We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay while in Golden!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Ranked #8 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you are looking for a spotless room, in a gorgeous location, with outstanding food, operated by the kindest couple you have ever met, the Glenogle Mountain Lodge is for you. We arrived in the afternoon to be met by Doris, the owner/operator of the Glenogle. She was busy in the kitchen preparing the evening menu. After a quick tour, where we found the room to be fresh and immaculately clean, we were then asked if we were dining at the Lodge...one glance at the menu confirmed that we were! We returned a few hours later to find that we had a table set aside for what was to be a spectacular meal. Doris' husband, Norbert, greeted us and was just a warm as Doris. My wife had a spectacular salmon dish accented with ginger and veggies, while I opted for jaegerschnitzel w/spatzle. As my wife is on a self-proclaimed "fussy" diet, she requested limited oils/fat and Doris was happy to oblige. I on the other hand would never ruin a meal by limiting the good stuff. The jaegerschnitzel, smothered in fresh mushrooms was excellent. As an aside, we had just returned from a European vacation and can say that Doris hits the mark when it comes to German cuisine! After the meal my wife watched me eat what may be the best cheescake on the planet...we retired content and full to very comfortable beds. The next morning Doris was up bright and early and preparing breakfast. Once again, be prepared to be blown away...eggs, sausage, yogurt, granola and an incredible oatmeal/apple pancake that you will rave about for some time. Unfortunately we had an early departure and Doris was just as warm when we left, giving my wife & I a big hug. Do yourself a favour and book some time at the Glenogle Lodge, you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panzerhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Glenogle early in July this past year. My family and I booked chalet #1 for a place to relax and recharge after a long year.

Our little girl has a nut allergy so we usually book places with a kitchen so we can control what we have for food. :)

The owners were very relaxed and accomodating and they let us relax and have our own space. We left the cabin to explore Golden but basically stayed out of the main house.

The cabin (or as our little girl called it the little wooden house) was nice. Bed was comfortable and everthing was good.

The price was outstanding and cheaper than some "hotels". :)

The only knock against it is cabin #1 is in front of the wood (garbage?) incinerator. So when the wind blew the right direction we had a lot of smoke smell coming into the cabin.

We'd go back and next time we'd check out Dorris' cooking. :)

Room Tip: Get a chalet/cabin and bring your own food to lower your costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying in a one bedroom cottage for two days and absolutely fell in love with the place. The staff were charming and helpful, the accommodations were spacious, and the giant bed was comfortable as well. We enjoyed a nice home cooked meal on the deck of the lodge looking over the beautiful landscape, steak for me and pork tenderloin for her. We were made to feel so welcome that when we finished the meal, we brought our plates in and had a chat with the owners right in the kitchen!! Each morning we were welcomed with a breakfast fit for kings, eggs, sausage, pancakes, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and yogurt. Glenogle is just a 10 minute drive from Golden, but out of the way enough to make you feel at one with nature. If you are golfing, hiking, biking, or doing any of the other many activities that Golden has to offer, I wholeheartedly suggest Glenogle lodge for your accommodations.

Room Tip: Cottages are spacious and comfortable for just a few more dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Absolutely love this place. You can expect to find here peacefulness, amazing hospitality, very good breakfast and I am pretty sure you will sleep like a baby here. We would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaK939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We and two friends stayed in one of Glenogle's 2 bed, 2 bathroom timber bungalows last week and could not have been made more welcome. The location of Glenogle is just perfect - we hardly wanted to leave the place. Although we catered for ourselves next time (and there will be a next time!) we will book into one of the superb main house rooms which are so beautifully appointed and take advantage of Doris' home cooking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTCO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The lodge is so beautifully detailed, so calm and relaxing. The rooms are nice and peaceful, waking up to the fresh mountain air and all different kinds of birds singing. The food is out of this world, nicely cooked to perfection. If you want to just get away from it all, stay at Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa where there's great company, great food, and all around low prices. Stay a night and you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbonyKearston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We made a last minute road trip to BC and happened upon Glenogle Lodge in Golden after reading some reviews on trip advisor. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking. The cabin that we stayed in was perfect - very clean and super comfy big bed. We had a nice little deck to enjoy the spectacular views. Doris made us feel like family, and made us want to come back. I wish we were related, because she is a fantastic cook. Let me tell you, Doris knows how to make schnitzel! We only stayed one night and in the morning Doris cooked a beautirul breakfast for us. I have never written a review on trip advisor before, but after this exceptional stay, I felt compelled to write and highly recommend this fabulous little get away. One little tip - book directly through Glenogle. We booked through a third pary website and found out that they take a huge chunk from the owners for a commission.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room. Very well maintained lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
5.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.6 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 17 in Golden
116 reviews
18.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
3.1 mi away
Kicking Horse Canyon B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Address: 913 Oster Rd | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range: £118 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa is one of Golden’s newer exquisite accommodations, designed to exceed all your getaway expectations. Our attention to detail and outstanding service will contribute to your creation of a memory to cherish. Our Lodge is nestled in a quiet valley, about 8 km north east and 400 m above Golden, British Columbia. You will find yourself amidst spectacular views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountain Ranges. The breathtaking view of the mountains and the bubbling creek will bring you back to your Center. Our licensed lounge and European cuisine will fill your spirit and ensure you have a grand getaway. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa features a beautiful dining area with spectacular views and fireplace. The dining area was built around an extremely large tree, which lends to the amazing architecture of the lodge. Glenogle features 10 luxurious rooms with soft warm down duvets and fluffy bathrobes, as well as a 2-bedroom suite, complete with living area and a big-screen TV in the main lodge. We also have 3 private, cozy and fully equipped chalets for those romantic getaways. Glenogle Lodge is the ideal setting for small weddings, romantic getaways, family reunions, vacations, retreats, business meetings. Indulge yourself in our comfortable surroundings, enjoy a massage after an active day or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenogle Mountain Hotel
Hotel Glenogle Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing