We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts, wonderful Staff, breath taking setting ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winston Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I would like to thank Tracy and Bill for sharing their little piece of paradise with us. Our Family of four really enjoyed our stay January 20th to the 24th 2014 at The Winston.

The lodge is a gorgeous private log building including an open concept spacious great room with wood burning fireplace, guest rooms, outdoor hot tub and spa. It has a private entrance at ground level with a Foosball and a Pool table along with a sauna and a drying room for ski and snowboard equipment.

It was a great place for a family get together. There was always something for everyone to do. You could view the amazing scenery from inside or outside the lodge, ski/ snowboard, play games, use the computer, use the sauna or outdoor hot tub, lounge by the fire, talk or play games in the great room with our Family or go to our own private room to rest or watch television. You could drive into Golden to do a little shopping or enjoy other local attractions. There is even a spa located right on sight.

In the Morning we went to the Great Room and Tracy or Bill hosted our breakfast which was included with the cost of the room. We had a choice of bacon and eggs or a different flavoured pancake each morning cooked to order. A self serve buffet of coffee, tea, juice, fruit, muffins, bagels and a variety of other breakfast items was also offered.

I noticed that in one of the reviews it mentioned they would have appreciated a chair in the room. I had no problem getting a chair by simply asking. The staff were friendly and extremely accommodating.

The mountain was within easy walking distance to the lodge but we chose to drive with our equipment and park in the lot. The skiing at Kicking Horse Mountain was fantastic and the scenery simply took my breath away.

We stopped in for a drink and had lunch one day at the restaurant at the top of the mountain. The Eagles Nest is one of the highest restaurants in the world with mountain views on all sides. Non-skiers/ snowboarders can ride the Gondola to get there and back. It is definitely a memorable experience.

We are from Ontario and the size of the mountain was very intimidating for me, I would be an intermediate skier (at best). With a little planning I did not have any problem finding trails to come down the mountain that suited my skill level. The young adults had a fantastic time snowboarding the abundance of more challenging trails.

After a day of skiing we drove 2 minutes, put our equipment in the drying room and enjoyed all the things to do at the lodge. We often enjoyed an evening pub/ family style meal at The Kicking Horse Saloon which is attached and can be entered through a private entrance from The Winston Lodge. It has a warm and welcoming atmosphere with good food and drink, friendly staff, lots of games including a giant Jenga game and a warm crackling fire.

The area of Golden is also known for the wide variety of outdoor summer activities like kayaking, white water rafting, mountain biking, rock climbing and hiking. We had a great time at The Winston and hope to return to this piece of Canadian paradise in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Our room was beside the out door hot-tub which we found very convenient. If you wanted to ensure a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great pedicure, lovely ambiance, and very friendly owners! I highly recommend...I had a chance to chat with the owner the whole time. She was so sweet and down to earth... made me feel like I was hanging out with a good friend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adub_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a great weekend of R and R at Winston Lodge in early October 2013! We were there on a Living Social Deal so we paid $219 for two nights (If I recall correctly) which was well worth it. If I had paid full price I would have expected a little more.

Couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend away. We enjoy Kickiing Horse Mountain as a get away and try to stay up there a few times a year. It's about 2.5-3 hours from the core of Calgary with weekend traffic. It was low season so the mountain is very quiet during October. The Lodge is cozy and personal. It's like being a guest in someone's home, and you feel just as welcome! You leave your shoes at the entrance and are welcome to most areas of the lodge. There are few rooms so it's a more intimate setting than most hotels. If you like the anonymity of a large hotel this is not the place for you.

We had a great room with a giant Jacuzzi tub, and heated floors! We had a king size bed that was very comfy, and the pillows were good as well. The lighting in the rooms is quite low and we had no trouble sleeping in as the rooms were dark and quiet. There is good lighting in the bathroom,ample plug ins throughout the room for your appliances.

Only complaint is that that view from our room consisted of heavy equipment and building supplies. There are no phones in the rooms so if that is a concern take your cell along. Cable is very limited as well and reception is fuzzy, so if a day of being lazy and staying in bed is your goal take your laptop. There is free wifi, and the pub is attached. They have a great selection of board games, tasty food, cold beer and excellent service!

It was very quiet while we were there, so I'm not sure what it would be like on a busy bustling ski weekend. There is no table or chair setting within the rooms but there is a large common room that everyone is welcome to use. Like I said earlier, it's small and cozy. If that's too dorm style for your liking this may not be the place for you. They serve a basic breakfast in the common area that is self serve from 7-10am. We made it out for one morning to find French Toast and Maple Syrup which was tasty. There are yogurts, granola bars, fruit and cereals out for snacks throughout the day. We came in late one night and tip toed to our room worried to wake other guests, so it does have that guesthouse feel. We left very relaxed!
All in all we're looking forward to a repeat visit next fall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

At this price a chair to sit on in the room was expected. No Chair! A table where we might play a game of cards. No Table. (did play a game in the dinning area) A TV we could both see from the bed, TV in the cloths closet to the left of the bed. As rooms go in this area worth about $125 per night, not over $225, looked great on the internet and the lodge is quant, however way overpriced for the room we got.. Sorry, fell way short of expectation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hankhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonLodge, Manager at Winston Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

We remember you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed there for two nights with our friends. Enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms were big nice and comfortable. The bed was a little too soft for my husband but otherwise very comfortable. The staff were excellent. The view from the lodge is to die for. The pub food was also not bad. Service was really good.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Winston Lodge for two nights in August, thanks to a Living Social Deal. The lodge was a bit out of the way from town, so our first night we had to eat at the attached pub. The room was large and inviting, with a very soft bed and great view of the mountains. I suggest going during the week, as it is quieter then. We found that our second night (Tuesday) was quite a bit louder, as all rooms surround a great room, and a family was having a get together. The staff were very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful, fresh eggs one day, and pancakes the next. We loved that the staff kept out fruit and snacks all day for the guests.

The only downside was the cost of food at the attached pub, while decent fare, it was very overpriced (but what's a gal to do after 10 hours of driving...).

All in all, great place to stay. I suggest keeping your eye out for deals!

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs if you get the chance, there is a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlchk9021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

With a few miles off the beaten track we weren't sure what to expect. When we reached the lodge it was perfect! The staff were very friendly, the room was beautiful and the views (when the clouds weren't in close) were stunning. Breakfast was a standard buffet of fruits, yogurts, muffins, toast and egg with hot and cold drinks.
I'd recommend the bar attached to the lodge. Again the staff were friendly, food was very tasty and children were allowed in there until 8, which was very handy!
If we were going to the Golden area again I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanneteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.4 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 18 in Golden
211 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 18 in Golden
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Lodge & Spa

Address: 1593 Cache Close | P.O. Box 5, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £106 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RoomsRomantic and extremely comfortable describes this rustic wood and stone western inspired Lodge. You can choose from 10 luxurious Silver (standard) or Golden (deluxe) rooms, or treat yourself to the Platinum (VIP) Loft suite. Every room is appointed with antiques and hand-crafted solid wood furniture, sumptuous feather down beds, soothing jetted baths or walk-in showers and private decks with stunning mountain views.The SpaWinston Lodge features an exclusive in-house spa that offers massages, manicures, pedicures and facials in a lovely window clustered treatment room on the second floor mezzanine.The LodgeEnjoy the large common areas that feature an outdoor hot tub, sauna, games room, library, fireplace, no-host bar and a sitting room that's just for our guests.The Saloon"Ya'll gotta eat, so you might as well enjoy it". Come to our classic western saloon or family restaurant. We offer tasty homestyle meals and a wonderful selection of micro-brew beers, wines and spirits. Have fun playing board games or our famous Giant Jenga. Listen to live music or the pop of our real wood burning fireplace, and don't forget to get deputized before you leave.Restaurant and Conference CentreOur second story conference centre accommodates up to 100 people and provides a perfect venue for weddings, reunions, celebrations, business meetings or training. The 2 big screen tvs will educate and entertain your guests while we feed them delicious appetizers, full meals and desserts.If your group exceeds 100 we have plenty of space for an outdoor tent reception on the grass pavilion beside the lodge.ActivitiesAbundant adventure and beauty surrounds the lodge on all sides. We're located at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort where a multitude of winter and summer activities abound. The Golden area and local parks provide even more things to see and do.Ask the front desk to help you book your activities, they truly know the area like the back of their hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Winston Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing