We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but bring earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Hostel, Kicking Horse River Lodge
Ranked #34 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good place but bring earplugs”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Like everywhere in Golden you are very close to CP and CN railroads, both are very active at night. Bring earplugs if you don't want to be waken up every hour.
There is a dorm and hotel section - we stayed a few times in the hotel one. I love design of the building and this is the main reason for staying there :-)
The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Kicking Horse river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed at the kicking horse river lodge prior to a skiing trip out of golden. I see now that trip advisor calls it a hostel but nowhere on their site do they call it a hostel. They do say there is the option of dorm room accommodations but I got the impression it wasn't a hostel - we paid $150 for the room. Three of us stayed in a loft room and we could literally hear every word the people in the next room were saying. If I was rating a hostel I'd have to say it was great. Rating a lodge with no reference to a hostel I have to give the thumbs down. On the bright side, the Bugaboo Cafe was excellent. Their breakfasts have to be the best in Golden. I'd probably eat breakfast there again even if I stayed somewhere else in Golden.

Room Tip: If they have the option of a quiet section or room Id highly recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

A few years ago, I stayed at the Kicking Horse River Lodge in the dorm section of the lodge, and found it to be a bit loud. Could have had something to do with the fact that I was there for new year's eve, but I thought I would prefer a quieter experience this time. The KHRL staff have always been super friendly so I didn't want to abandon them entirely. I decided to try their private accommodations instead. Ended up in the lofts--super cozy and absolutely no noise complaints here. Would way rather stay in these than in a chain hotel--better ambiance and feels more like home.

And don't miss the cafe located in the lobby--best breakfast in town!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The Kicking Horse River Lodge is a very impressive place to stay. The lodge is log cabin style with large, clean rooms and great local historical photos throughout. Our room was so clean it was fantastic! It was spacious, the bed was made of logs and had a down duvet and the room had very large windows. The Bugaboo Cafe served up the best breakfast we had in a very long time with the ingredients and baked goods all being local. The breakfast menu was very extensive.
The Lodge itself is also environmentally friendly using geothermal heating and cooling. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I've stayed at the hotel 2 years running and it's great. You can use the facilities downstairs i.e. laundry and kitchen. Rooms clean and tidy. It can be a bit noisy but that's because it's all wood. The breakfasts are brilliant and the location is good for exploring the surrounding area.

  • Liked — The building
  • Disliked — Rooms can be noisy
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

This former hostel is in transition to be more of a hotel. It is very clean and the building is beautiful - very convienient to Kicking Horse Mountain resort. There are a variety of room configurations and it's great if you have a group. And clearly it has onwers that care about the property.

However, it's not perfect - our room was > $200 so it's not as cheap as you may think:

The staff were really laid back and this is great. However:

1.) The three days I was there, the internet was down. The staff weren't allowed to touch the equipment and didn't seem to think this was a big deal.

2.) It took a good 25 mins to check in as there was one person who was answering the phone and dealing with check-in. The other guy on site didn't seem trained to do these tasks so was just hanging around.

3.) Walls are paper thin and there's NO soundproofing.

4.) The website is a little decieving - the views and area are beautiful, but the lodge also borders an industrial area and a trailor park (i.e., not so beautiful).

Having said that, I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially after they get the kinks worked out.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lonergan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, CT.
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Not only is the property clean and well managed, but it is an ideal place for " hard core " back country skiers and those who are there for the skiing experience. Excellent kitchen and laundry ....The other guests are half the fun of being there.

Skip

  • Liked — the other guests
  • Disliked — crowded kitchen
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank farharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.0 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.7 mi away
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ponderosa Motor Inn
#12 of 19 in Golden
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Copper Horse Lodge
Copper Horse Lodge
#20 of 43 in Golden
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hostel, Kicking Horse River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hostel, Kicking Horse River Lodge

Property: Golden Hostel, Kicking Horse River Lodge
Address: 801 9th St N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Hostel, Kicking Horse River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kicking Horse River Lodge is the proud winner of the 2007 Business Excellence Award for Tourism Hospitality in Golden and nominated one of the top 50 Mountain Eco-Lodges by National Geographic. Our spectacular B.C. Douglas Fir dove-tail log building fronts the raging Kicking Horse River and has a breath taking view of the Purcell mountains and Kicking Horse Mountain Resort (which was rated the #1 small resort by Ski Magazine and #1 for powder snow by Skiing Magazine). This amazing building is designed to accommodate travelers in the utmost comfort and style with beautiful log and timber furniture and all the amenities that you need to enjoy your stay. The lodge features a two-story den with quiet reading nooks, an entertainment area with a 50-inch large screen tv, card tables, lockers, self-serve laundry facilities. We have a well-equipped self-catered kitchen facility that offers everything you need to chef up your own gourmet meals. We also have a beach volleyball court horse shoes and bocce ball in the summer. The convenient location is just minutes from the amenities of downtown Golden and only minutes away from hiking, biking, whitewater rafting, kayaking, horseback riding, golfing and, of course, world-class skiing and snowboarding at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Golden Hostel, Kicking Horse River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing