We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but dated”
Review of Pinewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinewood Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan,England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean but dated”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The first thing we saw on arrival was that the place was up for sale which made us a little suspicious after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor.Dale,the owner,was very helpful but on entering our room we found a musty smell.However this soon cleared on opening the windows.Room was clean and had a kitchnette but you coul tell this was an older property and in need of an update.Even though the area doesn,t look the best we found the motel very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWigan_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    53
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
52
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It may not look or be the fanciest place in town but it's incredibly clean, quiet and spacious. It's right off the highway and close to everything you need, but not so close you can hear the traffic. Other guests were polite, friendly and quiet. The large kitchen area and bbq outside make it easy to save on eating out for the budget conscience traveler. The pinewood was at least $40 cheaper than any of the hotel chains we looked into and I think we got more for our money at the Pinewood. This will be my go to place in Golden should I ever travel back that way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The motel was very clean, quiet and the owner was very helpful. He suggested a visit on the way home to the Takakkaw Falls and it was worth the extra hour. We stayed one night and it was a great spot to sleep in Golden. Our kids loved the bunk beds. More bunk beds are need for families. Thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Dale is a gracious host. He puts in the hours to make sure you are at your most comfortable and relaxed self. The kitchenette was immaculate and an added bonus was the barbecue out front ready to sizzle some streaks we bought from a local market (saved much from not having to eat out every meal). Dale encouraged us to different lo-cals and he sure knows his stuff. Strongly recommend this fine establishment!

Room Tip: The two Bedroom is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

As you approach this motel, you will be tempted to turn around and book another - from the outside and the location, it is pretty grim. However, the rooms are clean and huge, featuring a full size kitchen and sitting area. The beds are comfortable and the host is very friendly. The best news... its ultra affordable. Clean, cheap and quiet.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great value for money. Kids love the bunkbeds. It's a new renovated room so it's very clean. The top rating in Tripadvisor and the in-suite kitchen are the reasons we chose this place. The owner is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip4myself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TV
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had to stay in Golden a couple of nights, we decided to stay 5 because this place is a perfect logistics base to visit the rockies without spending a fortune! The owner, Dale, is very kind and helpful. The rooms are very clean and the place is quiet (sometimes there's the train passing but it's not very noisy). In the neighbours there are fast food restaurants and you can use the barbeque. Very nice place. Really recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ask_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
3.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Property: Pinewood Inn
Address: 1405 11th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Unit motel located in the town of Golden, BC. This cozy and quiet accommodation offers kitchen suites, separate bedrooms and a cabin each including the essentials for extended or overnight stays. This motel strives for clean and comfortable rooms with comfortable duvets and pillows at an affordable rate. Accommodations vary - sleeping 1-4 persons. BBQ's are available for your personal use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing