We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kootenay Country Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you expect what the picture indicates on the web page, realize that it is a great creative photo. I didn't expect much but was shocked when I actually arrived (and not positively.) The motel looks like it hasn't been touched since the 1950's. Room overlooks the mountains, yeah, in the far distance across the main drag and most of the town in between. Bathtub/shower had a layer of scum on it. TV was from the 1980's. Decor was from the 1950's. The mattresses were from the 1980's. I'd give it a 0.5 star rating at the most. For +$100 USD a night I expect more than this. Office staff were friendly but that is not what I pay for. Main drag out the front door has heavy trucker traffic all night. AC/heater unit probaby dates from the 1960's, and had severve scorch markings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerdude76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Thanks very much for your review. We make no bones about the age of our hotel it was built starting in the sixties and it has gone through a number of changes and additions over the years. We took it over in October 2010 and we have done a number of things to make our guests stay more comfortable not all have been visible to the public or to the guest, and we certainly have lots more jobs to do. Our pictures on the website especially the night shot and our office photos reflect accurately our image.

By the way ALL of the hotels in Cranbrook proper are on the strip and suffer equally from the traffic and noise of a major Cross Canada artery. The road is why Cranbrook is here and is the reason for the hotels being here as a very useful stopping place on East-West and North South routes.

All our rooms are clean, and we are constantly looking at ways to improve the amenities in the rooms within the budget we have. We have started replacing carpets and we have replaced all the bedding and we are replacing beds on an ongoing basis as well as painting and renovating rooms.

We do have separate heaters and a/c units and the heaters are gas fired. The a/c units are through wall units and again we are seriously looking at replacing all of these with modern units as soon as practicable.

You must have been in the hotel on the weekend when 5000 Fastball players and their families descended on the town with little warning. You were very lucky to get any room that weekend anywhere, we had 8 calls and visits for each available room and so the guest had little choice for over 100 km radius. We were sending returning guests who had not reserved to Kimberly, Creston and Fernie, all of which were full by Friday afternoon.

We take pride in the welcome that we give our guests as a first step in creating an atmosphere of relaxation, comfort and as much quiet as the situation allows. We will not stop being this way, as we feel it is the basis of what the accommodation industry should be. If our amenities did not come up to your standard we apologize and hope that in the future as we improve things over time you might try us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Kootenay Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had made previous reservations for this Inn and had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and Expedia before making the reservation. Needless to say we were more than disappointed. We arrived late in the evening and had no choice but to stay here. We walked into the room and my husband promptly turned around and slept in the truck. I killed three bugs in the bathroom before opening the bed to ensure it was clean. Thankfully, the sheets were clean and no sign of bedbugs. The bedspread and blanket were questionable, though, so I tossed that off. The bed was caved in the middle and I kept rolling into the middle. The decor was something out of the 70s and it was very musty smelling. The air conditioning unit made more noise than cold air. The operators were pleasant and it was easy to find and close to Tim Hortons but we won't be staying here again. Wasn't worth the money we saved by booking online.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thanks for the review, what impressions people have of our business is important to us. We take happy note that you know our beds are clean and that the staff are friendly and helpful.

It is unfortunate that you arrived so late and you dont say whether it was after hours or not, or whether the office was still open, we regret not having the opportunity to respond to your concerns when you arrived or before you left the next day. We find that guests are much better looked after while on site. It is very difficult to resolve problems after the fact with a change of room, added amenity or such.

In regards to air conditioning, our airconditioners are thru the wall ac units and as such have a certain capacity and lately and, I presume, during this guests stay, we were at ambient temperature of up to 38degrees Celsius during the day, and these little workhorses dont perform as well at the upper end of that scale. We apologise for that although if you put the ac units on, and go for dinner for an hour or so they do cool the room especially well on the energy saver setting. We are going to be changing our procedures so that we will be putting the ac on before the guests anticipated arrival so that the room can be cool in similar conditions. Obviously this could be at great cost to the power bill should we start the ac units too early. It might be advisable to call in to the hotel and let us know your eta. We dont really want to raise our rates which fall in a very affordable range at the moment, as evidenced by our popularity on the hotel booking sites.

As for the musty smell, I for the life of me dont understand this as musty smells usually come from damp, and although Cranbrook is situated on a former swamp we have not experienced any damp conditions to warrant this problem. and I have lived in some damp houses in the UK and experienced some musty places elsewhere.

As for insects in the bathtub, baths are cool places and we cannot be responsible for every insect that lands in the bathroom every five minutes.and I dont wish to give the impression that this happens all the time in every instance. If you need to have a perfect hermetically sealed hotel room, we are certainly not it, and neither do we charge the price associated with reaching that goal.

We hope that this answers our guests concerns and we look forward to treating our many many happy returning guests to a wonderful stay at a reasonable price, with as many amenties and comforts that a good 2 start establishment can provide. Thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were vacationing in the Rockies last week and booked some of the hotels via hotwire. All of the places were fine with the exception of this one. It was advertised as a 2 star hotel. I honestly was a bit apprehensive of a star rating, but decided to give it a try as a tripadvisor rating (which you can see before the purchase) was quite high. I am not sure about the hotel standards of the people who wrote previous reviews, but it was not up to my standards. The minute I saw this place I realized that I lost my money and have to find a new hotel to stay in. This place is not a hotel, it is a motel in its worst appearance possible. The room smelt as if someone had died in it. The linens and towels were so grose that I did not venture to touch it. There was no way that I could sleep in this bed or take that shower. There were black hair everywhere. The furniture was purchased in the thrift shop. I have one word for this place - terrible. We turned away and went to Best Western next to it, which provided decent services and was only $30 more expensive than Kootenay. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olesyazh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Your review is noted however if you have not met any of the other reviewers I dont see insulting them is helpful in any way to you, to us, or any one else who is deciding on where to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

It's fine. Owners are very nice and polite. They help too much.

Very clean!, and for price is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAURA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Thanks very much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

A great hotel with very nice, courteous, helpful managers. We were very tired but had not counted on needing to stop for the night & needed to find a hotel that was inexpensive. This hotel was very nice on our budget & huge on amenities. Very close to all restaurants & gas, as well as a timmies for the morning. The room provided coffee, queen size bed, tv, fridge, microwave & plenty of towels for a bath or shower. They also provide free wireless internet service for a 24 hr period with a code. We paid a deposit that was returned to us in the morning after an inspection of the room was done. Very important as we do not have a credit card, so this service was stellar. They demonstrate a lot of trust in this area & we hope that trust is never taken advantage of! Everyone should know about this little GEM located in Cranbrook, BC. Thanks go out to the managers! You are very nice people, thank you very much for providing us with this service.

Room Tip: All rooms were same price whether smoking or no.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank syn1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thanks very much for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed here march 8th 2011 in room 48. It was a cute and comfortable room. Very cozy... and VERY clean! I am a housekeeper myself so i find myself inspecting a room when i stay at a hotel. It was super clean, props to the housekeeping staff! Very friendly front desk and affordable rates...oh and i must mention the zip lock bag on the back of the toilet, with the older face clothes in them... Brilliant! I loved the idea. I know how some guests have no respect for hotel towels, and will use them to take makeup off and use the good towels to clean up god knows what... you made it so simple for everybody... i will recommend this family ran hotel to others and will stay again. Thankyou

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcorey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thanks very much for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank antopase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 18 in Cranbrook
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 18 in Cranbrook
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#13 of 18 in Cranbrook
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lazy Bear Lodge
Lazy Bear Lodge
#6 of 18 in Cranbrook
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites
EconoLodge Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Cranbrook
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kootenay Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenay Country Inn

Address: 1111 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S4, Canada (Formerly Country Comfort Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: £46 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kootenay Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kootenay Country Inn is located conveniently on the strip in Cranbrook, BC, next to East Side Marios and is close to 11 different restaurants, shopping and attractions. All rooms come complete with one or two queen size beds, with some rooms having hideabeds, as well as fridges, microwaves and Gourmet Keurig K-Cup coffee makers with Regular Coffee, Decaf and English Breakfast Tea available. In room Phones with free local and long distance calling to anywhere in North America, Cable TV and Free Wifi is provided to every room, just ask for your code at check in. We also have new Movie Channels and HBO. We have 10 kitchenette units which additionally have a sink and two electric hotplate stove top unit. We also have the public coin op laundromat accessible through the lobby with self serve coin operated washers and dryers or our great laundry drop off service. Guests enjoy our free sauna as well until 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kootenay Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing