We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fort St John
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Fort St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in hotels around FSJ before and thought I would try the new Holiday Inn. Outstanding!! Very nice and very clean. Courtney and Kieryn were a breath of fresh air! Sorted everything out for me! Pool was fantastic and the beds are comfy. Great Place with great staff! 11/10!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDavies1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort St John, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express! I know that sometimes the decision to try out a different hotel can be a tough one, so I'm really happy to hear that my team was able to make you feel confident in your decision!

We wish you all the best, and hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Tannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Fort St John
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 96 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was recently in Fort St. John back in June on two separate occasions. The first time I stayed at the Super 8 (right beside this hotel) the second time I decided to try the newly opened Holiday Inn Express. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Obviously since this hotel is farily new the place is clean, smells great and is very well kept, but on top of all that, the service itself is also tremendous. The hotel features one of the best fitness rooms I've seen yet with a vast selection of free weights, elipitcal, treadmill and multigym (The Super 8 had a busted treadmill with a single 30lbs bar and a pair of 20lbs). It has a pool area, although the waterslide was not functional at the time, an amazing breakfast bar with bacon, cereal, pancakes, sausage and some of the best eggs I've ever eaten at a hotel.

I was also travelling with my dog and instead of getting shoved in the "dog suite" they allowed me to stay in the amazing King Suite i originally booked. As mentioned, the room was clean, quiet, cool and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place.

The only issue I could find here (and I'm reaching), is that the staff is still fairly new, or at least was when I was there they were, and without a manager on site, the staff may encounter a few issues trying to do things like checkout or payments since their system is still new to them. If you are patient with them and understand they are learning, this wont be an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort St John, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you so much for your extremely positive review of our Holiday Inn Express! Your feedback is very important to us, and I'm happy to see you were impressed by our amenities. Please note that our waterslide is now fully operational!

I really appreciate your kind words regarding my team. They have been working incredibly hard since day one and I'm so fortunate to have such great people here. Being that we are still new, training and learning continues to happen daily, and the improvements in such a short period of time are more than I could ask for.

Thank you again for your positive and honest feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon, and show you how much we've improved even over your last stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very nice new hotel in Fort St John. Excellent rooms and a beautiful pool area which unfortunately was still being initialized during my visit but is now open.
Excellent choice of hot breakfast items which should suit most tastes with a very friendly nice young lady (Nina) in attendance at the breakfast area helping cater to everyone's needs with a big smile.
Boston Pizza and other restaurants within a short walking distance.
Found some very nice fairly challenging trail runs/walks down at Fish Creek just North of town next to the University
Thanks for a very nice short stay.
Stew

Room Tip: First stay here, no comments to add.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pollyBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort St John, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Stew,

Thank you so much for your positive review on our Holiday Inn Express. You are correct; our pool and hot tub are definitely open for business. I'm happy you were able to take advantage of our great location and some of the trails and walking paths around Fort St. John. We're so happy to be a piece of your breath of fresh air while in our Energetic City.

If you didn't think it was possible, Nina's smile is even bigger this week due to your kind words. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights, the hotel is only two weeks old! Very much in line with other Holiday Inns. Comfortable beds and nice hot breakfast. We were in a room that was right next to the Super 8, which I wouldn't recommend as you can see right into the other hotel's rooms and vice versa. It's easy walking distance to Boston Pizza, Walmart, etc so you don't have to drive for food or supplies. Overall, it was a great stay, and would definitely stay here again. The only downside was the pool was closed, but they sent us to The Pomoroy up the road to use their pool :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces towards Boston Pizza and away from the Super 8!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Its41day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort St John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review on our newly opened Holiday Inn Express! I am happy to hear that you were able to benefit from our great location and to take advantage of our amenities and services. I'm so glad that we were able to get you over to the Pomeroy Hotel for a swim while ours was down, but I can now confirm that our Pool and Hot Tub are 100% operational!

Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon- be sure to bring your swim gear!

Tannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is very comfortable new hotel, the staff are exceptional! A very friendly hard working crew. had a wonderful stay... Thank you so much for all the extras Tannis you and the crew did for us. Looking forward to staying with you again. Thank you Mart J

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort St John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Mart,

Thank you so much for your kind words! My team has been working incredibly hard since our opening in June, and I was so happy to be able to share such a positive review with them. We really enjoyed having you and your crew stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you again, and safe travels!

Tannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Martinedepiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fort St John, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort St. John hotels
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fort St John
1.5 mi away
Pomeroy Hotel
Pomeroy Hotel
#4 of 17 in Fort St. John
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chateau Fort St. John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Fort ST. John BC
Super 8 Fort ST. John BC
#5 of 17 in Fort St. John
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stonebridge Hotel Fort St. John
Stonebridge Hotel Fort St. John
#11 of 17 in Fort St. John
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pomeroy Inn & Suites Fort St. John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fort St John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fort St John

Address: 9504 Alaska Rd, Fort St. John, British Columbia V1J 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Fort St. John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Fort St. John
Price Range: £99 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fort St John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at our Fort St John hotel and you wish to explore the city, allow us to make recommendations and arrangements for visits to nearby BC attractions such as North Peace Arena, North Peace Leisure Pool, Linda Johnson Skating Oval, Charlie Lake Provincial Park, W.A.C Bennett Dam, Lake Point Golf and Country Club and much more. If you're looking to catch up with friends or unwind with colleagues, visit Just Jack's Restaurant and Lounge or try your luck at Chances Gaming Center, a state-of-the-art gaming Mecca featuring slot machines, off track betting, virtual gaming tables, bingo and keno. Fort St John also offers great downtown shops and The Totem Mall which is Fort St. John's destination for shopping and entertainment. Located conveniently off the Alaska Highway and one block from Main Street, the Totem Mall features everything from fashions to footwear to movies and meals. They take pride in being Fort St. John's largest shopping centre, with over thirty stores, restaurants, and businesses to serve you including a five screen theatre. You can also enjoy our services like our 24 hour Business Center, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, flexible meeting space, and 24 hour coffee service. During your stay take a dip in our heated indoor pool with a waterslide and Jacuzzi and enjoy a free hot breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fort St John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing