We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very recomendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ulm, Germany
1 review
“very recomendable”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Thanks to Doris for her wonderful breakfast. We have been there only for one night. Next time we will stay longer to get in touch with incredible nature arround Glenogle Lodge and prepare some BBQ Steaks in front of cabin

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    23
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
94
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Golden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stumbled upon Glenogle while on an internet search for the Golden area. We got more than we had hoped for. Arriving late after a day of sight-seeing, we were tired and hungry. Doris was kind enough to make a fantastic dinner for us as we unpacked. The lodge was beautifully decorated, clean, and has unique qualities such as a giant tree brought in from Revelstoke positioned in the center of the dining room. Doris and Norbert made us feel at home during our entire stay, and the food was out of this world. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On our 6th day of a road trip in the Kootenies we decided, because it was raining, we'd skip camping and hit a B&B on our way back to Calgary. As soon as we arrived at Doris and Norbert's rustic retreat, we felt welcomed with open arms as if we were family. We booked our stay in one of the cabins, a short walk from the main building. She asked if we were hungry and suggested we unpack while she cooked us some home made schnitzel; we had just ordered one to share.

We went to our cabin to settle in and it was just perfect, clean, made up nicely, she had even turned on the fireplace for us as I had mentioned on the phone how I was really looking forward to curling up to read by a nice warm fire. It was simple and honest.

Don't get me wrong, this isn't the type of place you go to if you are looking for all the bells and whistles, this is a "back to the basics", "au natural" type of establishment run by good, genuine people who are extremely welcoming and down to earth.

We walked over to the lodge to have a bite to eat and for the price of one home cooked schnitzel dinner, she had given us two large freshly made salads with delicious fresh dill sprinkled throughout and the main course was not one, but two, fully loaded huge plates of schnitzel, cooked two different ways, with potato patty and veggies. It was a delicious, hearty meal, just as I would expect from a German influenced Inn. I couldn't even finish half my plate, which was technically 1/4 of our meal. We left well fed and satisfied to retreat to our cozy cabin and relax for the night, along the way smelling the delicious smoke shack up the hill.

What I really appreciated about staying with Doris and Norbert was their genuine hospitality and uncomplicated attitude. They have all the beauty of the world surrounding them; stunning views of the mountains, family photos displayed in the lodge, and honestly, we are lucky that they are willing to share this with the public. Turn off your phone, your computer, your tv and go read a book or walk down to the creek. For anyone who is interested in stopping to smell the roses for just a minute, I think you would really enjoy your stay here and appreciate something real, and if not, you are better off staying in Banff where rowdy drunks are screaming and running into traffic while you elbow your way through the generic shops filling your face with fudge. I've been there and it's nice to do the frou frou spa/shopping trip every now and then but this is not that type of place, nor does it intend to be. To each their own!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carley_in_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Doris and Norbett saved our sanity when we happened across their hotel on the internet whilst searching for accommodation around Golden, Canada. They made us so welcome and it felt as if we were staying with friends in their home. The lodge was beautiful and the rooms decorated and maintained to five star standard. Doris cooked bespoke meals for us and looked after us as if we were members of the family. Our two day stay in this beautiful setting next to a cascading stream allowed us to recharge our batteries and enjoy a luxurious oasis during our RV holiday. Our last day came too quickly and we were so sad to leave. They gave us a lovely send off and I know we shall return to find them and stay again in the wonderful Glenogle Spa and Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the house are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location of this European style lodge is a bit remote from the centre of Golden but is among the majestic mountains and was great for a peaceful sleep after a long drive. The very friendly hostess went out of her way to accommodate the two of us as we arrived extremely late and also were allowed a late departure without extra charge. The beds were great and the whole place was "spic and span"clean. An unfortunate downside was the very negative and judgmental attitude of the host (husband) who continually criticized everything North American in favour of things German ; one was left to wonder why the couple ever left Frankfurt! His down-beat approach certainly tended to cancel out his wife's welcoming style. Sadly, reduces the overall rating to less than good for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imacpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We needed a one night stay traveling through BC and so we came across this lodge on Booking.com. Called the owner and she quoted $159 which was $10 cheaper than on Booking.com so I thought, ok, that's fair and booked it. It was a bit of a drive off the highway and when we first drove in I was already disappointed. The grounds were messy, not organized, parking awkward and apart from the beautiful surrounding it felt like trailer trash lives here. My husband did not want to stay at all but we already gave our credit card. Went in, same thing by the entrance, mess, tons of dirty shoes and slippers in a pile and not inviting at all. We got a room in the basement and although it was big enough there was no tv, no alarm clock or a phone. Which would be fine if it was advertised as B&B but on the phone the owner said it's a full service hotel. Hot tub broken. Breakfast NOT included in the price and she said the charge would be $15 plus $10 for the kids. There was just nothing this place had to offer for the amount we paid. When we asked about the tv she said we don't need it anyways, the kids should be going to bed! Umm, let me, the customer and the parent be the jugde of that! The noise kept us all up coming from their little bar and the room was freezing. In the morning when I went to check out and finally leave this place behind I found out she charged us $169 instead of $159 and denied she quoted me that. Like my husband said, the worst 200 bucks we have ever spent. Would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zarababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed two nights in the lovely place in July 2013. It is a new facility in the foothills with a beautiful view. Our room was spotless, modern and spacious with a common deck overlooking the hills and forest where we could relax with a glass of wine before dinner. We use a wheel chair and the room was specifically designed for wheel chair access. It included wide doors and a large bathroom with a roll-in shower. It was the best accessible room we had during our month long trip in Alberta and British Columbia. The owners, Doris and Norbert, were very friendly and provided sumptuous dinners and breakfasts. We can offer an unqualified recommendation for this quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PusNBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
5.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
18.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Property: Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Address: 913 Oster Rd | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa is one of Golden’s newer exquisite accommodations, designed to exceed all your getaway expectations. Our attention to detail and outstanding service will contribute to your creation of a memory to cherish. Our Lodge is nestled in a quiet valley, about 8 km north east and 400 m above Golden, British Columbia. You will find yourself amidst spectacular views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountain Ranges. The breathtaking view of the mountains and the bubbling creek will bring you back to your Center. Our licensed lounge and European cuisine will fill your spirit and ensure you have a grand getaway. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa features a beautiful dining area with spectacular views and fireplace. The dining area was built around an extremely large tree, which lends to the amazing architecture of the lodge. Glenogle features 10 luxurious rooms with soft warm down duvets and fluffy bathrobes, as well as a 2-bedroom suite, complete with living area and a big-screen TV in the main lodge. We also have 3 private, cozy and fully equipped chalets for those romantic getaways. Glenogle Lodge is the ideal setting for small weddings, romantic getaways, family reunions, vacations, retreats, business meetings. Indulge yourself in our comfortable surroundings, enjoy a massage after an active day or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenogle Mountain Hotel
Hotel Glenogle Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing