We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent local museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort St. John North Peace Museum

Fort St. John North Peace Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Fort St. John North Peace Museum tells the story of the Fort St. John region from the dinosaurs to teh oil and gas industries of today. Learn more about First Nations, the fur trade, homesteaders, and the development of Fort St. John and the North Peace region of British Columbia. Come explore a tepee, trapper's cabin, blacksmith's shop, 1921 school room, 1930s dentist office, missionary chapel, 1930 Outpost Hospital room, 1910 BC Police Barracks and Jail, Finch's General Store, and more! Try interactive activities like sorting mail in our post office. Our gift shop is a fabulous place to find books on the Peace Region, BC, Alberta, and the Yukon. We have a wide variety of souvenirs, clothing, stuffed animals, jewellery, and gifts. Our archives can help answer requests about the North Peace from photographs to genealogy. We're open 9-5 Monday to Saturday year-round.
canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent local museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

A great little local museum to soak up some local colour. Reasonably priced and interesting exhibits. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ljb2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Fort St. John North Peace Museum, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thanks for reviewing our museum. We are happy you thought your time here was worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So that's how FSJ came to be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

very interesting history on the area and fun to just poke around.

Helpful?
1 Thank espanolosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSJMuseum, Manager at Fort St. John North Peace Museum, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. We are glad you enjoyed our exhibits as we put a lot of time and effort into researching and building them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for its size”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Small museum - outside area to investigate and run in with kids. Really good travelling exhibition when I was there. Minimal fee - takes about 45 min to see.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank semisenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSJMuseum, Manager at Fort St. John North Peace Museum, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously updating our exhibits, indoors and out, and are happy that you enjoyed your visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort St. John North Peace Museum also viewed

Fort St. John, British Columbia
Fort St. John, British Columbia
 
Fort St. John, British Columbia
Fort St. John, British Columbia
 

Been to Fort St. John North Peace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing