We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mary's Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Golden
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Beware...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked online and called to double check and they said that they had a room left with a kitchenette. We book it thinking this will be great to prepare food for our young daughter. Walk into the room and we were not impressed...

PROS

• Clean sheets and towels

CONS

• Didn't have any hot water until the next morning (very handy when needing to bathe a small child that is sick)
• The walls needed to be washed and painted
• Water stains on the ceiling
• Kitchen was really old and the cupboards were crooked and falling apart
• One of the bedroom doors (pocket door) broke of its track wouldn't close or open properly
• Freezer door fell off in the fridge when I opened it up
• TV cable connections were terrible and channels were always fuzzy (I don't watch a lot of TV so I didn't care about this much but some other people may)
• Telephone looked like it had never been cleaned in the last 10 years
• Air conditioner faceplate is melted quite badly almost like it has overheated and/or is mounted too close to the baseboard heater that is underneath it....definitely a fire hazard
• Air conditioner had a cord to plug into the wall to run the unit but no receptacles were nearby that the cord could reach

We were stuck with one of the old rooms (somewhere around #110-116 if I remember correctly) which I definitely don't recommend to anyone as you can see from the lists above. The old rooms are definitely neglected by the owners and the bare minimum has been done to keep them running. I've stayed in nicer hostels that cost a lot less than $110 bucks a night….

Definitely don't recommend staying there at all but if you have no choice make sure you call to book your room and ask for a room in the "new room section"

Room Tip: Call to book a room. Ask for a room in the newer section of the hotel (stay away from rooms around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    34
    33
    26
    37
See reviews for
24
43
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We phoned to book a room. They said they had a kitchenette room left. So we book it. Get there and we were grossed right out. The walls need to be washed, vacuuming under things would of been nice. There was a used pan in the oven.
And if that wasn't enough the air conditioner looked like it had overheated and melted half of it.... can we say fire hazard! I would never recommend this place to anyone!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Moorefield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This motel was clean but not fancy. It is conveniently located close to the historic downtown of Golden, BC. The views of the mountains are great. Great motel for a quick night's stay on a trip through the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillAndMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Place was well kept and clean. We tried to check in early but whom we assume was the owner/manager told us right away that the room wasn't ready yet without even looking. The lady actually working the desk, did look for us, and atleast attempted to see if there was a room we could get in. No issues with the room. Keys a bit hard to use but figured it out with some persistence and jiggling. Once we figured out the trick to it...even was able to help another customer get in his room. The location was great. Walking distance to pubs and restaurants and the pedestrian bridge. Would stay here again if we were to ever stay in golden again. Good place for a good price.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a very nice and simple place to stay. Had a nice quite room on the second floor. All rooms our facing outside into the parking lot. Don't expect too many frills but the one incredible thing about this room as the water pressure was awesome and the water was super hot! Very close to our Kicking Horse white water rafting start location. Very simple town - uncrowded - the opposite of Banff. Good burgers at the Golden Taps pub. Nice inexpensive movie theater more downtown. Think we paid $9 for admission, soda and popcorn each. Love this town.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room on the far side of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd52889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

First rooms were very dirty, damaged walls and ants crawling on the walls. Changed rooms and no ants a bit cleaner and less damage. Pool ice cold and dirty. We had to stay here as all other places booked and we had a group.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
365 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a budget motel in a fantastic location in downtown Golden, easily walkable/cycleable and accessible to everything...it is inexpensive and away from the noise of the highway. Ask for a renovated room in that portion of the motel. The problems I had with the property are two-fold - lack of cleanliness and a customer service issue. The motel has a pool, but it was filthy dirty, and the cleaning of my room was not to the basic level one would expect. In fact, to be brutally honest, it was dirty. I was flying solo so everything was somewhat acceptable because the bed was clean, but if my family had been with me, it would have been a disaster because of the lack of cleanliness and the pool being filthy. But you get what you pay for! Parking was free and handy. Lastly, I asked to have an extended check-out for a couple hours, so I could leave my gear stacked in a corner of my room, which request was met with a resounding no - I did not appreciate the inflexibility which casued some hassles for me in the result.

If you are flying solo, and want a great/quiet location, this is a cheap alternative. If you are travelling with your family, avoid this place and stay at one of the chains in town.

Room Tip: ASk for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Motel

Property: Mary's Motel
Address: 603 8th Avenue North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mary's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mary's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing