We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
60
46
26
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
46
26
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingone bedroom suitehot tubbeautiful resortnice bedroomski hillforest fireshigher floorearly seasongondola ridegreat accessfull kitchenelectric fireplacekicking horse ski resortgreat kitcheneagle eyestayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

As I soon learnt, you have to be careful when booking accommodation through the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort website. You get the impression when booking, that all the on mountain accommodations are separate entities, but you soon discover, that most are owned by Bellstar.

Palliser is the sister lodge to the Glacier Mountain Lodge. You could say it's an overflow accommodation.

If you're unfamiliar with the RCR who control many of the accommodations and booking operations for places like KH, Fernie, Nakiska, Panorama and so on. You'll soon learn that it's a rough operation and many of the staff have little training or clue as to what they're suppose to be doing on mountain.

I booked for the Palliser through the KHMR website and had to check in at the adjacent Glacier Lodge. Book for one place check in at another? OK.

I soon discovered that the water wasn't working in our self contained apartment. And that simple amenties that are provided else where in up-market lodges like; towels for the hot tub in the change rooms were absent. I would have called guest services but the phone in our room didn't work. I repeatedly asked Glacier lodge to get it fixed and the said "Sure, we'll get right on it".

They never got me a working phone in my room during my stay.

If I had a problem, they told me to call the RCR hotline.

The rooms were sufficient but dated. Creaky floor boards and hallways reminiscent of the movie "The Shining" Need I say more.

Room Tip: Get some nice accomdation off mountain. Drive up it's not worth staying on this mountain.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tifob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I am sorry to hear that you encountered troubles during your stay that may have affected the enjoyment of your holiday. As we manage a lot of the on hill accommodations our central check-in out of the Glacier Lodge and we do our absolute best to inform guests prior to arrival.

Thank you for bringing forward the issues you encountered with the water and your phone line and I apologize that we were not able to fix it for you. A member of our team should have responded to your requests directly and fixed both issues rather than directing you to contact RCR. In the future you can expect a more immediate and direct response from our team.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future to provide you with an exceptional stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in September, it was a nice 2 bedroom apt and we really enjoyed the view and the hot tub on the deck. The weekend was hot and there was no instructions on using the air conditioning in the suite, we had very loud people in the suite next to us that were very loud and due to the off season they don't have security on site so we put up with them partying on their deck and being loud, We would stay here again if we were in the area,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m very sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t as exceptional as we would have hoped. Unfortunately our suites are not equipped with air conditioning which was why there were no instructions on it. I am also sorry to hear that you were disturbed by a suite nearby causing excessive noise. While our front desk operations are closed during the night in September, a member of management team is available on call to handle any situation in order to ensure all of our guests are safe and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palliser Lodge for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Kicking horse is a great uncrowded mountain with terrain to suit everyone. We rented a two bedroom apartment with private hot tub. The apartment itself was spacious and well equipped . Many reviewers mention the lack of on site checkin and staff and it really is a problem. From the time we arrived there were problems with card keys and phones not working all of which required a walk down the hill to the glacier lodge which was not ideal with cold, tired young children. There were several occasions where we called the glacier reception from the palliser and no one answered or there was a recorded message which was pretty unprofessional.
The lack of staff at the palliser lend it an abandoned air and when something goes wrong the onus is on the customer to track someone down who is capable of sorting out the problem. I'd love to return to kicking horse and highly recommend the ski experience but would probably try to get a room somewhere which is properly staffed.
Make that staffed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamper014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your stay at Palliser Lodge.

We are very glad you enjoyed the time while you were here. Staffing of the desk at Palliser Lodge is under review. The Glacier Lodge is the central check-In desk for all of the Bellstar star properties at Kicking Horse Resort, including the Palliser Lodge.

The phone system has been now updated since last winter, and we have reviewed the front desk procedures for acknowledging incoming phone calls, even during the busy periods.

Thank You again for your valued comments! We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

In 2007. we stayed here for a first time: we stopped on the way to West Coast. We're going back ever since at least once a year. 2 bedroom corner suites are so well equipped that you can feel like you're at home. 2 spacious king size bedrooms, each with it's own bathroom, bath tub as well as shower and tv. Even washer and dryer. Hot tub on the balcony. Large living room with beautiful kitchen, pull out sofa, flat screen and dvd player. Perfect for large even two families. In the winter you're on the ski hill, in the summer you're just quick ride away from Emerald Lake, Takakkaw Falls, Radium Hot Springs, Inveremere and Fairmont Hot Springs. Convenience of having few restaurants very close by, beauty in Eagle's Eye Restaurant on the top of the mountain (you have to take gondola to get there) and Bears habitat make this place beautiful weekend getaway location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlada_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for you great review for Palliser Lodge.

We are so glad that you continue to come back each year and stay with us.
The surrounding area attractions you mentioned are all but a small bit of what there is to see and do. The 2 bedroom corner units with private hot tubs are excellent choices, and are very well equipped for families and couples alike.

Looking forward to hosting you again for your next winter ski vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights whilst touring the area. Having read previous reviews, knew what to expect for booking in! Would not like to arrive in the dark though as had to search for The Glacier Hotel to get our room keys etc. room was very nice with huge king size bed, fridge , microwave and air con. We felt as if we had whole hotel to ourselves as not a soul around. Enjoyed use of hot tub which was open until 10 pm. All in all very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for our recent visit to The Palliser Lodge.

We are very pleased to know you had a great time while here after the summer season. It is quiet up here now - a great time to relax and unwind in the hot tub and simply rejuvenate at a great price.

Please remember that you can receive a return rate discount if you book directly with Bellstar!

We hope to be able to host your future vacation travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews