We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winston Lodge & Spa
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed there for two nights with our friends. Enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were big nice and comfortable. The bed was a little too soft for my husband but otherwise very comfortable. The staff were excellent. The view from the lodge is to die for. The pub food was also not bad. Service was really good.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Winston Lodge for two nights in August, thanks to a Living Social Deal. The lodge was a bit out of the way from town, so our first night we had to eat at the attached pub. The room was large and inviting, with a very soft bed and great view of the mountains. I suggest going during the week, as it is quieter then. We found that our second night (Tuesday) was quite a bit louder, as all rooms surround a great room, and a family was having a get together. The staff were very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful, fresh eggs one day, and pancakes the next. We loved that the staff kept out fruit and snacks all day for the guests.

The only downside was the cost of food at the attached pub, while decent fare, it was very overpriced (but what's a gal to do after 10 hours of driving...).

All in all, great place to stay. I suggest keeping your eye out for deals!

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs if you get the chance, there is a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlchk9021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

With a few miles off the beaten track we weren't sure what to expect. When we reached the lodge it was perfect! The staff were very friendly, the room was beautiful and the views (when the clouds weren't in close) were stunning. Breakfast was a standard buffet of fruits, yogurts, muffins, toast and egg with hot and cold drinks.
I'd recommend the bar attached to the lodge. Again the staff were friendly, food was very tasty and children were allowed in there until 8, which was very handy!
If we were going to the Golden area again I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanneteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stumbled across the Winston Lodge online and couldn't be happier with the discovery!
At first it felt a little strange leaving our shoes at the entrance upon check-in, but once we got the tour and saw how comfortable and homey the lodge was, it later felt perfectly natural and I was even at ease heading down to the hot tub in a housecoat (which, by the way, are wonderfully soft and a lovely added touch). The lodge is kept immaculately clean, which adds to the comfort. The common area is a great place to hang out and read, play games, or have a glass of wine. They have a DVD library if you prefer to hang out in your room while enjoying the beautiful mountain views. I look forward to returning with friends, as it would be a great place to be with a close group of people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CgyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Winston for one night in August 2013 and had a great stay there! The common area is lovely, with big comfortable couches, games, fireplace and snacks constantly stocked. The lodge and rooms are very clean and very inviting. The bed was very comfortable and the linens are lovely. The jacuzzi bathtub was fantastic!

Having the bar attached to the lodge is also a great touch. We did not leave the premises after checking in until we checked out the next morning!

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 768Carol_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Winston Lodge for two nights. I was a little worried at first how it would go, as we decided to take our 20 month old along for the ride. But I worried for nothing. This "hotel" was excellent, with a very homey feel (if you live in a gorgeous log cabin of course :D). A beautifully large common room, with a breakfast eating area filled daily with treats and drinks greets you as soon as you walk in. The suite that we were in was beautiful, with a king sized feather bed, along with a single feather bed for the little dude. The facilities were great, a saloon for dinner and drinks attached to the hotel area, and a games room downstairs with pool, Foosball and darts. The staff were welcoming and very helpful! It was an awesome stay, we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeldash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Winston Lodge while attending a wedding celebration at Kicking Horse. At first, I found it really annoying to have to take off my shoes at reception. Then I realized why: the lodge is kept immaculately clean, and now with your feet liberated and kept cozy in the slippers they provide you, you're free to pad around the lodge as if it were your own house. The common area is homely, cozy and like an extension of your living room. The rooms are large and the beds are huuuge! We felt so comfortable from the moment we arrived – check-in was fast and we received a helpful, friendly tour of the lodge on arrival. We had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. We'd totally go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#6 of 17 in Golden
483 reviews
3.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 17 in Golden
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Lodge & Spa

Address: 1593 Cache Close | P.O. Box 5, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £103 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RoomsRomantic and extremely comfortable describes this rustic wood and stone western inspired Lodge. You can choose from 10 luxurious Silver (standard) or Golden (deluxe) rooms, or treat yourself to the Platinum (VIP) Loft suite. Every room is appointed with antiques and hand-crafted solid wood furniture, sumptuous feather down beds, soothing jetted baths or walk-in showers and private decks with stunning mountain views.The SpaWinston Lodge features an exclusive in-house spa that offers massages, manicures, pedicures and facials in a lovely window clustered treatment room on the second floor mezzanine.The LodgeEnjoy the large common areas that feature an outdoor hot tub, sauna, games room, library, fireplace, no-host bar and a sitting room that's just for our guests.The Saloon"Ya'll gotta eat, so you might as well enjoy it". Come to our classic western saloon or family restaurant. We offer tasty homestyle meals and a wonderful selection of micro-brew beers, wines and spirits. Have fun playing board games or our famous Giant Jenga. Listen to live music or the pop of our real wood burning fireplace, and don't forget to get deputized before you leave.Restaurant and Conference CentreOur second story conference centre accommodates up to 100 people and provides a perfect venue for weddings, reunions, celebrations, business meetings or training. The 2 big screen tvs will educate and entertain your guests while we feed them delicious appetizers, full meals and desserts.If your group exceeds 100 we have plenty of space for an outdoor tent reception on the grass pavilion beside the lodge.ActivitiesAbundant adventure and beauty surrounds the lodge on all sides. We're located at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort where a multitude of winter and summer activities abound. The Golden area and local parks provide even more things to see and do.Ask the front desk to help you book your activities, they truly know the area like the back of their hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Winston Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing