We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a big disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a big disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

We stayed at this lodge for 3 nights in their "suite". It was a big diisappointment. The room was not clean, and the view gave unto 2 lovely dogs that were tied up day and night. We also could not sleep witht the only window open as it gave unto a wood burning power generator and we were not only smoked out but the noise was unbearable. The food was not that great because it was very greasy (breakfast and dinner) and at one point I'm sure that some of the food were leftovers. The "spa', that is to say the whirlpool was filthy, we could not use it as the water was green and the sauna to our surprise was payable (as upon booking we were told that it was all inclusive). Whenever we wanted to use the pool table and other gymn facilities we were always told how expensive the equipment was and to be very careful, which actually made us feel very uncomfortable and was taken as a discouragement to use them.

I would not recommend this place nor go back!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No housekeeping
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    23
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
94
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herdecke
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

Stayed for two nights in a king suite, very clean and spacious, had dinner and breakfast at the lodge, the best homecooked meals we had on a holiday.
We didn`t have to eat anything at the Ski Resort, because the breakfast filled us up for almost all day.
Norbert and Doris are the most wonderful caring people we ever met. We really enjoyed our visit, the Lodge is so beautiful and we got a very good sleep, the beds are the best, we just heared the birds singing and the creek running down the road.
Glenogle is an exelent place to stay, a five star Resort at a very resonable price.
We are looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KanaHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelbg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2008

Stayed at Glenogle for three nights, what a wonderful place to stay, its like coming home.
We walked the dogs, a couple of times with Norbert and Doris.
They were very helpful and booked snowmobiling for us, the one day after skiing my wife and i enjoyed a soft heat sauna and a wonderful relaxing massage.
Doris made us the best ever homecooked dinner and a superb
breakfast, loved specally the oatmeal pancakes.
The rooms are large and we slept in most comfortable beds, with downduvets and fluffy bathrobes in the room.
They have an most incredible view from the rooms .
It is one of the Best places we ever stayed, very relaxing and quiet.
We try to come back soon.

  • Liked — sevice, location, food, beds, views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

What a great weekend!!!! We stayed at the Glenogle the last weekend in Feb. The owners treated us like family, they were so relaxed and easy going. On the Sat night, Doris (one of the owners) made us a home cooked meal to die for! We sat up and talked and drank (just a little.......) in the dining room. It was like being at home...........even better. We stayed in the 2 bdrm cabin. It had a full service kitchen and each bdrm had its own full bath. The cabin was very clean and well presented. In regards to the comment from the previous visitor below; When we arrived both dogs were running loose with their owner. These dogs are well cared for and well loved. If anyone knows huskies, they know that they tend to wander, so at night they were tied up, but they each had their own insulated "huge" doghouses. During the day they hung out with us or their owners. I repeat, these dogs are in now way mistreated! I will definately stay at this place again!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kellytattibillshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2008

Over the past three years we have stayed at Glenogle Lodge several times. We keep returning because it is probably the greatest place we have ever stayed. Away from the city, the mountain views, quietness of the whole area and the fresh air are incredible. An added bonus is lying in bed with the windows open listening to the river running by, lulling you to sleep. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The food is the best you will ever experience. Doris and Norbert are wonderful hosts, and we truly feel that it is our "home away from home". We will definately return, and we recommend it to anyone.
You will have an absolutely "carefree vacation".
GH&SH

  • Liked — the totally
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2008

Our holiday was ruined due to how upsetting it was that the owners keep their two beautiful, husky dogs tied up on a short leash day and night, despite the fact that both dogs have a friendly disposition. At one point I found one of the dogs with its leash wrapped around his neck.

The dogs are not exercised, and one suffers from arthritis and should be able to stretch its muscles, especially when there is much land on which the dogs could roam.

The animals were also left outside, despite how cold it became during the winter nights.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank lady043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2007

This site is up in the mountains above Golden, with stunning views and a real peaceful location. Doris and Norbert welcome you as family and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were a great size, incredibly clean and our room on the main floor had access to the external shared balcony and excellent disabled facilities. Doris does her own cooking and the food was fantastic. You should be aware though that breakfast was already made for us without any choice (a problem as I am dairy and yeast intolerant - which we had not anticipated and felt unable to mention as the food was ready when we got up). So I suggest you let her know on arrival if you have special dietary needs. There are cabins in the grounds, and we saw the double cabin - which was really well thought out and would be a great stay. One other thing - this is not a place where you can keep to yourself - Doris sits with you and shares her family history - you really are one of the family here!

  • Liked — Great site in mountains and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not being left alone chases you back out of common areas to room, no choice with breakfast menu
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
5.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
5.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
18.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
3.9 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Property: Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Address: 913 Oster Rd | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa is one of Golden’s newer exquisite accommodations, designed to exceed all your getaway expectations. Our attention to detail and outstanding service will contribute to your creation of a memory to cherish. Our Lodge is nestled in a quiet valley, about 8 km north east and 400 m above Golden, British Columbia. You will find yourself amidst spectacular views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountain Ranges. The breathtaking view of the mountains and the bubbling creek will bring you back to your Center. Our licensed lounge and European cuisine will fill your spirit and ensure you have a grand getaway. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa features a beautiful dining area with spectacular views and fireplace. The dining area was built around an extremely large tree, which lends to the amazing architecture of the lodge. Glenogle features 10 luxurious rooms with soft warm down duvets and fluffy bathrobes, as well as a 2-bedroom suite, complete with living area and a big-screen TV in the main lodge. We also have 3 private, cozy and fully equipped chalets for those romantic getaways. Glenogle Lodge is the ideal setting for small weddings, romantic getaways, family reunions, vacations, retreats, business meetings. Indulge yourself in our comfortable surroundings, enjoy a massage after an active day or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenogle Mountain Hotel
Hotel Glenogle Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing