We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double queens - grnd flr, 150 - booking.com”
Review of Mary's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary's Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Bussum, Holland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“double queens - grnd flr, 150 - booking.com”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pro's - large room, well equipped: fridge; water boiler; microwave, flatscreen TV , neat & clean
Con's - very noisy airco, broken lighting, poor Wi-Fi signal (also outside), smelly room, no pool, no spa, no sauna, lumpy beds, poor water pressure, luke warm water
reasonable value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    35
    36
    27
    37
See reviews for
25
46
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an older motel but was quite satisfactory for a relatively cheap room. I did not use any of the other facilities but the room was clean and comfortable. The motel was very quiet but may be different if it was full during ski season.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This had potential and we were willing to try a small hotel...
Between the mold in the pool and no sign of any chemical use at all, the hot tub being so much hotter than SAFE to use, filthy carpet, dirty stained sheets, slops and spills down the walls, towels with holes and only 2 in a double queen room(?!), and last but not least the cigarette butt and bottle cap littered parking lot we could not stay. My whole family felt dirty and didn't even want to walk in the room without our shoes.

We complained and did get a refund. We will not trust booking.com again. The reviews and pictures on that site were NOT true. It all looked fabulous and it was anything but!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here with a buddy to ski Kicking Horse mountain in Golden. We are low maintenance and usually pick cheap hotels for ski trips- but even by our standards, this place was bad. Mattresses were terrible (old, flimsy, and lots of food / dirt underneath), sheets were disgusting, and the bathroom and sink were dirty and stained.

The partial roll of toilet paper they put in our bathroom was crinkled as if it had been wet and then left out to dry.

There were also several holes in the walls- it looked like several fights had occurred in the room.

Bottom line- Choices might be limited in Golden but avoid this place and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfail, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The pool & hot tub are filthy dirty. Hair balls, debris, mold & scum all over the place. Hot tub is a cool tub with yellow water & a broken down jet pump. So don't expect a relaxing hot soak after a hard day in the mountains.
The room was awful... Mold in shower, extensive mold on closet wall. Coffee stains and bodily fluids staining throughout the room. Bed sheets and towels worn and torn. At -20 deg outside, maximum inside temp achieved about 18 deg.
At $80/ night I did not expect a luxury hotel. But, basic cleanliness, heat and mold free breathing air are expected and essential.
So my complaint to management was met with indignation, excuses and denial. However, I was given another room in the "new section" . This room was 100% better.
The jacuzzi suit with king bed.. (Jacuzzi dated and out of service)
Fridge, microwave and flat tv.. Not to bad
Finally, I see new customers staying in the same room I had just refused to stay in. Amazing considering every motel unit is empty. Renting the worse room seems to be odd business practice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We rented a pet friendly room the night of September 30th, 3013. There were 2 holes punched in the bathroom door, the sheets looked like they were made from cheesecloth and our cat enjoyed rolling around on the carpeting, something she doesn't do other places. Overall, a bad experience that won't be repeated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
274 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I didn't book a room in advance, nor did I look at any rooms so I didn't know what to expect. But this motel turns out great. The room I stayed in was large and clean; and it had a large bathroom as well. I stayed in the renovated building, on the top floor - the only difficulty was dragging my suitcase up the first floor. The room had a fridge, TV, ... and a very comfortable bed. The lady at the reception was very nice and offered discounts on several restaurants. The area is very quiet... and even though there's not much to see in Golden itself, I'd definitely recommend staying here when passing through!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.8 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Motel

Property: Mary's Motel
Address: 603 8th Avenue North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mary's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Mary's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing