We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, Great skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Wide Open Future
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay, Great skiing”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Had a really comfortable stay. Unit had a well equipped kitchen and good amenities. Quiet units. Good ski lockup area and easy access to the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Three60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Much obliged for your comment on Palliser Lodge at Kicking Horse Resort. We hope you can make it back for the 11/12 Winter Season. May I recommend trying one of our Palliser units that is equipped with your own personal Hot Tub…Spectacular ending to a long day shredding through the fresh champagne powder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    39
    21
    23
    8
See reviews for
43
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We rented the 2 bedroom plus loft unit. What a beautiful condo to stay in. The tile floors were heated, the granite counter tops were nice and we all loved the private hot tub on the deck. The king sized bed weren't the most comfortable, but after a day of skiing, I could have slept on the floor!

A couple quick tips:
Check in us at the main lodge a couple of buildings over. This was an unpleasant surprise after arriving late.

Also, no food options on the resort after 10pm.

Front desk only had one employee, this is probably too little as they had to check in for many different buildings.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Overall: While the lodge markets itself as a hotel, it isn't really. A little over-priced given the lack of service, but the location and benefits of the spectacular views do out weigh that if you're lucky enough to stay in a good room.
Rooms: We booked the loft suite on the 4th floor for a week in July. The room was stunning and the balcony, along with the views from it, blew us away! Unfortunately the room wasn't as clean as we had hoped. Finger prints in the dust and a dozen or so dead flies on the higher window sills weren't too impressive. Another thing to mention is the lack of air-conditioning. During our stay there, temperatures reached 33 degrees and the apartment actually became a little unbearable in the evenings.
Amenities: The rooms have it all - kitchens, washing machines etc, but unfortunately the resort - Kicking Horse Mountain Resort - is a little limited during the summer months. We weren't told that most of the resort wouldn't be functioning during our stay - something I feel should be reflected in the price of the hotels. Also, we were meant to receive a maid service on the 4th day of our stay - that unfortunately never materialised.
Location: If you want peace and quiet and have a car, The Palliser Lodge is in good location. You can keep yourself away from the town but still have the option to drive to the surrounding areas. The actual resort is quite hilly so it perhaps wouldn't be ideal for those less able-bodied.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minty2238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

In terms of well appointed lodging, with full kitchen & cooking facilities, in suite laundry, and space for a family with teenagers, Palliser proved to be an ideal lodging, with location that allowed those who wanted to get early start on the fantastic mountain resort to go on their own, with late sleepers to join later. Coming in for lunch was not only a money saver, it was easy given ski out, ski in location right on the hill! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventures4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WY
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We booked a king hotel room. They only clean the rooms every 4 days . ( it is noted at the bottom of your comfirmation in small print) Please take note. We missed the fine print and did not have any cleaning service in our hotel room.

We booked a king room - it was two twin beds pushed together with 2 twin duvets.

The floor was dirty on arrival. For the price it was not worth it. The location is great but that is all.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at Palliser Lodge in February and had a very good experience. The rooms were tidy, the staff were helpful, the location was convenient (just off the gondola base) and we believe we received decent value given we stayed in what is likely the busiest time of year. Anyone confused with the Lodge being a full service hotel may be disappointed, but we made sure we asked the reservation staff about the Lodge and got the straight goods... spacious, fully appointed condos with a 3 star service level. We didn't use the fitness centre, but did use the hot pool and ski lockers. It took us about 5-10 minutes to walk to the restaurants but mostly ate in.

While the lodge is attractive, we found the decor a little run of the mill and weren't blown away in this regard. With that said, the suite had what we needed for our stay and was far more than what we would expect in a hotel. The service was also far more than we would expect out of a private vacation rental, so all in all it was what we needed and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKGFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

The Palliser Lodge is perfectly situated to ski in ski out, and is a two minute walk from the pub, general store and ski shop. Besides that it's not great.

I can usually sleep anywhere but these beds were terrbile. We had a one-room suite and ended up using the pull-out couch in the living room rather than cripple our backs by sleeping on the bed in the bedroom.

The kitchen was well designed and good for cooking, but lacking necessities like a proper spatula and non-stick frying pan. Also, we stayed there for 7 nights and the maid service never came and cleaned the room or changed the towels.

Finally, they claimed that there was free wi-fi in the rooms-- not true. There is free wi-fi about every twenty minutes in the rooms. The signal lasts for about 40 seconds and then is gone. Very frusterating. They try to make up for that by saying it that the wi-fi works perfectly in the lobby, but I don't want to sit around in the lobby while I download a movie to watch that night.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiier345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
450 reviews
3.3 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Property: Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing