We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Mary's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary's Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

An older motel, this is located central to the downtown area of Golden, Alberta. The reception staff were very friendly and amenable, the rooms are in need of a little TLC but are clean. There are fridges and microwaves in the rooms and the motel has an indoor and outdoor pool, and a sauna room. Internet access is variable, depending on how many guests are trying to access it at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    40
    28
    44
See reviews for
30
51
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The pull out bed had dirty linen. There were no pillows or blankets for the bed. There was garbage on the night stand. The tub had long black hairs in it and did not drain. The towels are grey-white. We were exhausted so pulled out pillows from our camper. The hotel admin apologized, brought more towels and linen to remake the bed. We had our money returned.

Room Tip: Check the beds. Run the tub to see if it drains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CasaSoleilBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

camrose
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Have stayed at Mary's many times in the last 5 years,as well as a few other accommodations, I always vote for Mary's . Beds (all are new) are the most comfortable we have found across BC and western Alberta motels. Always clean, some rooms have been updated, others are aging but still clean; beautiful courtyard for kids to burn off some steam, or sit and relax in the shade. Walking distance to the Kicking Horse Pedestrian Bridge and if there is entertainment at Spirit Square you can hear it while sitting in the courtyard. Walking distance to a great Pub downtown and a few other dining places. An $85 room on Canada Day weekend, we were happy to get one of the updated rooms with the quiet A/C, hope they can update the rest of the rooms and provide continental breakfast then I would say its great!

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the river were still in need of updating August 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

had stayed at Mary's Motel quite a few years back and it was okay so tried it again. Not so okay this time. Bathroom had a very musty smell to it. We stayed 2 nights. When we came back to our room on 2nd day late in the afternoon, room had still not been cleaned. Office said they gave cleaning staff day off and just "Forgot" to do our room. She came right away and did a very quick, short clean up. Hot tub was not operational while we were there. Only good thing about it was the location - walking distance to downtown. taking this place off our list for future stays

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl4363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Even in summer it's surrounded by mountains with snowcaps, quite poetic as clouds float below the peaks. Breathtaking after a short rain right before sunset.

Room itself wasn't great but that was not a surprise, the price was the lowest in the town when we booked it. The keepers are nice.

Lots of mosquitoes at the door so make sure you bring pest repeller, we sprayed a lot on the door so they can't get in when we go in and out.

It's close to Glacier National Park, but not Banff or Jasper. 2 hour drive to Banff and around 5 to Jasper I think. So you may want to book multiple hotels if you are going to visit all parks, if you don't already plan to do that. We stayed here for our entire trip and every morning and night we had to drive at least 2 hours to/from the lakes and the town of Banff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolnalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Golden for one night and stayed at Mary's Motel. The rooms were quite large, very clean and reasonably priced ($75.00). The room had Clean bedding and comfortable. Beds. The rooms were set up with the bathroom sink outside of. The toilet & tub area, which I like! The room was spotlessly clean. The only negective comment was the TV was only a 20", which really didn't matter to me! If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive. And a close walking distance to restaraunts & shopping this is a great place in Golden!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank terrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

First off, the staff here are great. I believe it could be Mary who checked me in. She was lively, very nice and super helpful. After being on the road for so long its nice to chat with someone. The room is a great value. Everything you would expect a motel to provide, plus a bit more. The location is perfect, with entertainment and food just around the corner. I would highly recommend this place, as for me I will stay here anytime I need a place in Golden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastbound06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 19 in Golden
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Motel

Property: Mary's Motel
Address: 603 8th Avenue North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mary's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mary's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing