We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Golden, B.C.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Ranked #1 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Golden, B.C.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed four nights in this amazing B&B. In a quiet residential neighborhood in Golden, above the city and within walking distance of restaurants and other amenities. What made our stay outstanding our gracious host, and chef extraordinaire, Marie-France. She provided breakfasts that were delicious, healthy, and substantial -- and all home-made, from the baked goods to the main breakfast dishes. A wealth of knowledge from her personal experience, she provided great suggestions for both nearby and distant hiking and sightseeing. We enjoyed hiking and sightseeing near Field, Emerald Lake, Takakkaw Falls, among others, all at her suggestion, along with clear directions. We wanted to go on the hike to Lake O'Hara, but had no reservation. Rather than have us take a chance on a no-show, she contacted "insiders" who knew the score as to whether that would work, saving us much time and aggravation. She offered an excellent hiking alternative -- Sherbrooke Lake and Paget Lookout -- which proved to be an outstanding choice. Each morning and evening we enjoyed great conversation with Marie-France and other guests. Our room was clean and comfortable and well-furnished, perfect for out stay. However, what made the stay more like home was her invitation to share the living and dining common spaces, as well as the kitchen. She welcomed us to bring our dinners home to enjoy in her dining room. Although we did not take advantage of the spa, other guests who did raved about its healing powers after a day of hiking. We think this should be #1 on the Golden B&B list!

Room Tip: We chose a smaller room, which suited us perfectly, in spite of a somewhat larger amount of luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alohaboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    40
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
183
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this place as a good value for the money. Conviently located for easy access to Yoho NationL Park. Owner was very helpful. The breakfast was substantial with freshly baked goods and great coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Although we were only able to stay one night we know enough that this is definitely the only place I would stay when next in Golden. A wonderful bed, delicious and filling breakfast which included a parfait with homemade granola Marie Frances gave us the recipe) fruit, eggs and homemade bread. Wonderful way to start the day. Our host is warm and friendly and full of lots of good information!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean107_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-France L, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse B&B, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I appreciate it very much.
I sure look forward to welcoming you back to the Auberge in the near future.
Marie-France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Everything you'd want in a B & B is here. Comfortable, welcoming, conveniently situated (on a trip from Calgary to Vancouver). Spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast and friendly, helpful atmosphere. Definitely recommend and we will be back next time we do the Vancouver/Calgary road trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouverite_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-France L, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse B&B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for the kind review.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Auberge.
MF Lessor :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo, bc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Marie-France operates Auberge the way all bed and breakfasts should aspire to do. She made us feel immediately welcome, showed us all the guest facilities and our room. She even has a separate fridge for guests to use. She was a treasure store of information about Golden and area. I will book Auberge B&B next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a king sized bed, book the Dogtooth room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCSNanaimo_Bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-France L, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse B&B, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at the Auberge.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Auberge in the near future.
Marie-France Lessor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Chose this B&B as a one night stop on our way from Whistler to Banff. It was a long drive and it was made even longer with the highway closure but our room was ready and waiting when we got there.

Great room and bathroom, clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with lots of selection.

Would love to stay here again if I'm in the area and also spend some time exploring Kicking Horse.

Room Tip: Dogtooth room has a comfortable king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-France L, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse B&B, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a few kind words.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Auberge in the near future.
Marie-France Lessor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here whilst travelling trough golden Nd it's. a great place to stay. Host was great nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was really worth it.
Would recommend this place to anyone that was travelling through Canada and was passing golden.
Once again thanks for. great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-France L, Owner at Auberge Kicking Horse B&B, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you Steve for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
Marie-France Lessor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
4.1 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.7 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
191 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#3 of 19 in Golden
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Kicking Horse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Kicking Horse B&B

Property: Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Address: 1306 Selkirk Dr, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge Kicking Horse B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a day of skiing, mountain biking, golfing, or spending a few hours shopping in Golden, you will come back to the cozy comforts of the AUBERGE KICKING HORSE. The Auberge is located withing walking distance of restaurants and pubs. Guests also have access to a fridge to store their beverages and snacks. The large outdoor Jacuzzi tub will soak away all your cares as you are serenaded by the sounds of the central fireplace. Breakfast will offer a variety of homemade granola and bake goods, bread, fresh fruit salad, yogurts and a hot dish that will start your day's activity on the right foot. We look forward to welcoming you at the Auberge Kicking Horse B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Kicking Horse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing