nights in May, everything in Kicking Horse was closed - gondolas, restaurants, shops, the lot - and the owners had not had the courtesy to warn us.

We arrived after a long day's drive. Then to reach Kicking Horse, you have to go an extra 15km up the mountain from Golden. And was only then that we were informed that to get a meal we would have to drive back to Golden, and that all the shops in Kicking Horse were closed, so we could not buy ourselves anything in the village. As we were not wanting a further 30km round trip up down and back up the mountain, we went hungry. Another couple staying were equally concerned that they were not told that the gondola would not be working out of season.

At over $200 a night we were surprised that our room was not made up after our first night - we were later told that they only do the room "every other day" - seemed odd at the price they were charging, as even b&bs in Canada where we paid one third of the price did the rooms ever day. So no marks there then.

Like the making up the rooms every other day, breakfast too was penny pinching. Everything appeared to be penny pinching, even the lights were not fully on at night, and I felt I could not use the sitting area, as it was in darkness. The place may be OK in the ski season, but my advice is to avoid this place, it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

vagabond lodge is a beautiful wooden property, a short walk from the kicking horse gondola, with its own parking area
our room was very comfortable, with lovely views from a large window.
breakfast and lunch are included, and both are excellent.
the middle floor is a large, delightful living area, with comfy chairs, an open fireand plenty of space. the basement has a TV, pool table and outside hot tub, together with an excellent ski and boot room
Ken, the owner, is very hospitable, without being too intrusive
He can tell you anything you need to know about the area or the skiing
our party of 6 was made very welcome, and could not think of a better place to stay for a skiing holiday
The lodge cannot provide alcohol, but you can keep your own in a fridge- beer and wine easily available opposite the gondola
we will definitely come again if we can

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SwanseaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 17 in Golden
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
5.9 mi away
Moberly Lodge
Moberly Lodge
#2 of 43 in Golden
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Address: 1581 Cache Close | Box 177, Golden, British Columbia VOA 1HO, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range: £180 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vagabond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagabond Lodge is a 10 Room Boutique Lodge Located across the road from Gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort Golden BC. All rooms are located on the upper level of this 3 story building. There is no elevator just so you are aware. The beautifully decorated rooms all have great views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. All bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower/tub enclosures and all bathrooms have heated floors. Vagabond Lodge does not have air conditioning but for the few days in the mountains where it may be considered hot by some standards, the windows all open to the fresh mountain air. Vagabond Lodge does not have televisions in the rooms but if you need a fix, there is a tv area on the lower level along with a pool table, and board games. A hearty and healthy breakfast is complimentary with nothing fried. There is absolutely no cooking facilities of any sort(not even a microwave) for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing