We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Ranked #1 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My husband has stayed here a number of times on ski trips but this was my first visit and I thought it was great!

Warm and welcoming in spirit and in decor I was delighted with the setting and am quite sure staying here made our stop in Golden. We were given lots of suggestions and ideas from the owner who is an active participant in all the mountains have to offer.

I hope to visit in the winter next time and will be sure to eat more of that delicious homemade granola and muffins!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We spent a few nights in Golden BC while travelling to the Canadian Rockies. This BnB is well situated for daily excursions into the many National Parks in the region. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms well arranged. Our hostess Marie-France and her daughter Emilie were wonderful to spend time with and very helpful when it came to planning our trips. The fabulous breakfasts each morning were a great way to start the day and keep us going!! Will definitely stay there again if we make it back to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azizinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at Auberge for one night. The location is perfect, being close to the centre of town but in a quiet neighbourhood. Marie-France met us and we settled in quickly. There is a lovely area to watch tv, read or meet with quests. She also offered use of the balcony or a screened in sitting area. Breakfast was delicious and very good coffee. Everything a B and B should be.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The owners of this B&B go above and beyond the call of duty. Marie-France helped us to get familiarized with the area better, by recommending the best places to visit and the best places to eat. We shared some great conversation and the neighbourhood and location of this B&B looked as though to be the best part of town - very quiet yet still close to the fun. If you are into checking out the wonders and adventures of Golden, this is the place to stay. Marie-France, being an avid biker and outdoors person, gave us the inside scoop of some of the most beautiful trails I have ever seen. She also helped us with planning some of our next adventures including where and who to stay with as we travelled on. This helped to ease the stress of planning our trip, knowing we would be staying with nice people. Thanks for a great retreat!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, modern and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

we booked into a B&B because we enjoy the personal hosted experience. We were therefore surprised and very disappointed when we arrived at Auberge Kicking Horse to find the owner was away.

My husband and I were travelling with my parents and there was another couple staying at the B&B. Very strange to be staying in someone else's house when they were not present. Even more strange when we couldn't get hold of anyone when the other guests locked themselves out of their room. The had to door-knock around the neighbours to find someone who could help. Fortunately they found someone who knew where the spare keys were kept. This is not what you expect from hosted accommodation.

Apart from that, the young woman who initially met us and who prepared breakfast was polite and friendly enough and the room, was comfortable. The bathroom was in need of some maintenance as the shower door hinges needed replacing.

Breakfast was served at 8 - no choice on time and was continental only - no cooked breakfast offered.

OK for one night but not the best B&B experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights and it was great!! The room was clean and friendly. The hospitality of the hostess was great .She can give you a lot to do tips.We could use a large room to read or watch tv ,there was a jacuzzi and lounge chairs in the garden .
The breakfast was excellent and very healthy,home made granola,muffins and scones.
It is situated in a very quit part of Golden.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lameijerbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed one night at short notice and found it excellent VfM. Hostess was lovely and bursting with ideas and information about things to do in Golden and the surrounding area. It's all the things you could ever want in a B&B very clean, great bed, lovely breakfast lots of choice and set in quiet lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.7 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.1 mi away
Canyon Ridge Lodge
Canyon Ridge Lodge
#4 of 19 in Golden
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Home Lodge
Home Lodge
#2 of 19 in Golden
183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#3 of 17 in Golden
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Kicking Horse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Kicking Horse B&B

Address: 1306 Selkirk Dr, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range: £81 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Kicking Horse B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a day of skiing, mountain biking, golfing, or spending a few hours shopping in Golden, you will come back to the cozy comforts of the AUBERGE KICKING HORSE. The Auberge is located withing walking distance of restaurants and pubs. Guests also have access to a fridge to store their beverages and snacks. The large outdoor Jacuzzi tub will soak away all your cares as you are serenaded by the sounds of the central fireplace. Breakfast will offer a variety of homemade granola and bake goods, bread, fresh fruit salad, yogurts and a hot dish that will start your day's activity on the right foot. We look forward to welcoming you at the Auberge Kicking Horse B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Kicking Horse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing