We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kitchen in town”
Review of Glenogle Mountain Lodge and Spa - CLOSED

Glenogle Mountain Lodge and Spa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best kitchen in town”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Doris is the best chief in town, her breakfast is so good, that we have put some weight about X mas, we can't stop with eating.....*****
Who loves a familiär hotel, witn an exellent service and very friendly people, so you have to stay in this wonderful hotel with a famous fiew of the rockies......

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This facility receives my wholehearted recommendation”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Service was excellent. Meals were excellent. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Scenic views. Rooms were very clean.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable evenning”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

August 5th 2011 we hosted an appreciation supper for 12 at Glenogle Lodge.. An excellent
array of German delites from salad to dessert were served in a semi buffet manner by the
owners, Doris and Norbert.
Before and after the meal various beverages, as requested by the guests, were served in a
casual home atmosphere with the owners sharing in our enjoyment of our guests.
This establishment is not intended to compete with large franchised entertainment arenas.
Glenogle provides a remote mountain area view of what some of us have lost with our
lives. SIMPLICITY and SINCERITY
Doris and Norbert , in our opinion are trying to keep these basics alive.
We wish them continued success!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Doris cooks for you like you are her family”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

From the moment we arrived Doris wanted to make sure we were well-fed and happy with our meals. She asked us to take a look at the menu and order in advance. At dinner it becomes clear why. Doris runs the kitchen and Norbert mans the bar and serves and since Doris wants everything to come out well, she appreciates a little advance notice. But this is just the beginning. She checks with your during meals and will happy bring more if you are still hungry. She even made us sandwiches for our hike the day we left.

The food itself is great. Salads are very fresh and flavorful. Over the course of our stay we had planked salmon, pork and beef, all hearty and delicious. Breakfast was a real pleasure. Again, she's happy to accomodate, just give her some notice and breakfast will be ready when you are. We had variations on eggs benedict, homemade sausage. and incredible oatmeal pancakes (and we got a bag to bring home).

She cares about kids too. Never intimidating andalways making sure they are happy with their meals too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, AB
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge helpings of genuine homemade German food”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Doris' cooking is fantastic! Everything is homemade! Huge servings, and oh so tasty! g
A great place to take young teenagers with hearty appetites. We highly recommend this
wonderful food experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nallie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenogle Mountain Lodge and Spa also viewed

 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing