We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice appearance, Mediocre stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice appearance, Mediocre stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2008

This place feels like a hotel corporation did the absolute minimum required to get a certain hotel rating and skimped on everything else. Service is lackluster, the amenities scarce. But it does look nice, and you can ski in-ski out.

The pros:
* Well situated for ski in/ski out
* New

The cons:
* No character to speak of

* One person on staff for maybe 50 rooms. The person has no authority.

* Awful beds. "King size" means they push two twins next to each other. My girlfriend and I found this uncomfortable and asked the clerk if there were any real kings or queens. He told us he would check to see what could be done (by calling his boss) and would then call us in our room. A call never came. Unsurprisingly, when he went back down to the desk, he told us "sorry." The hotel was clearly empty and they could have changed our room.

To make matters worse, the blanket and comforter are rather nasty polyester affairs, kind of like you expect at a Motel 6 in Nevada. It's about as far away as you can get from a bed at the Westin.

* During checkin, the clerk cheerfully informed us that there was no maid service during our stay. We could get new towels if we asked for them.

* They advertised free wireless Internet. It was free, but the speed was unbearably slow. Web surfing was not possible.

* Guest rooms are small (1 bedrooms looked bigger)

* The lounge consists of three couches surrounding a gas fireplace. It's OK waiting for your party, but you wouldn't want to hang out there. There's no food, coffee, or bar in the hotel.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. There might be better values on the mountain; I'd probably stay in town.

  • Liked — Ski in ski out
  • Disliked — Small room, poor service, no character, bad bed
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dj4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    39
    21
    23
    8
See reviews for
43
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Recently stayed in the Palliser Lodge over Christmas 2007.

The Underground parking is a big bonus as the car was safe and not snow covered when we were ready to go.

We found the staff were very pleasant from the moment we arrived. Once we entered our room they phoned to see if we had everything we needed. The two bedroom suite was large and comfortable. The views are great and there are many large windows to see the views of the mountains.

We were not expecting housekeeping service on Christmas day but the desk did call us to ask if we needed towel service.

I would certainly use this accommodation again, for skiing or for a nice getaway - it was well worth the stay.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank onward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurora
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

It was heaven ! Great place. We had a 2 bedroom with a hot tub on the balcony. So from your bedroom you could just open the window and go in the hot tub and overlook the valley.
It is a new place so everything still looks kind of "untouched".
But there is not much service (like bellman).
But I would go back anytime !

Helpful?
2 Thank timelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We had a great time while staying here for 4 nights. We used this as a base while visiting Yoho (1 day), Banff (2 days), and Jasper national parks (1 day). We had a one bedroom suite w/ a full kitchen. It saved us a lot of monies eating in. We got all our groceries from a nearby market which was only 15 min away. The place was very clean and the room was bigger than we expected. Our hotel was within walking distance from the kicking horse resort and the gondola ride (the best ride in the rockies mountain in my opinion) to the 7,700 ft summit. Note, the ride is only available on weekend (friday-sunday) for the fall season.

Initially, we booked a guest room w/ two twin beds for just one night. Fortunately, the hotel staffs upgraded us to a one bedroom suite at no cost (I highly recommend getting the suite even if it costs a bit more $ especially you are planning to cook). We eventually extended our room for an additonally 3 more nights. Our room had a dvd player, 2 plat screen tv, a full kitchen (microwave, large coffee maker, dish washer, microwave, oven, washer/dryer), a fireplace, a balcony, a king bed, one bedroom with separated living and dining area, and a pull sofa bed in living room.

Hotel staffs were extremely friendly and very helpful during our stay. Thanks Carol & Alex. We had a great time while visiting the Canadian rockies.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank hyang2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

The Palliser Lodge, with it's gorgeous location and well appointed suites looks like a very nice place to stay.
In spite of being new, there are a few wrinkles to be ironed out. Things like; remote controls without batteries and blinds that become hopelessly tangled, not enough soap, and door knobs that keep falling off. The most memorable experience was being trapped between floors in the elevator between floors for over half an hour with two frightened children, and having to assist a staff member to force open the doors then have my whole family of four crawl out through a 2 foot (vertical) space onto the outside driveway. Had that elevator moved during this, it could have proved fatal. The staff member was very reassuring and told me that she would inform the boss and that he would talk to me about the situation. When it came time to checkout I asked to speak to the manager and was given the old the-manager-is-not-here-today-and-I-have-no-authorization-to-do-anything-for-you routine (surprise, surprise). It would have been better to be told “look, we got your money now get lost”. I would not have liked that, but I would have respected it. At least it would have been honest. If the management actually cared about the comfort of their guests I would recommend the place, but given the indifference I would have to say that you should take your money elsewhere. If the manager is not willing to give you 5 minutes of his time over your concerns, then there are other new facilities just a few meters away.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Permian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago area, IL
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

This beautiful, brand new and ski lodge just opend up at Christmas.

We loved our room. It seemed as if we were the first ones to stay in this room… We were very impressed with not only this brand new condo hotel but all of the Kicking Horse Ski Resort. Everyone was very friendly to us and very accomadating.

The Paliser lodge and for that matter any lodge at Kicking Horse is an excellent place to spend a night or 2 or more while on vacation in the Canadian Rockies.

Because it is a ski village, the summer is down time, and rates are very reasonable and the place is clean and new….

  • Liked — They were extremely Clean
  • Disliked — nothing - all was great
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Crackerjack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Property: Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing